Blizzard Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Blizzard Entertainment Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Blizzard Entertainment CEO J. Allen Brack
J. Allen Brack
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very good work environment and work life balance(in 42 reviews)

  • "Surrounded by likeminded gamers even or manager level(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rent in Irvine can be high and options for a social scene can be limited compared to Los Angeles(in 53 reviews)

  • "Cost of living in the area is outrageous(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun Work Environment, Long Hours, Great Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Everyone who works at Blizzard is incredibly passionate about gaming and Blizzard IPs. Work hard and it will pay off. Great benefits and employee perks.

    Cons

    long hours and the work/life balance isn't great depending on what team you are on.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-13
  2. "Excellent but evolving company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Historically good compensation and work-like balance

    Cons

    Company continues to grow. Growth comes with challenges, some challenges have been handled well, others have not.

    Advice to Management

    Control headcount growth. Resist hiring for perceived future needs. Hire to address well defined, strategically aligned, existing deficiencies.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Meh experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Master in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kinda fun place to work

    Cons

    Bad shifts, low pay, clique behavior, slow to be promoted, little management direction

    Advice to Management

    Empower employees to take action, increase pay

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-01
  4. "Extremely positive and refreshing work experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with the most recent technologies, utilizing the most current skill sets. Expectations are high in a good way! I am challenged and respected. The culture is inclusive and the companies stated values can actually be seen. The managers I work with and around have great management skills and are also highly technical! The team members I work with are all skilled, respectable, helpful. Just awesome!

    Cons

    I would love onsite day care l, which most companies don't offer anyways. If anyone can pull it off properly, Blizzard can!

    Advice to Management

    I am excited in regards to the current direction of the company. Keep the vision going strong!

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer() in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, company cares about personal growth, coworkers are collaborative rather than competitive

    Cons

    The management does lots of micromanagement. When you provide feedback about that the management claims it’s for your own good. Not much freedom in doing things in the way you prefer. People are leaving the company, it’s demotivating. The compensation is lower than industry average.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-27
  6. "Producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic people in dev teams.

    Cons

    Management is a gigantic clown fiesta. Bunch of them are completely clueless and with zero idea of what their direct reports are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to be SJW and do what you are paid for.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-16
  7. "Good place to grow yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Seoul
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company culture Nice & kind people

    Cons

    Salary Take too much time on decision making

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your crew

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer 

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Benefits were also very good for me.

    Cons

    Didn't have a lot of room for growth.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Game Producer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They make some of the best games in the world with some of the most talented people in the world.

    Cons

    The development of games can take a long time. While most of this can be attributed to a commitment to a high quality game experience, things would be more efficient if our development methods were more modern and if employees got out of the mentality that we have unlimited budget and time to make things.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-08-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Been rough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project/Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing. The product speaks for itself. Well done Dev Teams.

    Cons

    Company is going through a whole lotta churn.

    Advice to Management

    Get aligned quicker.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-10
Found 763 reviews