BDO USA Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
350 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours for interns still in school(in 129 reviews)

  • "Busy season can be challenging, as it is at any public accounting company(in 124 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Winter Internship"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Training provided for the interns

    Cons

    Bleak outlook amongst employees as everyone seems to be eager to leave

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2018-02-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "LOUSY"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Nothing good and no employee love it

    Cons

    lousy and no work life balance

    BDO USA2017-07-13
  3. "Intern Experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Singapore

    I worked at BDO USA for less than a year

    Pros

    Real responsibilities given to interns

    Cons

    Superiors treated employees like slaves

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2016-12-05
  4. "audit"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Steep learning curve and support

    Cons

    No work life balance Uncompetitive remuneration package Uneven workload depend on which manager you work with.

    BDO USA2016-11-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Associate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BDO USA

    Pros

    Good learning place if you are someone who can work independently.

    Cons

    1 and half years bond. Not really highly paid. Most of the managers in the Company suck. Those good manager i know already left. Maybe there are some new manager. IDK.

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2016-10-09
  6. "Employment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to do everything hands on

    Cons

    Long working hours for some teams, poor compensation

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2015-08-16
  7. "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, opportunity, innovation, growth potential

    Cons

    Have note experienced many cons

    BDO USA2020-06-03
  8. "Good team"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Audit Associate 

    I worked at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    All colleagues were super supportive.

    Cons

    Clients were relatively small cap or non-listed firms.

    BDO USA2020-06-02
  9. "Excellent place to start a career for accounting folks"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assurance Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Full exposure to various industries and all aspects of auditing and financial statements right from the get-go. I've never worked at a big-4 firm, but I've heard stories about people getting stuck on one client, performing limited tasks for a long time. BDO provides the opportunity to be a well-rounded auditor. - Paid subscription to CPA study material.

    Cons

    - Extended hours during the busy season. The expectation is 55 hours per week, but many people go beyond 55 hrs. It wasn't a big deal for me. I went in knowing that information. It is just the nature of the profession. Many firms have 12/30 Yead-end. If you're starting out, this is the time to learn and absorb as much information as possible. In the end, you'll come out more experienced and more confident.

    BDO USA2020-05-29

    BDO USA Response

    June 1, 2020CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective and for choosing to be one of us at BDO. You have a wise outlook and we're glad to hear your experience is helping you develop. Stay safe!

  10. "Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff is very helpful snd friendly

    Cons

    Working Long hours during busy season

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2020-05-24
Found 900 reviews