Bodybuilding.com Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jun 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 217 reviews

2.3
24%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Bodybuilding.com CEO   Jas Krdzalic
Jas Krdzalic
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company adapts and pivots very well (small enough to act like a start up, big enough to have great benefits)(in 21 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and work life balance(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It has gotten to the point where the employees are no longer empowered to do their jobs(in 7 reviews)

  • "Than they shut down two warehouses, Boise Idaho days after their huge black friday/cyber monday sale(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great job for people who like a challenge.

      Jun 14, 2021 - Organizational Development Coordinator in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love this work. I like that my job is different everyday. The company adapts and pivots very well (small enough to act like a start up, big enough to have great benefits). I like the environment of working with people who do hard things to get results (whether physically, mentally or professionally). Good place for someone who likes a challenge and can operate well in ambiguity.

      Cons

      This job isn't predictable. You can't plan on taking a long vacation during the "off season." In my role I have often needed to work evenings and weekends to meet deadlines, sometimes with little or no lead time to prepare. Not for someone who's looking for a standard 8-5.

      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company with some serious lack in leadership

      Jan 20, 2021 - Senior User Experience Designer in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great benefits - Good office environment -Passionate Employees and even mid-level managenet

      Cons

      - Organization structure - Lacks priority and proper Goals - Constantly shifting focus - Focusing on eCommerce instead of merging Data/Content and Information into a profitable powerhouse

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Bleeding Talent

      Jan 20, 2020 - Front End Developer in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, great benefits, fantastic mission statement

      Cons

      Very poor pay, lack of communication, siloed work environment, dated technology and systems, no career growth opportunities

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Putting the NO in Autonomy

      Jan 30, 2020 - Digital Marketing Manager in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great 401K Match, Great Benefits, FTO, (Although, at one point we had to write our name on an 8ft by 10ft White Board Calendar for days we were taking off. Usually wouldn't be an issue, until the statement of "We will see who wants to keep writing their name up there" was made), Gym

      Cons

      Serious Micromanagement (other departments asking to be included in marketing planning, not for visibility but for approval, seemingly pulling mandate outside of their area of focus). Lack of trust in mid-level management and specialist level. Complete lack of knowledge in processes and workflow complexities. Short-term leadership outlook. Leaders lack tact (C-Suite employees stating they "forget what it's like to be one of you" from a stage at an all-hands meeting). Monotonous work (sale, sale, sale), churning and burning eCommerce discounts, which pulls time and resources away from things that should be number one priority (content, subscriptions, etc.). Customer-first focus is whimsical, not tangible.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to work for good people

      Nov 5, 2019 - Finance in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to work with great benefits. Compared to my wife's benefits with a bigger company in town we are better off with mine. The company cares about employees and even in hard times still takes care of us.

      Cons

      We still have too many employees that don't care about their jobs or the company leaving work for everyone else on the team and company. The company is too slow to get rid of dead weight.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Things to Come

      Apr 24, 2019 - Accounts Payable Specialist in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I left Bodybuilding.com to attend grad school and I found myself coming back after graduating because of: * great benefits (high 401K match, great medical/dental) * awesome people (encouraging, growth-minded, like family) * flexibility (no set clock in/out times, a couple remote days/week) * FTO available immediately (not accrued) * seeing how our company is literally changing peoples' lives for the better! * Focus on development (person and professional)

      Cons

      Now we share the building with the building owners and parking has been more difficult because of that. That's literally the only thing I can think of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bodybuilding.com Response

      Human Resource

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in being part of the Bodybuilding.com team and family. Our Total Rewards package is something we are very proud of and work hard at making better every day! We are happy to have you back home at Bodybuilding.com and look forward to many more years of changing lives together! -Raquel, Human Resources

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Marketing

      Jun 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super company with great benefits. From day one they made this the best career move ever. Recruiting me was the best experience I have ever had with a company. New plans for the company future are energizing and promising. Most people are here to make the company successful. Good vibes mostly.

      Cons

      Sour and negative employees that are not down for change and make it bad for new employees who want to succeed personally and help the company succeed. Work a lot of hours but mainly it is because there are a lot of lazy employees left from the past. Not even balanced working hours for people on same teams is not fair.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing company culture

      Apr 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company work/life balance is amazing. Great benefits, management is fantastic.

      Cons

      Pay is below market average. Communication could be better between all departments.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Starting Position

      Feb 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits. The work-life balance is utterly amazing, along with the company supporting fitness and health.

      Cons

      Lack of career development. This is a great starting point to leap off to a different company down the road.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bbcom Review

      Dec 6, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company provides great benefits, and the people who work there are amazing. They do a lot of employee relations things, like BBQs on fridays in the summer, a Santa party around Christmas, and a lot of departmental contests. Also there is a fantastic gym onsite and aminos on tap :)

      Cons

      The communication between departments in this company is not good. Terrible might be a better word. They need to assume the best in people and invest in specific learning and development programs in all departments, which might be some time, since they just had to reduce the workforce.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Bodybuilding.com Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Bodybuilding.com? Share Your Experiences

    Bodybuilding.com logo
    or