Castlight Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Jun 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 446 reviews

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Castlight Chief Executive Officer Maeve OMeara
Maeve OMeara
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance and colleagues(in 29 reviews)

  • "Great people who are professional, smart and have a passion for our mission(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There are some growing pains due to the recent merger and the fact that the product is still changing(in 22 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is worst I have ever seen(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growing pains, confusion, and ambiguity

      Jun 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great mission statement and impact to end users. Fantastic co-workers who are driven to do right by our customers.

      Cons

      Post Jiff merger its abundantly clear that Castlight is going through significant growing pains. Exodus of talent and institutional memory is ongoing as the turmoil and constantly shifting product features and timelines are not going to abate anytime soon. Culture is like a start up with shifting expectations, lack of documentation, and a questionable work/life balance. However, no upsides usually associated with start up work as the stock price has been stagnant for 2+ years now.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      Castlight Response

      Internal Community Manager

      We’re glad to hear that you enjoy our mission and employees. We integrated two legacy companies in the past year and are just about to release our first joint product to millions of users. Post-merger transitions can feel challenging, but our people, companies, and products are well on their way to being fully combined. We use the OKR model to ensure that everyone is accountable and rewarded when we meet our goals.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic!

      Dec 28, 2017 - Senior User Support Specialist in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The management and company do a lot to show that they care about their employees, even down to the customer service level. There are tons of perks, like, free lunch once a week, paid holidays off, unlimited flex time, no medical premiums, and much more! I have never felt so appreciated in any of my previous jobs and they are more than happy to help you advance quickly if you are willing to put in the work and do your best. Management is super understanding and will work with you to improve if you are underperforming or need help in any way.

      Cons

      There are some growing pains due to the recent merger and the fact that the product is still changing + evolving. I think the company gives too many chances to employees before letting them go. There are a few negative people in the office who bring the mood down when the company bends over backwards to make us happy.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Outstanding Corporate Culture

      Oct 24, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is Castlight is what sets the company apart. When you walk in the office you can feel the positive energy. They host many fun, creative events & even provide lunch once a week. Good benefits & work-life balance. The CEO & Senior Leadership are very well-respected & have an open-door policy. In regards to the work at Castlight, you will have the chance to solve the most complex problems in Silicon Valley. Many of the employees are some of the brightest minds in the country.

      Cons

      With hyper-growth comes growing pains. Some of the people at Castlight who have "been here forever" don't play nice with others, & this is seemingly a known issue. Castlight says it is a "Performance Culture" but does not always appear to live by this mantra. Some older, tenured employees consistently under-perform but stay around because they have so much tribal knowledge. On the flip side some of the younger, newer employees who are top-performers have difficulty advancing in the company.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      All Good

      Jun 24, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work environment, great benefits, company is accelerating in a space that still in its infancy and Castlight is massively ahead of any competitors. We are paving the way...So really cool to be part of this journey

      Cons

      With growth comes growing pains. no longer pre-ipo, need to mature systems and processes and through this process it can feel stressful and painful at times, However it is needed and they are doing everything they can to drive a very ambitous mission which outweighs any cons

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      great environment

      Jan 30, 2016 -  in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing product, great benefits (for full time employees), pleasantly positive and supportive coworkers with can-do attitudes, lots of social events (happy hours, get togethers, fun offsites, holiday parties, etc.) and a very inspiring CEO. Because its a health focused company, they not only offer healthy snack options but promote a healthy lifestyle outside the office as well. Prior working here, I had never heard of the company. But I learned so much in my brief time here and loved every day of it. Would love to work here again.

      Cons

      Some growing pains in the transition from a small startup with aspiring goals to a public company trying to create transparency within a very complicated healthcare environment. A lot of turnover.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Truly mission-driven

      Nov 11, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Mission-driven company that sticks to its values, from the top down -Fun company culture and smart colleagues -Ambitious agenda and hardworking culture

      Cons

      -Sometimes work/life balance can be difficult to achieve -Growing pains of transitioning from a small, private company to a larger, public company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Fulfilling Work, Positive Atmosphere

      Nov 2, 2015 - Anonymous Contractor in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am surrounded by bright, passionate, creative, FUNNY coworkers and get a good laugh every single day. Good work-life balance, lots of great benefits and perks, strong culture. Amazing spirit for the company and mission. Company-wide events and all-hands meetings reinforce the culture here -- truly a unified workforce.

      Cons

      Growing pains are to be expected with any growing company. Still working out the kinks in some processes, some days are crazy busy and some are slow.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Contractor

      Great Place to work. Crucial time for the company.

      Nov 8, 2015 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Motivated employees who are totally behind the company's mission -Opportunities to move up or laterally move to another department -Approachable leadership team

      Cons

      -The company is in major growing pains in trying to move to profitability -Leadership preaches work/life balance openly, but doesn't encourage it within their department

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      One of the top 3 companies I've ever worked for

      Aug 19, 2015 - Regional Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Very talented colleagues - HUGE market opportunity - Great culture (starting with CEO) - "Land grab" style sales comp plan (structured to motivate new business acquisition) If you haven't worked for a young (under 10 yr old) company, the Castlight environment might be a shock to the system. If you want to be part of a dynamic, fast moving, well-funded company and help it reach its aggressive goals, you won't find a better combination of leaders, resources and talent. Trust me.

      Cons

      - The company is San Francisco-centric (which just means I "have to" visit the SF office every couple of months) - Things are moving fast, so there are inevitable growing pains. That's normal.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      May 22, 2015 - California in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are truly committed to the mission of improving the healthcare system. Company is creating a new category, Enterprise Healthcare Management, that we believe will become a must-have service for HR departments and their employees.

      Cons

      Company went public early so there are definitely some growing pains. But that's part of the opportunity for working here, since new structures and processes are being set up on a daily basis.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Castlight Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Castlight? Share Your Experiences

    Castlight logo
    or