Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center CEO Gary Gilliland (no image)
Gary Gilliland
106 Ratings
Pros
  • "FHCRC provides a healthy work-life balance and laid-back academia culture(in 41 reviews)

  • "Nice place to work, good benefits, a lot of opportunities for training(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "Private non profit, admin heavy(in 23 reviews)

  • "Low pay with no opportunities for advancement(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to develop skills and get published"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Technician II in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working here. Great Science, great people. I've learned so much working here. Relaxed atmosphere. Good Benefits.

    Cons

    Its a tough place to stay is if you don't have a PhD. Limited resources for career development. Pay is not competitive.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-10-19
  2. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lab Aide 

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere, but serious work gets done.

    Cons

    Overpriced food and incompetent administration

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-10-09
  3. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - SRA 

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice people and nice environment

    Cons

    Management could be tricky sometimes

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-10-18
  4. "Longevity, work-live balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -work life balance is emphasized -people seem to stay for a long period of time -good benefits -higher salaries compared to other non-profits -Transportation options are good (Orca card benefit)

    Cons

    -parking on campus limited -campus transportation (to and from) in a difficult location

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-10-03
  5. "Love this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing group of people and mentors, really relaxed work culture and great opportunities to expand

    Cons

    not applicable, i really enjoy working here

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-09-29
  6. "Great organization wit senior leadership challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Operations in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission, people, opportunity to influence cancer treatment

    Cons

    many layers of bureacracy for a the size of org

    Continue reading
    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-10-11
  7. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SSAS 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting work. The coworkers are friendly.

    Cons

    Low pay. Commute is really challenge.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-09-17
  8. "Neutral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and access to great opportunities around campus.

    Cons

    Leadership is lacking and take a long time to come to a decision. A lot of talk and no action.

    Continue reading
    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-09-25
  9. "Career Mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Pros

    Admirable goal, friendly people, lots of events

    Cons

    Misleading information from management, nepotism, the promotions are more a sign of friendship than competence. Lessons take years to be learned. My career will take years to recover.

    Continue reading
    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-10-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great research, great people. It probably depends on the lab, but in my personal experience: helpful and friendly environment.

    Cons

    Low pay, no career path

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-08-05
Found 401 reviews