Arclight Cinemas Reviews

Updated Nov 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 of over 155 reviews

3.7
60%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Arclight Cinemas CEO Christopher Forman (no image)
Christopher Forman
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "free movies, discounts, friendly co-workers(in 66 reviews)

  • "Free movies, flexible schedule, half off at concessions and cafe, good for first time job-seekers to gain work experience(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Minimum wage, some of the employees lacked any type of work ethic(in 11 reviews)

  • "crew members are clicky and gossip a lot, which can impact the work environment(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Inconsistent hours, but decent work.

      Nov 9, 2021 - Theater Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Opportunities to perform different tasks.

      Cons

      - Hour scheduling could be last-minute and inconsistent (typical for this type of part-time job though).

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Review

      Nov 23, 2021 - Mcdonalds Crew Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers were great. Motivated me to go to work

      Cons

      Management did not really care for their employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Was horribly managed.

      Oct 25, 2021 - Crew Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cool people and great coworkers, free tickets are amazing.

      Cons

      Just some of the worst management ever.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Did too much, made too little

      Nov 5, 2021 - Projectionist in La Jolla, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The co-workers were terrific. I met an aspiring director, a future vet, a marine biologist, and someone going through college to be a forensic investigator.

      Cons

      1) Too many responsibilities. We were payed minimum wage, yet our responsibilities always exceeded the length of our shifts. Instead of trying to restructure things to allow us to accomplish our assigned tasks, management would deflect responsibility for the incomplete tasks with responses like, "why didn't you ask for help from other areas?" (Trust me, we asked for help whenever it was feasible. And moving workers from one area to another is objectively a manager's responsibility.) 2) Poor communication. Workers were often fired mercilessly, with no respect for how well they were doing the job or how well they were willing to learn. Any input or feedback we had for improving the experience of our customers was met with a quick, "we can't do anything about that." 3) I mentioned this already, but management always deflected responsibility. Any time we asked for any improvement in our work lives, they always asked us why we didn't fix the problems ourselves. And when they were problems they understood that we couldn't fix ourselves, we were always met with that same, "we can't really do anything about that." 4) Management was underpaid and overworked. Managers could have significantly cut down on the stress everyone was feeling, but instead they were chastised for spending too much time on the floor assisting and training their employees. Not only that, but the pay they gave managers was never appealing enough to keep managers around. They made less than entry-level workers at Apple. So we were always running on a shortage of managers. Which is fatal in a company with the ridiculous turnover that Arclight Cinemas had.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Terrible mana

      Oct 7, 2021 - Crew Member in Hollywood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Your fellow crew members are the best part of the job.

      Cons

      Management really shouldn't be management. They will throw you under the bus, and if you're lucky, pretend to care about your opinion. CEO is a tool.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      it was fun b4 they closed down

      Aug 28, 2021 - Team Member in North Hollywood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun environment to be working at

      Cons

      the guests were not it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good job

      Aug 21, 2021 - Team Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at a cinema gets you free movies

      Cons

      Dealing with customers isn't the best sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Review

      Aug 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of stuff are pros yeah

      Cons

      Doesn't exist anymore so that sucks

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place for early growth

      Aug 13, 2021 - Operations Manager in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can learn a lot of different skills in different roles in a short amount of time.

      Cons

      Not a lot of upward growth.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Sad to see it go

      Aug 22, 2021 - Team Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very familial, high standards and guest relations

      Cons

      Well… it went out of business

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 154 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Arclight Cinemas Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Arclight Cinemas? Share Your Experiences

    Arclight Cinemas logo
    or