Bain & Company Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Bain & Company Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2593 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Bain & Company CEO Manny Maceda
Manny Maceda
450 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people & team: A Bainie never lets another Bainie fail(in 184 reviews)

  • "The firm's culture is one of constant learning - feedback sessions on my professional development occur 4-6 times a month with people of all tenures(in 167 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (556)

    "Welcome to Bain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Welcome to Bain. I'm going to give you a problem that neither the CEO nor his entire management team could solve. And I'm probably going to give you lots of different opinions and imperfect data sources. And then I'll ask you to focus in on where the most value is and convince all those people with different opinions that you're right. But don't worry, I'm also going to give you a Bain team. Those associates... and consultants are going to be tenacious in coming up with creative approaches. Those managers and partners are going to knock down barriers for you, connect you where you need to be connected, guide, support, direct and re-direct you. The office support staff is going to fix your computer after you spilled coffee on it for the third time, find you the unfindable data source, and smile and hand you a baked good after you ask for help re-doing dozens of slides. You are empowered and accountable but you are not alone. And the best part is you can't fail. Because after all, what all those people are reinforcing is that a Bainie never lets another Bainie fail.

    Show More

    Cons

    Here's how you know you've made it at Bain. The reward for doing a good job is getting a bigger, tougher problem next time. Meaning, you are always solving the easiest problem you will ever solve again. This takes a lot of resilience and active managing of self-expectations to remember that you are not actually getting worse, the problems are just getting harder. So my advice is to remember that. And then take... a second to realize that it would be a lot less fun if the reverse were true. And isn't that precisely why you wanted this job in the first place anyway? It sure was for me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to find and promote the leadership that lives our operating principles.

    Bain & Company2015-10-06

    Bain & Company Response

    September 27, 2016Director, Global Consultant Talent Management

    You have captured the essence of what it means to work here! Thanks for sharing your experience.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent people - just the best

    Cons

    Long hours and high intensity

    Bain & Company2019-09-10
  3. "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engaged Leadership, Team Environment, Mentorship Culture

    Cons

    None, the company is great

    Bain & Company2019-09-09
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Focus on employee development and culture

    Cons

    Travel and work / life balance can be tough

    Bain & Company2019-09-06
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People culture, work environment and opportunities

    Cons

    Working hours are really unsustainable

    Bain & Company2019-09-03
  6. "Exhausting repetitive work with excellent perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Get to work with brilliant peer set 2. Steep learning curve 3. Amazing perks

    Cons

    1. Work is back-end; boring and repetitive 2. Long work hours

    Bain & Company2019-09-15
  7. "Great Company Great Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Experience, training, opportunity, challenge, fun

    Cons

    tough to strike a work-life balance.

    Bain & Company2019-09-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with awesome benefits and job progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bain & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing place to work with super smart, driven colleagues, engaged senior leaders and interesting projects

    Cons

    Incredibly high work loads, demanding time committment, and often grueling travel requirements

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing company culture and Bain spirit

    Bain & Company2019-08-23
  9. "Campus Placement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time

    Pros

    Good work hours, nice salary package

    Cons

    Strict schedule, intimidating at times

    Bain & Company2019-09-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Consultant in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bain & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clear progression and growth potential within the firm. Opportunities to grow professionally and financially are in line with other MBB firms but far outpace the rest of the competition. Great place to springboard your career.

    Cons

    Long working hours and tight deadlines mean work life balance can be very tough at times. This is always project dependent though.

    Bain & Company2019-08-20
Found 2593 reviews