Artsy Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 of over 124 reviews

4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Artsy CEO Mike Steib
Mike Steib
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Large ambitions to help the art industry come online and make the art world more accessible(in 14 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance has been really great too(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There was very little respect when it came to work-life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • "Went from the amazing goal of revolutionizing/democratizing the art world to basically making a high value Etsy instead(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Worst experience of my career

      Mar 23, 2022 - Product Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In general, I enjoyed my colleagues, the org’s mission, and the day-to-day work

      Cons

      Abusive, lost, and flailing leadership. The company is headed towards oblivion due to a complete lack of vision, self-awareness and accountability of executives and mid-level management. Working at Artsy was one of the most depressing, frustrating, borderline traumatic experiences of my career. There was a point in time when Artsy had so much potential—that point is long past. No one in there right mind would join Artsy today.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      From Great to Terrible

      Oct 15, 2019 - Partnership Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Artsy was a fantastic place to work when I first began in 2018. Great team culture, room for growth, and exciting plans in the pipeline for the company. Growth was not always on par with goals, but progress was being made regardless. Additionally, employee perks, like snacks, offsite and the like were fantastic.

      Cons

      Within one year of working at Artsy, things deteriorated more rapidly than I've ever seen. Management took a turn for the worst, along with multiple rounds of layoffs. Shady business practices took hold on my team, and the sales team essentially had a 100% turnover rate. Finally, nearly the entire leadership team, including the two founders of the company, stepped down. Artsy is a company in rapid decline, and although it was a cool place to work - stay away...

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Not how it used to be

      Jun 10, 2022 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I first joined, I felt that Artsy had a great mission to change the art world.

      Cons

      With new changes in leadership, I think Artsy is trying to be the next Christie's which drives away from its mission to democratize art. The company seems to only care about driving sales, and I'm disappointed on a daily basis. Some leadership members also doesn't seem to care about their employees and how burnt out they are.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Glory Days are over :\

      Apr 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the best peers you'll have at work. Everyone below a Senior Director level is A+ Art x Technology is cool

      Cons

      Company fell off a cliff after years of turmoil and leadership change. No cross-team alignment even within the same department Bureaucracy is rampant No new innovation happening Culture is dead Compensation is sketchy at best Went from the amazing goal of revolutionizing/democratizing the art world to basically making a high value Etsy instead

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Hot mess

      Dec 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work with some really talented people who are passionate about the art world. (However, most of those people left... the company is now run by a bunch of corporate hypocrites who know nothing about art)

      Cons

      no work-life balance no job security clear favoritism within the org comp significantly below industry average

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Company values mask lack of communication and transparency

      May 4, 2020 - Marketing in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great brand with very thoughtful employees

      Cons

      Vision did not align with company mission

      9 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The company is on shaky ground

      Oct 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Artsy has a passionate, hard-working team and a mission that everyone rallies around. The work culture was amazing when I first began. The HQ is stunning. The CEO was inspiring. It seemed like the perfect gem of a company. It proved too good to be true.

      Cons

      Many of the leaders and long-time employees have left in the past year. They saw the writing on the wall. The new CEO is extremely corporate and laser-focused on the marketplace, at the expense of other teams and the culture that was so prized. I hope it works out, but it's not the same company that it was even a year ago, and unrecognizable to those who've worked there longer. If you are looking for stability, now is probably not a good time to join. Recent layoffs and restructuring portend future layoffs. Look to WeWork for the some of the same issues.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mid-Level Start Up That Thinks Its a Small Start Up

      Jul 18, 2019 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Artsy offers a flexible schedule and personal freedom.

      Cons

      Artsy has a bloated bureaucracy for a company of its size and an overzealous culture.

      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      No work life balance

      Dec 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some really intelligent and kind people work at the company. Commendable mission and vision. And let’s be honest—the snacks.

      Cons

      There was very little respect when it came to work-life balance. I was paid less than my worth and then expected to work around the clock. It’s very easy to burnout here, and it and seemed to be a theme at Artsy.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A shadow of its former self

      May 21, 2018 - Collector Relations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compared to other companies in the art world, Artsy is hands down the best. Many talented and kind people work here, there's "unlimited" PTO, free snacks, and the views are brag-worthy. On paper Artsy is innovative (there's more of a priority on tech than anywhere else in the art world) and the mission is inspiring. The art world has moved online, and Artsy has led that change. There has been a concerted effort to hire people with real experience over the past two years, which is great. On top of that, the Office Experience team is earnestly trying to make the office space better.

      Cons

      Hoping to work at a fast-paced startup? Artsy is fast in all the wrong ways. Inexperienced leadership diverts resources inefficiently and fails to recognize talent unless it's under the umbrella of a pet project. The politics of this cult takes years off your life, preys on the idealistic with low pay, and still is trying to figure out how to grow into a profitable business. Expect a limited lifespan at Artsy, especially if you're looking for career growth or have no patience for petulant nonsense. Not only is communication completely siloed between teams, but advancement upwards remains a bit of a mystery. Managers are bosses on paper. They hold little sway when it comes to promotion or opportunities for career development. Compensation is opaque, yet somehow non-negotiable, putting managers in a difficult position with their reports. Our CEO once referred to "work life balance" as "work life integration," which means I don't even need to tell you that most employees don't take time off.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      Artsy Response

      Director of People

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts - we appreciate feedback in any channel we receive it. I'm personally very sorry to hear you're finding your time at Artsy so challenging for all the ways you describe. Our goal is to encourage openness and transparency in all we do, and to offer our team members (and managers) the flexibility, ownership, and context to make best decisions in their roles and for their teams. It sounds like your experience is not reflect with this at all. I'd be happy to address some or all of the issues you raise in person - confidentially and anonymously - if you would like to reach out (of course, feel free to do so without referencing this review in any way). For example, I'd love to walk you through how we benchmark competitive compensation for roles at Artsy, to hear your more specific frustrations for how our teams could communicate better, and to better understand what obstacles we can tackle that keep you from using our open time-off policy. I sincerely hope to hear from you so that we can directly address your concerns. As a fast-growing and evolving start-up, I'm sure there are areas we can improve - so even if we don't get to address these issues together, I'll certainly be on the look out for them across the organization. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 119 Reviews

    Artsy Reviews FAQs

    Artsy has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5, based on over 124 reviews left anonymously by employees. 89% of employees would recommend working at Artsy to a friend and 83% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Artsy employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Artsy. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

    89% of Artsy employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Artsy 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.6 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Artsy to be senior leadership, benefits, career development and the cons to be MISSING VALUE.

    Work at Artsy? Share Your Experiences

    Artsy logo
    or