Fidelity Investments Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Apr 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 126 of over 11,084 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Fidelity Investments Chairman and CEO Abby Johnson
Abby Johnson
5,148 Ratings
Pros
  • "lots of internal opportunities for career advancement; good work/life balance(in 1217 reviews)

  • "There are some pretty great benefits(in 1208 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "sometimes less time for work Life balance(in 266 reviews)

  • "Very little transparency with senior management(in 128 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 2, 2021 - Systems Analyst in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company cares for their employees and took excellent care of us during the pandemic.

      Cons

      Job mobility is preached but not as easy as they say it is. Diversity is something that the company is currently working on but you don't see many people of color in upper management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good Benefits, Bad Support

      Mar 19, 2021 - Financial Associate I in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are great, the pay is worth it almost, meeting new people is always a plus, learning new financial information is excellent knowledge to have.

      Cons

      Upper management pretends to listen to your concerns and needs but does nothing, there is no break from constant inbound calls like there used to be with new changes to inner workings, being able to move within the company is almost solely based on who knows who and not based on merit.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sweatshop

      Jan 6, 2021 - Customer Relationship Advocate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Room for growth, their licensing progam, and benefits (only if you stay long enough to keep them)

      Cons

      Mandatory over time, literally no work life balance, never ending calls and rude customers, and upper management who literally states they do not care about you

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work and get your sea legs in the investment/retirement planning world.

      Sep 16, 2020 - Workplace Planning Consultant I in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      support and development benefits are strong great match and profit sharing

      Cons

      political at times from upper management hiring freezes can cause delayed promotions no matter how qualified or successful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Internship at fidelity

      Aug 17, 2020 - Software Engineer Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They treat. all their workers incredible. The atmosphere is extremely comfortable and everybody is provided with state of the art equipment.

      Cons

      As an intern I didn't really see any cons, but I also knew nothing about upper management. but from what I heard and saw everybody seemed pretty happy.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      Aug 9, 2020 - Asset Management Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance and flexibility

      Cons

      Poor transparency from upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Indifference and Abuse

      Sep 1, 2020 - 529 College Planning Specialist in American Fork, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I made some friendships while I was there. Everything related to my actual job was horrible.

      Cons

      The upper management all sort of do there own things and have their own expectations, creating confusion throughout the company. I don't think Abby really has control over some of her subordinates. Site management changed every year that I was there, adding to the confusion. Team managers have entirely too much power and there is very little recourse given to appeal their decisions or seek redress of grievances when they act in an inappropriate manner. The pay is well below industry standards and while you are able to make lateral movements within the company, moving up is EXTREMELY difficult. Pay raises rarely keep up with inflation and while I was there our variable comp was changed making it impossible for anyone to meet the new standards. My pay went down a couple of thousand dollars per year as a result. HR is not responsive and negligent at times. I went an entire year without insurance because I was somehow disenrolled in the plan that I signed up for when I got hired on. HR knew that this mistake had happened and it was documented in their system, but they didn't do anything in time to correct the problem despite my contant pressuring them. The company became even less invested in its employees during my time, essentially turning from a somewhat tolerable work experience into just another high turnover, turn and burn call center.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great Benefits; Garbage Growth Opportunity

      Aug 6, 2020 - Customer Relationship Advocate in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits 401k match Good PTO/VTO Easy paycheck; no brain strain

      Cons

      Call center job No opportunity for career growth outside of the call center Indifferent upper management Boring and repetitive Reduced to a number and your stats No opportunity for projects/collaboration Soulless Information poorly communicated to front line representatives

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company

      Aug 5, 2020 - Director, Software Engineering in Westlake, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      energetic technologists, great community, dress code changed to jeans/polo all the time as of a few years ago, great gym and caff.

      Cons

      upper management sometimes seems more interested in "owning" decision making authority over ensuring the best decisions are made. frequent changes in tech stack directives

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      decent place to work

      Jun 26, 2020 - Software Engineer in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, good perks, good work life balance

      Cons

      Upper management needs to be efficient

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 126 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Fidelity Investments Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Fidelity Investments? Share Your Experiences

    Fidelity Investments logo
    or