Black & Veatch Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Black & Veatch Reviews

Updated 14 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Black & Veatch CEO Steve Edwards
Steve Edwards
261 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management has a vision that middle management isn't executing on(in 23 reviews)

  • "Forced to take B&V stock and can not sell it(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great inclusive company with a great track record"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time

    Pros

    Strong values, good remuneration, you trust your colleagues, culture continues to be a lot more open and the company is certainly planning and acted on the head winds our industry faces

    Cons

    Great intentions and only criticism is whether we can continue to deliver on strategies in a time of great change for the E&C industry

    Advice to Management

    Keep accountability front and center to realize our growth potential

    Black & Veatch2019-08-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Project Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time

    Pros

    Salary is slightly above market Location Company has good values Non-Monetary benefits are fair Leave and medical

    Cons

    Office politics Lack vision Short term business thinking keep changing business direction Inflexible

    Advice to Management

    Bad Management with no clear vision and direction

    Black & Veatch2019-08-10
  3. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture, International assignments

    Cons

    Low Pay and growth opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Class room training required.

    Black & Veatch2019-07-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Black & Veatch overall great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time

    Pros

    Great pay + you can work from home

    Cons

    Certain departments are too hierarchical

    Advice to Management

    more diversity please.

    Black & Veatch2018-08-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Management Consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong parent company with a great vision and history. People know the company if they are in the industry. Benefits are strong and pay is on par with the big 4. Upper management are clear about what they are trying to accomplish. Consulting Division is young and still trying to find itself but working hard to do it.

    Cons

    Client selection is unfocused. They do not have a clear vision of where they fit in the market. Engineering and Tech focus is clear but miss or undervalue the other parts of the Consulting practice. Capture/Service arms are far to interconnected. Due to aquisitions there are many leaders in positions beyond their skills. Also many of the onsite leaders on projects are out of their depth and it makes the day to... day highly ineffective. High Standards are often not needed because good enough is good enough.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Assess the levels of your management. Figure out what your target clients are and focus on it. stop trying to be everything to everyone. This is not going to help in the long run. Simplify roles. you have everyone doing everything and in doing so everyone is less productive at their primary roles. specialize responsibilties to set you team up to provide top notch service to your clients. Second key is to... restructure you onsite structure. Account Reps/Sales people should not be managing project deliverables. It clouds the waters. Ensure all projects have a clear Lead in charge of deliverables without a sales expectations.

    Show More
    Black & Veatch2015-07-30
  6. "Multi-disciplinary environment, opportunity to interact with engineers from all discipline and all over the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Supportive bosses Friendly colleagues US culture Opportunity for overseas working experience Flexible reporting hour Job security unless you screw up big time

    Cons

    Slow growth in water business Too many bureaucracy Lack of mentorship Lack of career progression Slow internet connection Filling in timesheet every friday

    Black & Veatch2012-09-19
  7. "A decent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prefer to Not to Say in Redhill, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had a very supportive manager, the task I had were varied and interesting. the culture was, generally very good despite the organisation having to undergo a dramatic period of change during my tenure.

    Cons

    Pay was less than the market rate for my role. Some of the messaging from the senior leaders was not in line with what employees on the ground were facing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work with the culture change but be mindful of the messaging to the grass roots; they are many months behind what the senior management team are experiencing.

    Black & Veatch2019-10-14
  8. "Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BV is very good company for employee

    Cons

    I don't found any cons

    Black & Veatch2019-10-13
  9. "It’s one of the best place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work culture, processes and procedures.

    Cons

    Lesser carrier opportunities. Less business in hand.

    Advice to Management

    Identify right person and promote them by giving opportunities.

    Black & Veatch2019-09-23
  10. "Solid company with excellent backlog of work. Very nice office environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Denver, CO

    I have been working at Black & Veatch full-time

    Pros

    Strong position in the industry. Plenty of backlog of new work for new opportunities.

    Cons

    Lack of onsite IT and admin support.

    Black & Veatch2019-09-20
Found 657 reviews