FMC Technologies Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

FMC Technologies Engineer Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 155 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
FMC Technologies CEO John T. Gremp
John T. Gremp
70 Ratings
  1. "Good Company, Good Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to gain knowledge and experience. Great work culture and environment.

    Cons

    High attrition rate. Some department managers are just hard to work with.

    FMC Technologies2019-08-22
  2. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great work and steep learning curve

    Cons

    Too much favoritism being practiced, not that someone will be undermined but some may get undue advantage.

    Advice to Management

    Try to retain good aspiring talents by providing opportunities and not replace them with less "ambitious people".

    FMC Technologies2019-07-16
  3. "Organized and Structured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great design work and atmosphere, hands on experience in shop environment. Learning opportunities abound if you take advantage.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape in the design process, not a lot of freedom to be creative in solutions.

    FMC Technologies2019-06-26
  4. "Pretty good employer with good salary for the location."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff can be friendly. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Management can lack knowledge at all levels.

    FMC Technologies2019-07-10
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, very helpful and kind. If one's dedicated enough, you can learn a lot.

    Cons

    Very few - Less pay and fewer resources.

    FMC Technologies2019-06-20
  6. "Good Company - Management OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Installation Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good people

    Cons

    A very political environment with a Yes man management.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers that challenge the status quo and back your employees in disputes with customers.

    FMC Technologies2019-05-02
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly work environment. Flex time.

    Cons

    Too much politics from the management

    Advice to Management

    Value your people, especially those adding significant value

    FMC Technologies2019-03-03
  8. "Pretty OK Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. 1-1/2 month AWS is very rare. Bonus payouts were OK. Company transport was nice. Interesting work, if you like poring over procedures, specs and drawings all day. There are some rather strange people in the higher echelons of management who never connected with us and said some questionable things, and they never could understand why we weren't happy. However, some mid tier managers and seniors were very...

    Show More

    Cons

    There was a crisis after the market downturn in 2015 (retrenchment, too) and I don't think it was well handled on all levels of management. Production could also have been more systematic.

    Advice to Management

    Can't say I am fit to advise management on anything when I've never been in their shoes

    FMC Technologies2019-01-29
  9. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They offer a good benefit package.

    Cons

    There is a lack of promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Young talent will leave unless you make it worth their while to stay.

    FMC Technologies2018-08-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "How FMC is like the rest of the egocentric companies out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Pay and benefits is decent, but I'm confident I was underpaid There are nursing rooms available at Gears Rd. Gym with locker room is available at Gears Rd. Company culture is good Racially diverse workforce

    Cons

    Finding parking at Gears Rd is difficult if arriving after 9 am. Like every greedy corporation that is publicly traded, you are just a NUMBER and the number of years you've worked with company won't matter when there are workforce reductions. The severance package is TERRIBLE (at least for non-managerial roles) No transferable skills if working as project engineer in CDM

    Advice to Management

    Reduce wait time (18 months) for transitioning to another role. Provide more networking opportunities for employees to see what other departments/roles are like within the company. Increase maternal leave timeframe. Small teambuilding is better than department teambuilding. Why don't you put more focus on employee satisfaction? Less turnover, less need for mass hiring, and a lesser need for layoffs.

    FMC Technologies2018-02-19
Found 155 reviews