Commonwealth Bank of Australia Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Commonwealth Bank of Australia Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Matt Comyn (no image)
Matt Comyn
464 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

    Pros

    Great people Investment in people Technology savvy

    Cons

    Long hours Constant cost pressures despite $10b profit

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-02-12
  2. "Great employee culture, career opportunities strong, internal support outside of Australian retail activities is scarce"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Relaxed culture, working with nice people, good benefits

    Cons

    Areas of the Bank which are not CBA's core business really struggle for investment and support. Compensation is generally below market.

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2020-03-26
  3. "Low morale/high retrenchment in CBA Asia Branches"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly team mates. Free coffee and soda.

    Cons

    The bank has no coherent strategy to build out offshore Asia business activities and are scaling back. Unfortunately, many employees in these Asia locations are retrenched. In some locations, as much as 20% of staff have been retrenched. Those who remain are living in fear if they will be next to let go.

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2020-01-17

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia Response

    February 2, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback, we’re working hard to make CommBank a great place to work, where employees feel valued. We’re sorry to hear that your experience has not been positive, we have passed on your feedback to the relevant HR team. In the meantime, please feel free to contact our anonymous hotline on 1800 SpeakUP (1800 773 258)

  4. "Good work life balance/under market pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. nice office

    Cons

    Bonus not tied to performance average benefits no clear strategy business contracting not a global bank

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-07-11
  5. "Culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance at CBA is good

    Cons

    Things can get quite political

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-05-21
  6. "Reasonable"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being offshore, away from the head office politics. Reasonably stable given the Australian business

    Cons

    Not overly progressive in my area, with innovation taking a back seat to other concerns

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2017-05-13
  7. "CBA"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia

    Pros

    Flexible working hours is a plus

    Cons

    Unprofessional working environment is unpleasant

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2015-08-07
  8. "NIL"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Used to be a peaceful place

    Cons

    with Overseas Reporting line, discussions are made difficult. Phone discussions are not as appropriate as face-to-face discussions.

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2014-11-08
  9. "Commonwealth Bank of Australia CBA review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    career development, opportunities, comp, benefits, work life balance, flexibility, management, culture and values

    Cons

    not many major cons that I can think of off the top of my head.

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2014-07-26
  10. "GPTW"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture Great people Great work-life balance Great opportunities

    Cons

    No cons to add, it's a great place to work.

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2020-05-28
Found 1907 reviews