GRVTY Media Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 18 reviews

3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    People centric company

    Feb 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company cares about its employees growth, learnings and happiness. Opportunity to explore different skill sets across departmentment. Approachable and friendly colleagues and bosses.

    Cons

    Company has only 40 people hence limited progression.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company culture

    Jan 3, 2022 - Editor in Singapore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great, close-knit company culture - Relatively flat hierarchy - Great work-life balance with flexible hours - Annual salary increment - Steadily growing company - Learnt a lot through this job

    Cons

    - Low starting pay - Limited career progression opportunities - Basic company benefits

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best work environment

    Jun 12, 2021 - Video Editor in Singapore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everybody are doing their jobs with professionalism and patience.

    Cons

    None for me to be honest.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Biased, clique-mentality management

    May 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You work with young people who have similar interests as you. During my time, I've had the opportunity to work with a really capable manager and a senior staff. Coworkers are talented at something and are willing to teach and share your burden. Some of my coworkers here have become my closest friends now. This place is good for fresh grads who don't mind the average or slightly-below-average salary. To summarize: possibly fun colleagues, below-average to average salary, good place as a first job or a transition job.

    Cons

    - Management seems to take things personally (e.g. when an employee shares an idea, they reject it, but when asked for an explanation, they don't elaborate well. It has happened a few times and questioning them seems to rub them the wrong way). - Management hires too many of their friends and fails to manage them. When fallouts happen, it gets very awkward for employees who are not part of the management's social circle. Not professional behavior. - Management does not prioritize employees' growth, does not invest in them. - Management has made unprofessional comments about my appearance/ personality. Once, during my appraisal, when I asked for their feedback on what I can do to improve my work, they told me a personality trait they didn't like about me. When asked to elaborate, they insisted that it's a rational, professional flaw that affects my work performance. - Management doesn't always give helpful or constructive feedback. They usually criticize and leave you to figure it out on your own. Undoubtedly, it's every employee's responsibility to be a self-starter or self-learner, but the comments they leave either confuse you or go in a completely different direction. - Management sets almost impossible KPIs in a bid to make you fail, i.e. set up employees they don't like for failure. - Management gossips and judges employees. (Granted, this is an observation that happened when I was there and I was personally affected.) - Management has made divisive comments on office culture issues before and then backpedaled on those comments, bordering on gaslighting habits. Not only that, they have caused a rift among employees and misunderstandings that should've been properly addressed. - Management does not value employees' work greatly; there was one incident when a coworker's work was completely lifted/ plagiarised by a rival media brand — with the company's logo cropped out and no credit was given nor asked prior. When said coworker spoke to the management about it, they basically dismissed coworker's feelings and thought of it as not a problem. If you're looking for a place that validates your hard work and respects you as a content creator, please move on from here. - Management has little regard for journalistic ethics. It's there, but very little. It is common to hear them tell their content creators/ producers to do it as a "favor" for clients. Basically, you're just a content machine to them. - Management has poor project management. Despite informing them of our timelines and giving them feedback on how we can better manage our workload, client work and "favor" work are adhoc-like. - Not much of a career growth here. Work at a bigger company if you want to climb the ladder.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A good entry-level stepping stone, nothing more.

    Sep 28, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Relaxed and casual environment - There were passionate colleagues to work with during my time there. - Fun to be part of content creation (at the start) - If you have little knowledge of the industry, it's a good place to start out.

    Cons

    - There is no growth beyond basic skills - There is also no creative growth, most ideas accepted are from the top. These can kill any passion for content creation real quick. - Work will just be routine after a few months - Fair bit of micromanagement in already small teams - Some job position titles are completely inflated in comparison to industry standards - Management is less capable than they believe. Most have limited content creation knowledge but will harp on what they know as law. This in turn affects their outlook and judgement on many things, such as understanding workload and time vs output, and whether expectations are realistic.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not a good place to stay for long

    Sep 5, 2020 - Content Creator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Fun workplace. Young team with nice colleagues. - Most people are passionate about what they do, at least at the start - Mgmt attempts to build relationships through bonding activities

    Cons

    - No clear direction for brands and teams, and management's goals are often not aligned with the teams' - Way too focused on chasing numbers/sales. - Takes away your pride and passion in creation - No sense of pride and ownership in their employee's works - Unrealistic expectations - Remuneration is low - No career growth for individuals at all. Job titles are a joke - Doesn't seem to really value feedback. Vocal employees are seen as 'trouble-makers' and feedback given to them often doesn't result in any significant improvements

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Fun and dynamic but..

    Sep 2, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Meet ppl who love what they do - Good work-life balance - Fun projects - Fun work culture

    Cons

    - Gaslighting, lack of transparency - Projects taken on just for $ - KPI & productivity over welfare & growth of staff - Below average benefits + pay

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Much to learn and be exposed to enthusiastic people!

    Aug 31, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues are welcoming, it's a fun environment and you get to be exposed to the different kinds of media work.

    Cons

    Career progression is limited as it is an SME.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Video Producer

    Aug 27, 2020 - Video Producer in Singapore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good company culture and colleagues

    Cons

    only one toilet, sometimes queue very long

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A great place to start out as a fresh grad

    Aug 28, 2020 - Content Creator in Singapore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - you’ll work with people who really care about their work & the content they put out - colleagues who are genuinely nice & friendly - good work-life balance

    Cons

    - leadership is weak and has no direction - management has unrealistic expectations - remuneration is below market rate - feedback is not taken into consideration

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Popular Careers with GRVTY Media Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at GRVTY Media? Share Your Experiences

GRVTY Media logo
or