Duedil Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Duedil Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
87%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Duedil CEO Justin Fitzpatrick (no image)
Justin Fitzpatrick
10 Ratings
  1. "Supportive and ambitious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duedil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Before joining DueDil, I had received two job offers - I chose DueDil over the other company because during the interview process I sensed that the people were authentic, down-to-earth and had each other's backs and that's exactly how things have played out. In my own role I can say that the company has given me the opportunity to run with the ball and take on responsibilities outside of my initial remit. In under a year I've gained a wealth of new experiences and had the opportunity to work with senior management and board members. Benefits are pretty standard, including free lunch on a Friday, Vitality healthcare etc. Six month probation period and three month notice period - but that seems to fairly common these days. Office closes over Christmas which is great, nothing worse than commuting in on the 27th December and being sent home at noon.

    Cons

    Hours are 9 to 6, but there's some flexibility (you won't have to beg for time off for a dentist appointment like some places). There's been a lot of changes in the company and things are moving fast which creates opportunities, but also raises expectations. Ambitious plans are good, but success always comes down to having the enough time and enough investment.

    Continue reading
    Duedil2019-11-06
  2. "Not good in engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time

    Pros

    location is good, lots of free food, but again that costs little money, work from home

    Cons

    Engineering in this company is in the hands of unexperienced people. Bad practices everywhere, poor choices. This is due to many in key positions that have been many years and are hard at changing or simply have no idea of how the job in done elsewhere. Technical direction at C and D levels is also poor and bad choices are taken. People leave and they take with them all knowledge of many custom made hacks that keep everything running. Company is skint and does not spend much on the employees. They claim a lot of things, like a "generous learning budget", but it is peanuts and only enough to buy a couple of books or do a cheap online course. No bonuses, sometime they give a bonus in the form of an amazon gift card a hug and that's it! You have to be pretending all time enthusiasm in a 10 years old company/startup that always failed to break even and likely will never, if you don't then you're frown at. Stressful, because of poor organisation. Interview is smoke and mirrors, be very suspicious and careful. -- It is not a machine learning job --

    Duedil2019-10-26

    Duedil Response

    October 30, 2019CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to write. You've raised some significant points. First of all, I wish we had this conversation in person while you were here. Getting better requires us to listen to criticism, even when it's uncomfortable. Part of the reason we run regular team meetings, one to ones, team surveys and engage across all parts of the business as a leadership team is because we want people to speak up if they have ideas about how we can improve. The recent transition to cross-functional product and engineering teams is one example of how we've tried to give greater independence and decision-making power to the people closest to the building and supporting the product. This change was prompted by feedback from people in the team. We're proud that we have engineers with long tenure, and while some may have had limited experience in other companies, we believe that if someone has proven themselves then they deserve to be promoted regardless of how many companies they've worked in previously. That said, bringing outside perspectives is often useful, which is why we've made a number of recent hires in both product and engineering who have experience working in a mix of companies. Finally, personal and professional development is something we want people thinking about every day. We’ve received largely positive feedback on the training allocation we make for all members of the team, and we have people studying everything from Python to Spanish. When people have taken initiative to suggest other outside courses or conferences they’d like to attend we always do our best to support them. This is in addition to the internal trainings we run on everything from interviewing to emotional intelligence and presenting. We’re committed to continually improve, and will take your feedback on board. Best of luck in your next role.

    Continue reading
  3. "A very special place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + Fantastic culture (feels like home/family) + Smart coworkers + Ambitious product + Steady CEO + Trusting senior management + Multiple people choose to come back and stay after career breaks (speaks to culture) + Strong, involved customer base

    Cons

    - You need to be up for the challenge of scale-up life (resilient) as things change/reshuffle often - Could pay better

    Duedil2019-09-19
  4. "A good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Duedil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    snacks, short commute, nice people

    Cons

    long working hours, high pressure

    Duedil2019-09-23
  5. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duedil full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture in the office - very friendly, unpretentious and warm environment. Great benefits and support from the management. Great place for personal and professional development; tonnes of opportunities to explore different areas of the business and get involved in exciting projects. Your work feels valued and rewarded.

    Cons

    Due to the nature of a startup there are areas lacking structure and protocols; however, this will come with time as the business grows. Working hours are quite long.

    Continue reading
    Duedil2019-03-18
  6. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and room to develop

    Cons

    Change in strategy came a little late in the game but it paid off and is selling very well.

    Duedil2019-02-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A great place for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I learned more and grew more in my four years at DueDil than any other period of my life. I feel very fortunate to have been a part of such a driven, purposeful, capable, and growth-minded team. The opportunities presented and earned at DueDil changed the trajectory of my career and I will always be grateful for that. DueDil provides a results-oriented, meritocratic environment. With a necessary and meaningful mission and a great product, DueDil is a great place to build your career. It's not easy, nor should it be, but the rewards are worth the effort. + Strong CEO and board leadership + Great personal growth opportunities + Opportunity for real impact + Fun, inspiring culture + Access to leadership and every part of the business + Learning and growth opportunities abound

    Cons

    - It's a tough market to compete in, but that challenge (when approached with the right mindset and tools) leads to advanced personal and collective growth

    Continue reading
    Duedil2018-12-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, despite constant change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duedil full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people and culture are what make DueDil a great place to work. Comfortable and collaborative working environment with a great work-life balance, but everybody knows what needs to be done on a short, medium & long-term basis. Given more responsibility than I would have been given in the same role at other companies, with lots of opportunities for personal and professional development.

    Cons

    Occasionally over-promised and under-delivered, particularly with regards to progression. More responsibility within a role is great for development but should be rewarded with pay increases. As is the nature of any growth-stage business, there is constant change but it is not always managed and communicated properly; make sure to manage expectations.

    Continue reading
    Duedil2018-09-11
  9. "Ambitious & purpose driven company with lots of talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time

    Pros

    - The company is extremely purpose driven. There's a clear mission driving what they're building and it's one that deeply matters for the economy. - They're trying to solve challenging problems, which gives a lot of room for career growth and learning, especially for software engineering, data and product roles - The company really cares about the people working there and you will leave having made lasting friendships - There's SO many smart, talented, hard working people at Duedil - CEO is a natural leader

    Cons

    - The company was still finding its bearings and with that came a lot of execution uncertainty around the product

    Duedil2018-08-22

    Duedil Response

    September 11, 2018CEO

    Thanks for the feedback and the vote of confidence! Giving people a reason to get out of bed in the morning is so important. Early on I thought of growth as something you did for your board and investors, but having seen the talent and drive of people in our business I now know that the greatest pressure to grow comes from within. If you don't there's limited opportunity for people to challenge themselves and develop their skills and career. Much of our work these past few months has focused on clarifying why we exist and who we serve. Now we're translating that into the various parts of our business so that everyone and DueDil can see how they contribute to our vision of fuelling a more informed and connected economy. Best of luck with your next role and please know you're always welcome here!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "It started good, but got lost along the way ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duedil full-time

    Pros

    1) Smart people (apart from the few bad apples and management) 2) Interesting and challenging problems

    Cons

    1) People promoted to high positions that have no experience or background (especially the CPO and CTO) because of politics 2) Lots of lofty goals without delivering (esp. from former CEO) 3) No product strategy or process 4) No clear career progression paths 5) Salaries below market rates

    Continue reading
    Duedil2018-08-01

    Duedil Response

    August 16, 2018CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re lucky to have a lot of people at DueDil who really care about the work that we do, and I can hear your frustration in your comments. We’re solving a big and important problem, both technically and for the economy as a whole. It’s true that we haven’t always lived up to our ambitions or maintained the standards we know we need to achieve our vision. This is something we’ll continue to work on. We try to foster an environment of ownership based on grit, authenticity and team spirit. I’m sorry to learn your experience didn’t match our intentions. We want everyone who is a part of DueDil, past and present, to feel they can talk openly about their experience and suggest ways we can improve. If you’d like to have a more detailed discussion on any of your recommendations for how we can do better, please feel free to get in touch.

    Continue reading
Found 32 reviews