Bardel Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Bardel Entertainment Reviews

Updated 30 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
66%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Bardel Entertainment CEO Rick Mischel (no image)
Rick Mischel
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, occasionally fun projects, not too much OT(in 14 reviews)

  • "Good place to start a career in animation(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "They often demand unpaid overtime and are unwilling to address bad professional practices including sexism from stronger animators(in 15 reviews)

  • "Their pipeline is broken and expect artists to make up for it(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cool Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bardel Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good projects and company culture

    Cons

    low pay, lots of overtime

    Bardel Entertainment2019-12-30
  2. "Great to grow your skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Animator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bardel Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment Good to grow your skills

    Cons

    If you don’t manage your time well, you will face some unpaid over-time

    Bardel Entertainment2019-11-30
  3. "Great Company, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bardel Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great family vibe, artists taken care of

    Cons

    Owner and CEO was a little frantic

    Advice to Management

    Make sure there is enough overhead to support the artists

    Bardel Entertainment2019-10-22
  4. "Ups and Downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Animator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bardel Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, occasionally fun projects, not too much OT

    Cons

    sometimes crunch gets bad and they dont pay OT. They dont let you know whats going on behind the scenes at all.

    Bardel Entertainment2019-10-09
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Upper management consists of a bunch of cronenbergs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Animator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bardel Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Community team organized fun events - Operations team was efficient and great to have in the studio - Decent projects, talented artists - Good stepping stone as a junior

    Cons

    Poor planning - Last minute notifications of whether we still have a job at the end of the week (or day) makes it very hard for us to plan our lives, or even our careers! Cheap rate - Stop pitching low bids on shows and then low-balling the artists! They demand senior talent at a junior rate with an unreasonable amount of work without OT pay. Lack of career growth - Managers preach development and growth but they don't know the first thing about it because they don't care enough to invest or keep anyone long enough to do so. There's an inner circle - Upper management and line producers are cliquey and will promote their favorite people even when there are others who are more deserving. They've let go of the good ones and kept the incompetent ones around. Production and upper management will ask the studio for feedback but they're not looking for change, they're looking for validation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Take accountability for your own and your middle managers' lack of leadership. You don't blame the child, you blame the parent - it starts at the top so set an example. - Mean what you say - we've seen a lot of promises fall through the cracks. Don't try to test it and lose the very little integrity this studio has left.

    Bardel Entertainment2019-10-12
  6. "Not a great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bardel Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Coffee in the mornings

    Cons

    Studio run like some kind of fraternity

    Bardel Entertainment2019-10-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "3D Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bardel Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get hired, some fun projects

    Cons

    Low payment, lots and lots and lots of OT, you are expected to do OT without payment, they make you feel OT is your fault, producers are rude and demand more and more work

    Advice to Management

    You have humans, not machines.

    Bardel Entertainment2019-09-02
  8. "Bad studio, great artists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Technical Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bardel Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Artists are generally great people Immediate supervisors were wonderful in my team

    Cons

    No career growth Uncertainty in securing the next job is a constant fear Ambiguous direction from exec team is frustrating Lack of investment in the staff, they rather just replace non-key players whenever possible (keeps the wages and costs low, hiring juniors) Known for low pay when compared to other studios If you're a technology (IT, TDs...) person, avoid like the plague

    Advice to Management

    I don't care that you're telling us the next show is 99% of the way there, while half my friends are being let go next week BECAUSE there's no work. Invest in your artists and technology.

    Bardel Entertainment2019-09-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Bardel has lost their way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bardel Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great artists, decent projects to work on, convenient location.

    Cons

    Low pay Don't pay overtime Their pipeline is broken and expect artists to make up for it I got let go after I tried to discuss some temporary but serious health issues I was experiencing. They expect too much from you, but don't want to budge if you need something from them.

    Advice to Management

    Back in day when we were working on mostly flash, I'd say that was a good time for this company, management seemed great, work life was really chill and exciting, not sure what happened to you guys over the years, but you've lost your way, you won't grow and get better if you don't listen to your artists. They're not crazy, they're not asking for too much.

    Bardel Entertainment2019-09-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "They don't know how to treat their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pipeline Technical Director in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bardel Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing to say really maybe time to shut down

    Cons

    They don't pay overtime, and they have a broken pipeline where they expected the workers to compensate.

    Advice to Management

    Quit, hire people that know what they are doing

    Bardel Entertainment2019-09-14
Found 99 reviews