Artsy Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 of over 106 reviews

4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Artsy CEO Mike Steib
Mike Steib
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interesting work that is making an impact in the art world(in 9 reviews)

  • "artsy's(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There was very little respect when it came to work-life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • "The art world is maddeningly old-school, and so any time Artsy introduces a new tool or service, it's met with a lot inertia and protests(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      From Great to Terrible

      Oct 15, 2019 - Partnership Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Artsy was a fantastic place to work when I first began in 2018. Great team culture, room for growth, and exciting plans in the pipeline for the company. Growth was not always on par with goals, but progress was being made regardless. Additionally, employee perks, like snacks, offsite and the like were fantastic.

      Cons

      Within one year of working at Artsy, things deteriorated more rapidly than I've ever seen. Management took a turn for the worst, along with multiple rounds of layoffs. Shady business practices took hold on my team, and the sales team essentially had a 100% turnover rate. Finally, nearly the entire leadership team, including the two founders of the company, stepped down. Artsy is a company in rapid decline, and although it was a cool place to work - stay away...

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Glory Days are over :\

      Apr 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the best peers you'll have at work. Everyone below a Senior Director level is A+ Art x Technology is cool

      Cons

      Company fell off a cliff after years of turmoil and leadership change. No cross-team alignment even within the same department Bureaucracy is rampant No new innovation happening Culture is dead Compensation is sketchy at best Went from the amazing goal of revolutionizing/democratizing the art world to basically making a high value Etsy instead

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Hot mess

      Dec 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work with some really talented people who are passionate about the art world. (However, most of those people left... the company is now run by a bunch of corporate hypocrites who know nothing about art)

      Cons

      no work-life balance no job security clear favoritism within the org comp significantly below industry average

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Company values mask lack of communication and transparency

      May 4, 2020 - Marketing in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great brand with very thoughtful employees

      Cons

      Vision did not align with company mission

      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The company is on shaky ground

      Oct 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Artsy has a passionate, hard-working team and a mission that everyone rallies around. The work culture was amazing when I first began. The HQ is stunning. The CEO was inspiring. It seemed like the perfect gem of a company. It proved too good to be true.

      Cons

      Many of the leaders and long-time employees have left in the past year. They saw the writing on the wall. The new CEO is extremely corporate and laser-focused on the marketplace, at the expense of other teams and the culture that was so prized. I hope it works out, but it's not the same company that it was even a year ago, and unrecognizable to those who've worked there longer. If you are looking for stability, now is probably not a good time to join. Recent layoffs and restructuring portend future layoffs. Look to WeWork for the some of the same issues.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mid-Level Start Up That Thinks Its a Small Start Up

      Jul 18, 2019 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Artsy offers a flexible schedule and personal freedom.

      Cons

      Artsy has a bloated bureaucracy for a company of its size and an overzealous culture.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      No work life balance

      Dec 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some really intelligent and kind people work at the company. Commendable mission and vision. And let’s be honest—the snacks.

      Cons

      There was very little respect when it came to work-life balance. I was paid less than my worth and then expected to work around the clock. It’s very easy to burnout here, and it and seemed to be a theme at Artsy.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A shadow of its former self

      May 21, 2018 - Collector Relations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compared to other companies in the art world, Artsy is hands down the best. Many talented and kind people work here, there's "unlimited" PTO, free snacks, and the views are brag-worthy. On paper Artsy is innovative (there's more of a priority on tech than anywhere else in the art world) and the mission is inspiring. The art world has moved online, and Artsy has led that change. There has been a concerted effort to hire people with real experience over the past two years, which is great. On top of that, the Office Experience team is earnestly trying to make the office space better.

      Cons

      Hoping to work at a fast-paced startup? Artsy is fast in all the wrong ways. Inexperienced leadership diverts resources inefficiently and fails to recognize talent unless it's under the umbrella of a pet project. The politics of this cult takes years off your life, preys on the idealistic with low pay, and still is trying to figure out how to grow into a profitable business. Expect a limited lifespan at Artsy, especially if you're looking for career growth or have no patience for petulant nonsense. Not only is communication completely siloed between teams, but advancement upwards remains a bit of a mystery. Managers are bosses on paper. They hold little sway when it comes to promotion or opportunities for career development. Compensation is opaque, yet somehow non-negotiable, putting managers in a difficult position with their reports. Our CEO once referred to "work life balance" as "work life integration," which means I don't even need to tell you that most employees don't take time off.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      Artsy Response

      Director of People

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts - we appreciate feedback in any channel we receive it. I'm personally very sorry to hear you're finding your time at Artsy so challenging for all the ways you describe. Our goal is to encourage openness and transparency in all we do, and to offer our team members (and managers) the flexibility, ownership, and context to make best decisions in their roles and for their teams. It sounds like your experience is not reflect with this at all. I'd be happy to address some or all of the issues you raise in person - confidentially and anonymously - if you would like to reach out (of course, feel free to do so without referencing this review in any way). For example, I'd love to walk you through how we benchmark competitive compensation for roles at Artsy, to hear your more specific frustrations for how our teams could communicate better, and to better understand what obstacles we can tackle that keep you from using our open time-off policy. I sincerely hope to hear from you so that we can directly address your concerns. As a fast-growing and evolving start-up, I'm sure there are areas we can improve - so even if we don't get to address these issues together, I'll certainly be on the look out for them across the organization. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Disappointing management

      Jul 17, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice slogan, cool founder but ultimately a lot of mediocrity in middle management. I think it grew too fast.

      Cons

      See above. A good place to work for a short while but little potential for advancement due to incompetence of people directly above you.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Artsy Response

      Director of People

      Thank you for sharing your feedback here. I'm sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience with your manager at Artsy. The People Operations team is investing more and more into the training and development of leaders and managers at Artsy, and we know this will deeply benefit the employee experience across the company. In the meantime, if you feel comfortable, I'd love to hear more feedback from you about how your experience with your manager could have been improved - that would help us better support Artsy employees and managers in the future.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      The ship is sinking

      Apr 14, 2021 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel, happy hours - - -

      Cons

      Too many employees for such a small market making it impossible to hit your goals.

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 103 Reviews

    Work at Artsy? Share Your Experiences

    Artsy logo
    or