Close Brothers Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 258 of over 274 reviews

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Close Brothers Chief Executive  Adrian Sainsbury (no image)
Adrian Sainsbury
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is good in this(in 28 reviews)

  • "Big company with a very good benefits package(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Favouritism with senior management(in 17 reviews)

  • "Working hours flexibility, Career progression,(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      .

      Jun 19, 2022 - Transaction Monitoring Analyst in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good opportunities to progress within role

      Cons

      Seethe salary isn’t that good

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      Thank you for your 5* review! We're glad that you recognise the progression opportunities within the business. Regarding your comment about salary, we go to extreme lengths to ensure a fair pay structure across the Group, and regularly engage third-party benchmarking specialists to ensure we remain up to date with market trends.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great working atmosphere and great people to work with

      Jun 15, 2022 - IT Helpdesk Analyst in Wimblington, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working atmosphere and great people to work with

      Cons

      Not that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      Thank you for your positive review!

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture

      May 26, 2022 - Business Operations Associate in Wimbledon, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and good atmosphere Excellent training Great people Good benefits

      Cons

      Limited potential for growth in career

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      Thank you for your feedback, our leadership team will be pleased to know that their efforts are appreciated by our colleagues. We are sorry that we haven't been able to meet your progression aspirations at this point in your career with us. We put a lot of emphasis on employee development and progression, but like every company, unfortunately cannot always meet the progression expectations of every colleague. Please do discuss this with your line manager so we can understand your feedback in more detail.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work!

      May 18, 2022 - Executive Assistant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and well-being. Fair pay, fairly good bonuses. Good HR support when required.

      Cons

      Would be good to explore other options within the business for career progression.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate your positive feedback and are glad you had a good experience.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work

      May 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive, supportive environment, progress people from within

      Cons

      Not many. Great place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are committed to building an inclusive culture where everyone can thrive, so it's great to hear that you have experienced the outcomes of these efforts.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      New role

      May 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Wimbledon, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great culture. Everyone is friendly and approachable - Townhalls. Great way of getting to meet other people that for the company but outside of your team - Breakfast mornings. Never had this in previous jobs, I think it's a great way to get you motivated on a Monday morning - Lots of training on offer

      Cons

      I don't have any cons to report

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate your positive feedback and are glad you are having a good experience

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Was Ok

      May 25, 2022 - Project Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really nice people to work with

      Cons

      Challenging progression route. Slow to adapt

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate your positive feedback and are glad you had a good experience. We will ensure that your comments are passed to the leadership team.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic company to work for

      May 10, 2022 - Learning & Development in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Thoroughly enjoyed my time here so far. Seamless onboarding and interview process. Amazing culture - clearly something the company prides itself on and puts a lot of effort into getting right. Everyone in the business is working towards a common goal - there is great team spirit and collaboration. Managers trust you to get the job done and give you autonomy. Great approach to hybrid working. Lovely offices. Looking forward to my future here.

      Cons

      Genuinely none that have been noticed yet.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      Thank you very much for your feedback, we will ensure this is passed to the leadership team.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great work place

      May 5, 2022 - Data Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Empowering and proactive approach environment

      Cons

      Fast paced changes with lack of training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      Thank you for providing your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you enjoy the environment that you work in. We have a broad suite of formal training courses and annual development programmes available to colleagues. We actively encourage all colleagues to engage with learning and development activities, so we are sorry to hear that this has failed to meet your expectations.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good starter Career Company

      May 4, 2022 - Finance Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great internal promotions Training opportunities Lots of events, networking etc

      Cons

      Operations salary is low Hiring practises are not unbiased

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Close Brothers Response

      HR Business Partner

      Thank you for providing your feedback. Growing and retaining talent is a key focus for all areas of Close Brothers, so we are pleased to hear you have benfitted from this ongoing investment in learning

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 258 Reviews

    Close Brothers Reviews FAQs

    Close Brothers has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 274 reviews left anonymously by employees. 79% of employees would recommend working at Close Brothers to a friend and 79% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Close Brothers employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Close Brothers. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

    79% of Close Brothers employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Close Brothers 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Close Brothers Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Close Brothers? Share Your Experiences

    Close Brothers logo
    or