Alarm.com Employee Reviews about "growing company"

Updated Nov 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 336 reviews

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Alarm.com President and CEO  Steve Trundle (no image)
Steve Trundle
198 Ratings
Pros
  • "alarm.com(in 36 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is a major plus(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "alarm.com(in 15 reviews)

  • "Growing company has some cons for being so large(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "growing company"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work and Grow Career

      Nov 5, 2021 - Lead Product Manager in Tysons Corner, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Growing company focused on emerging technologies. - Excellent corporate culture. - Rewarding work focused on improving the wellness and safety of millions of end users around the world.

      Cons

      - Benefits are good but not quite as generous as other tech companies. - Opportunities to grow your career and compensation not always obvious and transparent.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Intern

      Product Management Intern

      Aug 3, 2021 - Product Management Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, wonderful office, really interesting business structure. Lots of company activities. Fair payment for internship.

      Cons

      Growing company has some cons for being so large. The product management role has a handful of organizational issues as well.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Coolest place to be

      Oct 11, 2019 - Technical Support in Bloomington, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing coworkers, inclusive environment, fun and also very enlightening. Training is amazing and you really feel like part of the team very early on. Also you learn so much about so many different topics and all the information you learn is valuable. Also the training team is awesome. You truly feel valued as an employee even very early on. It's a fast growing company and almost everyone they hire is fun to be around and work with on a daily basis.

      Cons

      A lot of learning at the beginning, but it is all to prepare you to be your best so it's not really a Con.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company Wonderful People, Love it there

      Sep 23, 2019 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, exciting, wonderful, knowledge-filled

      Cons

      There are standard growing company pains

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growing company with a unique, thriving culture!

      Jan 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Tysons Corner, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Alarm.com is located in a great location and is on a rapid growth projectory. The culture is extremely dynamic and so much more employee centric than I'm accustomed to. Not only does the innovation of the product continue to excite me and keep me motivated, the people are incredibly passionate, humble, and intelligent. I love that I can walk into my VP's and manager's office and be very candid about my goals, current inititiatives, and provide solutions to team obstacles. Its really incredible to feel like your voice is heard and your team is working toward a common goal. Although the pace is fast, I've developed myself so much and have been provided incredible opportunities that it's made the hard work worth it. The office space is catered toward employee wellness and productivity, its easy to love being in the office. The culture is very flexible on working from home if needed and flexible hours. The gray area of the culture is probably why people enjoy working here. You have the power and ability to create new processes, programs, and drive initiatives that may not be given attention to leaving a lot of area for opportunity and growth!

      Cons

      The pace can be very fast, but the establishment of work life balance is really controlled by you. While I don't think this a con per se, some may not understand that working for a rapidly growing company is a good thing even if it can feel overwhelming at times. The company gives you the opportunites to and understands the need to take care of yourself, so I've learned to give it my all, but never forget my personal goals outside of work.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Jan 10, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Vienna, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is the best job I've had. It's a growing company where you are able to contribute and add value on day 1. I feel my ideas and voice is heard, I have the ability to influence decisions and I work with such fun people! I appreciate the little things the company does to show their appreciation such as today's cookie event.

      Cons

      Some growing pains from going from a small company to a larger one.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Engineer Review

      Apr 10, 2017 - Software Engineer in Tysons Corner, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. This is a great place to start one's career. As a software engineer I have gotten a chance to work on multiple projects where I got to learn a lot of new things and work on large scale projects. I think this is a great place to start for any college grad. 2. Work / Life balance is great - You are not micro-managed and given the flexibility to work on your own schedule. 3. Good Co-Workers - Generally speaking all the people I work with are great. 4. Others - You have a direct line to the VP. You will get to learn a lot if you get an opportunity to work with him. However, I think this is generally not the case anymore.

      Cons

      Until recently I barely used to think about leaving the company or searching for new opportunities even though I would constantly get bombarded by emails from recruiters. However, this is not the case anymore, and I find myself constantly thinking about this topic. There are 3 main reasons - 1. Career path - The career path is not very well laid out at Alarm. This in all fairness is probably because we are a growing company. However, this is still frustrating and concerning. As other reviewers have also pointed out, promotion process seems a bit ad hoc (not sure if it really is behind the scenes). Few people have been promoted and others who I think should have been promoted by now are still in their old position. In general, I don't think any SE knows what their career trajectory will look like. They are also in the dark about what will be required for a promotion (i.e. what skill sets, experience level etc.). I know just by talking to people that this is a concern for more people than just myself. A lot of people in other departments have left the company recently because of this same reason. 2. Compensation - I don't think the compensation at Alarm is very competitive. In my research I have found that my pay and even the average pay for an SE here is below the average compensation around Tysons and DC area. The raises are not that great which I think makes the problem worse over time. Initially, I used to think that the compensation was at par / competitive. However, every year during my research I find that my pay is below the average around this area. I know that compensation is even a bigger concern in some other departments. 3. Technology - I think this would be true after a while in any company. However, after working here for so long, I find that I am not learning a lot of new things anymore. At this point I have my doubts about how much longer I will be with the company.

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Place I Have Ever Worked!

      Mar 20, 2017 - Team Lead Support Operations in Bloomington, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Best Team I have ever worked with including managers, peers, and employees in general. Everyone one is motivated to work at a high level day in and and day out. Everyone is looking out for each other and has your best interest in mind. - Great challenges everyday that keep you constantly learning and growing. I have learned more in this role than all my previous roles combined I would say. - Top workplace for a reason, culture is like no other position I worked before, incredibly collaborative, interesting, fun, and challenging. - Being a Leader, I know I have influence on many decisions that go towards the overall goals of the company. - Growing company which means you have opportunities that may not even be currently there right now, but you have the ability to pave your way if you work hard enough. - No matter who you are your idea is listened to. - Let's not forget about the sweet technology we get to use on a daily basis.

      Cons

      I honestly don't have anything to say poorly about Alarm.com. I have been here almost 2 years and have enjoyed my job everyday no matter how much I had on my plate.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A Fantastic First Job

      Jan 7, 2017 - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      To begin, I'd like to say I was spoiled by having this as my first job out of school. Fantastic culture with excellent employee benefits; plenty of responsibility but only as much as you want to take; bright, talented engineers who love what they're doing; and plenty of opportunity to own products/projects and to make a real difference both in the company and to end-users. The company itself is positioned well financially, with revenues derived from a subscription model from over 2 million active customers, and is growing quickly, yet it maintains an agile, low-bureaucracy feel. Speaking of growing quickly, the employee retention is superb. In my nearly 3 years with the company, I saw very few colleagues leave. Employee acquisitions to terminations was likely 25-to-1, and higher still for software engineers. I never once felt my job was at risk, and lay-offs were unheard of. Being a public company allows for profit incentives in the form of equity and options for employees. However, going public did not affect the culture much, in my opinion. Annual company retreats are still going as of 2017, management is not focused on stock price but still focused on the long-term success of the company, etc. I'm quite positive for the future of the company. My reason for moving on was almost purely based on numbers -- that and my recognizing that a more demanding work environment would likely benefit my career in the long-run by building my skills and discipline faster than this environment would simply because I had grown too comfortable. Internally motivated engineers looking to work in a fun and secure company, to own your own projects, and to make a real difference both within your organization and in customer's lives: look no further.

      Cons

      Again, I was spoiled by having this as my first job out of school. The flipside of this is that the relaxed work environment meant I wasn't pushing myself as hard as I should have. If you slack on your work, your advancement will suffer but there's no real discipline or repercussion from it, so it's too easy to simply "float by". As I said, responsibility is doled out at about whatever rate you want, so stagnation is dangerously easy. (Please note that the above likely varies substantially based on team. As a software engineer, my primary supervisor/manager was my team lead, and your experience will vary based on what team you end up on.) Some internal tools and processes (namely the lack of repository branches and a build process which "sucks in" all code as-is regardless of status of that code/ticket) are dated and need to be updated. These are mostly vestiges of a smaller company and their shortcomings are growing pains of a medium-sized-and-growing company. These processes/tools are being updated, but not quickly enough. Compensation is decent but not great. A good deal of my compensation was in the form of stock options, which profited nicely as the stock price had a very strong run since IPO. Base salary and performance bonus on their own are okay at best.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work and learn!

      Mar 19, 2015 - Marketing in Vienna, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits package, laid back work environment, control my own schedule, working on cutting edge technology in a fast growing company, lots of social events. Learning an incredible amount as I work across departments and am looped in to announcements and executive meetings. Extra perks like flying the whole company down to Nashville, and watching the Washington Capitals from the corporate box are icing on the cake.

      Cons

      Can be stressful due to mis-communication at times.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Alarm.com Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Alarm.com? Share Your Experiences

    Alarm.com logo
    or