CARFAX Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 414 of over 442 reviews

4.6
94%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
CARFAX CEO Richard Raines
Richard Raines
319 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance and awesome colleagues(in 93 reviews)

  • "All I can say Carfax is the best place to work and I believe in true(in 81 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Carfax is a great place to work(in 46 reviews)

  • "Doesn’t pay well unless you’re in sales, very flat organization(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Values driven organization _ Join Team CARFAX!

      May 3, 2021 - Sales Operations Coordinator in Centreville, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reputation - most trusted brand who continues to invest to grow and build consumer confidence and trust throughout their personal vehicle search and ownership. Values Driven - Cares for Employees, Community, Customers, Consumers: It's not by accident that Team CARFAX is listed first because our physical and mental health and well-being were paramount and considered in many organizational decisions, especially in 2020 which seemingly started like any other year! A year later, we emerge stronger, more motivated, focused and involved in community programs. Personally for myself, I am so appreciative for the decisive, appropriate and very timely management decisions taken to ensure that we were fully supported in our "home" offices, whilst remaining connected and in touch through many celebratory virtual events, such as our Annual Employee Appreciation Party, Halloween Magic shows, Valentine's Day Red balloon appreciation, team Trivia Challenges and monthly "brunches"! Our Canned Food and Winter Clothing drives were a huge success supporting local charities and communities - all of which has been a balm and comfort to be able to help others. Work Hard, Play Harder - Absolutely, We Do!! Shared some of the ways we "play" above! Look forward to returning to the office to the monthly happy hours to welcome our new hires. Excellent work-life balance programs and benefits - I especially love my volunteer time off hours! Looking forward to four-day summer work schedule!

      Cons

      Limited professional development opportunities No tuition reimbursement

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent place to work

      Nov 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work full time

      Cons

      The office has moved to a new location.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Say YES to a positive and supportive work environment

      Nov 2, 2021 - Regional Account Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's not just upper management blah-blah and talk. CARFAX sets the tone at the top and it pervades the culture. We have a "no jerks allowed" policy and it's true; the teams are collaborative and have developed a good team work environment. Pay is great, if you're in the field you have all the tech you need (iphone, ipad, laptop, car, printer, supplies), and the little benes make for easing your life (example: CALM paid membership; free DOORDASH subscription w/o delivery fees, etc). all these little things add up in your life. In my role, the activities consist of calling/zooming/visiting my dealer customers and making sure they know how to use their CARFAX programs to support sales, grow business in sales and service, and grow their customer base. The RAM also looks for accounts who can grow and pass them to the product specialist (sales). The comp is very fair, and sales teams (inside/outside/strategic/etc) do not compete with each other; everyone shares in the sale when they're active on an account. I hope to be a CARFAX Lifer after working 20+ years at large and small companies.

      Cons

      If you are a RAM you need to be self-accountable and self-motivated. If you need a manager over your shoulder all the time, this is not for you. If you are a self-learner, you'll do well. If you ask questions, you'll do well. Basically, if you're a lone wolf you won't fit and be successful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      No jerks, great culture

      Nov 2, 2021 - Director of Communications 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super collaborative. Great management. Strong culture. Fun is encouraged and celebrated. Inclusive and respectful. Proactively looks out for my mental health. I am absolutely empowered to do my best work and balance it with Real Life.

      Cons

      Can't think of a single one. Really.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best place to work

      Nov 2, 2021 - Regional Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent pay, benefits and perks. The company goes above and beyond to try to make our lives easier.

      Cons

      Some of the territories are better than others as far as geography and opportunity. And they do not adjust goals based on region or sales opportunity.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      GREAT PLACE TO WORK!

      Oct 29, 2021 - Regional Account Manager in Centreville, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team Oriented and always in the know regarding the business and its future. Flat Organization

      Cons

      Flat Organization - Promotions are hard earned but worth it

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Continues to go DownHILL

      Nov 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working remote, company culture, people are great, and paid time off

      Cons

      Poor leadership, micro management, no growth, pay is substantially low, horrible health benefits, no benefits for career growth or education, tons of favoritism (leading to the favored to not work at all or reap additional pay benefits) The CEO recently retired, not sure what’s to come from it.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Oct 7, 2021 - Software Developer in London, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits. Work life balance is great. People are very nice and easy to get along with. Work with the latest technologies.

      Cons

      You might feel like a small cog in a very big machine. But the teams do their best at working together and there is room for advancement.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      CARFAX is a great place to work, my best job yet

      Oct 3, 2021 - Systems Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance Free Friday lunches Dog friendly Other employees are for the most part great! There have been some jerks in the past that I wish were weeded out quicker. Flexible when needing PTO Bonus pay Good employee recognition

      Cons

      Sometimes it seems there is no direction, and management follows the next shiny thing, often before the last shiny thing was brought to completion. Pay could be better, raises are usually small.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to works for, not enough products to sell

      Oct 20, 2021 - Field Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CARFAX is a great company to work for. They have a strong brand that sells itself in most cases, when it comes to advertising that can be a little more challenging especially in a market where inventory is hard to find.

      Cons

      Too many sales people leads to less prospect for each and harder opportunities for rural market.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 414 Reviews

    Popular Careers with CARFAX Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CARFAX? Share Your Experiences

    CARFAX logo
    or