FedEx Office Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 of over 2,611 reviews

3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
FedEx Office President and CEO Brian D. Philips
Brian D. Philips
1,267 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, job security, indoors(in 216 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and company to be apart of(in 190 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Other team members have varied level of competency, leading to imbalance of work being done by each(in 150 reviews)

  • "FedEx Office has slightly different benefits than the other FedEx companies(in 116 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      FedEx office

      Nov 14, 2021 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company actually trys to train employees. Goals are clear Benefits are industry standard

      Cons

      Training should be a year long process. It takes at least 18 months or more to be fully functional. While the goals are clear, they are basically unobtainable. Upper management doesn’t really understand economic trends for the districts. It’s great that your benefits package includes two weeks vacation or more, but it’s close to impossible to find coverage for even a single day.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Assistant Manager role

      Nov 4, 2021 - Assistant Store Manager in Tukwila, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent health insurance. Ability to promote within.

      Cons

      Terrible lean staffing model. Upper management guilts you when you try to take a sick day or vacation. IT can't figure out how to activate you or new employees after LOA or hiring.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A very complex job, can be rewarding, issues with management

      Sep 8, 2021 - Store Assistant Manager in Schaumburg, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Printing can be really interesting. You will will likely get to manage yourself a lot which is nice. Can be very rewarding, you will need to learn a lot. Good benefits. Pay can be good for an entry level job but you have to be ready to learn. Corporate environment means there is a solid structure and you can feel safe in your position. They like to pretend like you need to be a sort of super-salesman but you can just tune that out and there isn't an issue

      Cons

      I used to love my job. I'm leaving for several reasons. The main one is that I've had a horrible manager for years and even though multiple people have complained there has been absolutely no improvement. Speaking to the District Manager and HR was a dead end. FedEx Office needs to have a system to hold Store Managers accountable. Currently they can behave however they want and do as little work as they want. Sadly, I've worked with about 6 managers and come across many others yet all have been terrible. They only try to impress each other and the District Manager since it doesn't really matter what their team thinks of them. They all sit and often pretend to work in their offices/desks while their team members do all the work. They've mostly been really truly bad people who don't seem to care about their employees. The problem is that people with a fake, corporate-forward attitude are the most likely to succeed on the store manager level. FedEx Office handled COVID unbelievably terrible. They used it as an excuse to lay off employees, give miniscule pay increases, stop bonuses, and postpone the 401k increase. They did all this while upper management sent emails, what felt like almost daily, around the holidays bragging about how the company was doing better than it ever had before. The company expects you to learn an insane amount to be able to perform an entry level job. Although this can very rewarding once you're fully trained, it's really unreasonable the amount they expect for you to be able to do. I didn't feel like I knew everything until about a year. You will still learn random small things every now and again once you think you've encountered everything. Training a new employee can feel like an extremely daunting task. Working for a large corporation where there are way too many middle-men with nothing to do but come up with ridiculous things can get very old. They once switched around ALL managers who had been at their stores for 3 years just for the F of it. Needless to say, this pissed off a lot of people and customers. Corporate will come up with some random new "tool"/chart every year, pretend like it's the only thing that exists (when there are literally hundred of tools since this is a complicated job), and beat it to death. Then they never retire old stuff so it just keeps piling up. There's an insane expectation to talk about/do literally 7+ (I've honestly lost count) things with every transaction. It is humanly impossible so no one actually does it. Somehow corporate doesn't realize that if they made it more reasonable team members would actually follow the rules and guidelines. They are also constantly pushing meaningless metrics (thankfully you can just tune it all out and there isn't much of an issue) It seems silly to complain about but the tech issues get old really fast. As a mega-corporation, FedEx takes a LONG time to enact any sort of change. We are still swiping credit cards in 2021. Any upgrade that finally comes means there will be plenty of issues and outages. There are continuous tech issues of a wide variety. Randomly something will stop working for an indeterminate amount of time and you have nothing to tell customers besides "we're down. hopefully we'll come back up soon. Don't really know, shrug"

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      It was Meh

      Aug 20, 2021 - Retail Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It gave me the experience that I needed to know that I need to find another job. I enjoyed the people I worked with. Management at store level is diverse and its easier to get hired

      Cons

      There is no life work balance that they claim. I don't know any store manager (unless they have a highly seasoned team or are just a clock puncher manager) in the company that says they have a good balance. They are slow to let you open a job req to replace people. The pay for TM is not the best in our area. While it is a face paced environment they put a lot on the managers with little support. Don't get me wrong I love what I did, and I would never go back to that position. Benefits were ok until the switched to United. HR never wants to terminate anyone regardless of what they did besides steal or have an altercation with a customer. Some of the metric are unreal and the push you continuously, even during COVID. Once you reach a certain level in upper management your in a good 'ol boys club. We constantly hear we matter, but there are no actions beside pizza.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Run

      Jun 27, 2021 - Center Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked with some great people.

      Cons

      Upper management is clueless. TheyFedEx. manage, the monthly audit is more important than sales.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Diverse Company

      Jun 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Lafayette, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      love the diversity, good benefits, great coworkers and in-store management

      Cons

      upper management is out of touch with what happens in-store and it shows in updated procedures. old software and tech glitches make work inefficient

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Do not recommend

      Jul 5, 2021 - Former Store Assistant Manager in Savannah, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits - Health, dental, vision, 401k

      Cons

      If you are not considered a favorite by upper management, you will not succeed. If you're okay with not speaking your mind & doing exactly as told, you'll do fine. If you call upper management out on anything, there will be a vendetta against you until they get rid of you. The tenured team members pay isn't adjusted to fit with the pay rate now, so I was an assistant manager who had been with the company over 10 years, making very close to what new team members make. Pay raises are horrible, at the most maybe 30 cents more every year, if that. Again, pay raises depend on your yearly review, so if you're not a favorite, the raise isn't going to be much. Management was great at one time, not so much recently.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not bad for student or starting out

      May 9, 2021 - Sales Consultant in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, holiday pay, bonuses, tuition reimbursement,

      Cons

      Upper management is slow to respond to needs of stores ie.understaffing. compensation does equate to work load

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      It’s ok. Good and bad

      Apr 18, 2021 - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fulfilling when helping customers. Learning logistics

      Cons

      Poor upper management culture exists making it demotivating.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A company that is horrible at implementing changes.

      Mar 8, 2021 - Center Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Medical -Dental -401k -School reimbursement -Shipping discounts

      Cons

      This can be a very stressful job depending on your upper management. I work at one of the busier centers and things are extremely stressful. Fedex is extremely poor at making changes, often times there will be a major procedural change and their way of distributing the information is by posting the new procedure on a bulletin board, due to this most employees are often unaware of what the new/proper policies are. Fedex's "revenue behaviors" are absolutely ridiculous, they encourage you to sell things that are often times irrelevant to a customer's needs or wants, I understand the need to make a sale (and am good at it) but being forced to offer an unneeded, irrelevant item or services to a customer comes off as disingenuous and said customers are completely aware that you are being forced to sell irrelevant items and are required to use canned phrases in order to sell products. There isn't much room for growth (although they may tell you differently). I've seen people with little to no experience become managers and shift leads, which results in very bad morale among team members. New hires (all positions) usually get paid more than employees wo have been there for years. Fedex is doing a horrible job of protecting their employees during the pandemic. Fedex is one of the only businesses I'm aware of that completely refuses to add any sort of physical barrier between the customer and employee (even after numerous requests countrywide sent directly to higher ups) . This is a very customer facing job that often times requires close contact, Fedex's way of trying to "protect" employees is encouraging them to tell customers to keep 6 feet away from them at all times.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 113 Reviews

    Popular Careers with FedEx Office Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at FedEx Office? Share Your Experiences

    FedEx Office logo
    or