Etsy Employee Reviews about "sellers"

Updated Mar 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 287 reviews

4.5
85%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teams, culture, flexibility, technology work/life balance(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great people, beautiful offices (when we could go to them)(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work Life Balance is a must here(in 9 reviews)

  • "High Sellers costs for any shop bringing in 20K or more(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "sellers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Disappointed

      Mar 15, 2018 -  in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Interesting products and challenges -Cozy office space -Unlimited sick day

      Cons

      - Work/life balance is poor. I am stuck in so many useless meetings that the only time I do actual work is on my "lunch break” (when 12-1 or 1-2 isn’t booked or double booked with even more meetings on my calendar) or evenings/weekends. -However, I’m an afterthought for meetings that actually would be helpful for me, but I’m not invited to them. Then I’m berated for not knowing something that was discussed in those meetings. Usually the one doing the berating is the person who’s setting up those meetings…that I’m not invited to. And the cycle continues. -Which leads to communication, which is terrible here. Obtaining relevant information and answers that is crucial for me to do my job effectively is like pulling teeth. -People in leadership and product management roles don’t seemed to be equipped or experienced enough to handle their job responsibilities. Stop putting 23-year-olds in charge of entire product verticals. They lack the experience and confidence to get the job done. -PMs and designers get in their own way and overthink products.Don’t seem to really be listening to what buyers or sellers actually need. - I'm surprised by how cold and/or unhappy so many people seem here. I was expecting a much warmer, friendlier group of people. Maybe everyone is just so burned out and suffering under a cloud of toxic confusion and miscommunication, that they have nothing left to give socially. Most people come across as insincere. I feel like I’m working among a bunch of zombies.

      Continue reading
      38 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Despite a shaky last year, still the best place I've ever worked

      Jan 24, 2018 - Designer in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great place to work as a marginalized person - Since the 2017 layoffs and refocus, people work at a faster pace and focus more on iteration - Good benefits and perks including weekly free lunch and daily snacks - Best office I've ever worked in - The HQ isn't in Manhattan - Remote friendly, working from home is encouraged - Great and interesting challenges - Working on a marketplace that encourages people to be creative and gives artists a way to live while doing what they enjoy - Good growth and learning opportunities

      Cons

      - Change is hard and some people are definitely a bit salty - Your experience can depend on the team, but things are getting more standardized which is nice - The attrition was tough post-layoffs, but has vastly improved - Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company with an improved trajectory

      Nov 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, I'm really jazzed about this company. I was able to see it continuously improve over my time at the company with an increasing level of focus. The new perpsectives of the leadership that was brought in will push the company to get to the next level

      Cons

      Historically had been too much of a consensus-driven culture. Many people are values-focused without an understanding of what the values were or whether they were internally consistent Former employees were relatively entitled and cared more about the perks than making a difference for the sellers or for the company. Many have left and the capabilities of the ones that are remained are bringing up the bar.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Depends a lot on the team you're on

      Dec 11, 2017 - Senior Software Engineer in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Etsy measures progress using good business metrics. Focus on GMS over revenue. Our sellers win when we win Working on an ambulance project was the most rewarding thing I've done at Etsy to date regardless of the circumstances Many solid career opportunities in the wake of all the departures

      Cons

      Retention is a major problem because retention is a major problem. People don't even respond to some of the goodbye emails anymore Dysfunctional "nobody's saying yes or no" decision-making is slowly coming back

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Director

      Nov 5, 2017 - Director in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super creative and supportive team doing great things for great sellers. There's something magical about working at a mission-driven company. The new leadership is taking us to new heights.

      Cons

      Long time employees who got comfortable with doing the minimum are unhappy with the new direction and it's annoying to try to motivate them.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      so much change, so much potential

      Nov 13, 2017 - Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Values-driven company with dedicated, engaged employees. Business model that benefits entrepreneurs wherein we do well when our sellers do well - win/win! People I work with are generally kind, open and trusting. My ideas are taken seriously by my manager and my team and there is room to grow in my role. The recent layoffs and management changes were challenging, but overall I am very impressed with leadership and their clear communication on the direction we're moving in. I truly love my job.

      Cons

      Some long-time employees are complacent and entitled. Offices outside of HQ feel neglected.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Freelancer, more than 5 years

      Like working for Walmart

      Nov 26, 2017 - Production Manager Supervisor in Peekskill, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can make my own hours and production schedule. I don't have to physically be at the Brooklyn HQ. I decide which trends to follow and what items to produce and promote. I get to interact with buyers, sellers and tech people from all over the world. I gain insights into other cultures and mores.

      Cons

      Thanks to a sea change in their business model, Etsy has given up whatever heart and soul it once had and has now embraced the Big Box culture of Ali Baba, Amazon, Walmart and Kohls where it has no hope of succeeding. The authentic handmade, vintage and artisan sellers are what made Etsy great and were the only thing that differentiated the platform from the others I mentioned. The New Etsy does not understand or acknowledge this fact and instead is taking the company head to head with the Big Boys in a battle they can't hope to win. Buyers do not come to Etsy to buy cheap, factory made crap from China. If they want that junk they can easily find it anywhere else online and in the malls. Buyers came to Etsy looking for something unique and one of a kind, the operative word being "came".

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      still lots of potential, still finding its way there

      Jul 24, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      lots of people at Etsy are among the kindest i've ever met. the work leads to some interesting problems to solve, the office spaces are really nice, management tends to listen to buyers and sellers when they can. internal promotions are pretty common.

      Cons

      some perks have been recently cut back to cut costs. understandable, but still unfortunate. travel budget is tough for remote employees.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Slow career progression & bad managers

      Jun 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, work life balance, mission, and positive impact on the world

      Cons

      A lot of bad managers who have no clue how to manage people. People get promoted to or hired for manager positions without regards to their people skills, leading to bad chemistry on many teams. Career progression can be very slow and coupled with below par compensation for many positions, it's hard to build a long term career here. Tooling is falling behind and internal systems are not reliable. Pervasive fear of change and boldness especially due to fear of sellers and an overbearing legal team. Management doesn't listen.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Freelancer

      Perspective from an Etsy shop owner

      Sep 30, 2016 - Anonymous Freelancer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helpful platform for launching/testing product lines in a niche market. You can build relationships with other sellers who share interests and are mutually supportive. Most Etsy customers are pretty cool; motivated, engaged, interesting, knowledgeable, fair. Tip: Learn & use tracking tools!

      Cons

      E-commerce sites evolve rapidly (which can be a pro); so sellers must be prepared to spend significant time keeping up with bugs, glitches, software/strategy experiments, SEO change-ups, etc. Viewed as a valuable learning curve, this pace of change can be useful, but when your business is growing fast on its own merits, a bug/glitch can be a real concern.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Etsy Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Etsy? Share Your Experiences

    Etsy logo
    or