Castlight Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 446 reviews

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Castlight Chief Executive Officer Maeve OMeara
Maeve OMeara
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance and colleagues(in 29 reviews)

  • "Great people who are professional, smart and have a passion for our mission(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There are some growing pains due to the recent merger and the fact that the product is still changing(in 22 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is worst I have ever seen(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work.

      Dec 4, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance and colleagues.

      Cons

      Constantly changing long term vision.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      heading the right direction

      Nov 19, 2020 - Lead Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture, reasonable work life balance, and I think we're finally on track to deliver most of the features that most of our customers want. We've also improved some of the internal processes around building and delivering our product.

      Cons

      Some imperfections remain, but minor I think

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Aug 5, 2020 - Leadership in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Culture Top Down, Benefits and Work Life Balance

      Cons

      Future Strategic Products for Revenue Groth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to start an engineering career but executive team is unable to execute

      Feb 12, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Great work life balance and remote culture. Able to work from home 1 day a week * Great place to start your career; lots of mentorship and senior engineers to help develop your skills * Higher amount of experienced and senior engineers who bring maturity to engineering culture

      Cons

      * Company is unable to execute and growth the business. Every year leadership would present a new vision which would fall largely flat in terms of revenue growth. Leadership would make excuses for the stock price performance, but any fundamental stock investor could see that the stock price has crashed because business performance is very weak. Don't let any executive fool you, the stock price is fair. * Company went through 2 layoffs during my tenure * Engineering culture is weak on deployment and monitoring; features can fail for weeks without someone knowing. The plus side is that no team has on call (but really it shouldn't be this way) * Engineering shipping culture is similar to consulting company rather than a product company; engineers get staffed on a high impact project and once done get put on another project. Very little iteration and refinement on product features once they are launched (onto to the next big thing). Most of these big projects don't move the needle on the business * Engineering SVP was focused on building a culture of shipping many things, rather than shipping impactful things. I was staffed on many “high impact” projects that once launched were quickly forgotten and had little impact on bottom line. * To go with above point, we are not good at testing product market fit. PM team (while pulling long hours) does not do enough to actually ensure the features they build actually have impact on revenue, retention, and preventing churn. * Company has an unhealthy culture of using Java for everything. There is a "Java" mindset in how we tackle all our problems and because of that we miss easy solutions that involved technologies outside of the Java ecosystem. All things being equal, polyglot engineers are stronger than single language engineers and unfortunately the Castlight culture pushes away polyglots

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Company going through transformation with INCREDIBLE culture

      Nov 27, 2019 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Castlight certainly has its challenges, but is really trying to turn things around. There are growing pains of a company going through a transformation, but significant progress has been made since turning the company around in the middle of 2019. Leadership: Maeve has been making an effort to turn around a company that had frankly lost its way under the last CEO. There are a lot of new leaders who are energized and have hit the ground running, and past, ineffective leaders have all but left the company. It feels like morale has been higher overall, and faith is being restored by new leadership. Culture: It's really special here. In the past three months, there has been an active emphasis on prioritizing company culture. The company put together a team of over 40 employees from around the company and has been focused on the employee experience. I've never been at a company that celebrates diversity and inclusion the way Castlight does. Work-life balance: I can only speak for the SF office and my personal experience, but wow is work-life balance great! Teams have dedicated days to work from home. There is general trust an autonomy to get things done on your own time -- you are treated like an adult that can manage their own schedule and find their own balance. Growth / promotional opportunity: in my experience and on my team, we have seen promotions based on merit (not tenure) which is very different from the previous world I came from. Career growth is encouraged and supported!

      Cons

      Previous leadership left holes in the company: From 2018 to mid-2019, leadership was ineffective/unqualified, and promotions (primarily because of the politics after the Jiff acquisition) were unwarranted. For example, the former President promoted one of his own to a VERY senior and critical position with nearly zero experience -- a product/R&D person was charged with leading all of customer experience with no prior related experience! Another prominent example of bad leadership was the previous CEO before Maeve. Phrases like "absentee CEO" were thrown around as no one had seen or heard from him for months. Without a word or goodbye, he exited the company. The company had lost direction and had emotional scars in the wake of poor leadership. Since then, morale has felt higher and it's clear how much Maeve and new leadership are working to be transparent and connected to the employee base, but there is still work to do (in some parts of the organization more than others).

      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Supportive and flexible

      Dec 2, 2019 - Senior Engagement Strategy Associate in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible schedule and good work/life balance (can work from home at times, schedule doctor appoints during work hours, etc. Note: work/life balance varies by department; this review is for Engagement Strategy) - Great pay and benefits - Supportive staff and management that wants you to do the work that excites and motivates you - Good long term company vision and adaptability

      Cons

      - We're going through some company changes in 2019, including change of CEO earlier this year. I think it's a great change for the long run, but understand change is hard for some people. That combined with our current low stock price may affect some people's drive to continue working here but not everyone's

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work and have work/life balance and great benefits.

      Jun 21, 2019 - Frontend Developer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a multinational company, has strong values for diversity and inclusion, also has great benefits and promotes the work/life balance.

      Cons

      Not easy to create and manage a professional career.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Implementation

      Jan 6, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love working here because team is helpful , manager cares, product is great and culture top notch with competitive pay and good work life balance

      Cons

      Interviewed at some really bad companies in the healthcare industry where their implementation manager was disrespectful, demanding and a micromanager rwoo

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A great experience

      Oct 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've had jobs where I dreaded coming to work every day, and it is a huge relief not have that experience at Castlight. I actually enjoy coming in to work every day because I work with great people that I like, and the workload is challenging, but rewarding and not overbearing. For some positions, this may not be the case, but work/life balance has been great on the customer experience/design side. The office is big, comfortable, and well-lit. There's no depressing fluorescent office lighting going on. The kitchen is constantly stocked with coffee, beverages, and a wide assortment of healthy snacks. I'm personally glad there isn't a bunch of junk to over-indulge on. There is plenty of couch and comfy chair seating and games to play in your free time like ping pong and foosball. People generally seem to be happy and dedicated to the company mission and product. I use the Castlight app on a day-to-day basis and can say that it is a very useful, innovative tool that I'm proud to work on. I don't think there is anything else remotely like Castlight in the health tech market.

      Cons

      Recent layoffs put a damper on company morale for sure. This restructuring may be for the best in the long-term but it took its toll across the company short-term. It seems like senior leadership has not held themselves as accountable for recent missteps as they should have, as I've only seen promotions among senior leaders while droves of employees have had their jobs eliminated. That being said, the long-term mission of the company seems to be on track and the next generation of the Castlight product has been built and released with favorable results.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      As good as it gets

      Sep 20, 2018 - Product Designer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work / life balance Female leaders Smart leaders that empower the teams they manage and are passionate about the company's mission Transparent leadership that leads by example

      Cons

      Five words minimum goes here.

      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Castlight Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Castlight? Share Your Experiences

    Castlight logo
    or