HealthTap Employee Reviews about "mission driven"

Updated May 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 173 reviews

2.9
44%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
HealthTap Chief Executive Officer Bill Gossman (no image)
Bill Gossman
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "You’ll work with very smart people who enjoy working together(in 12 reviews)

  • "Everyone in the company is mission driven(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Tough to find a work-life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "You have to be passionate about your role and the product because it is long hours and a large commitment(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "mission driven"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      High performance sports team

      May 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Words that describe working at HealthTap: -Intense -Passionate -Challenging -Rewarding It’s not for everyone- but the amount of growth opportunity, life and career experiences, and incredibly good-hearted people you meet while working at HT are unparalleled. It’s truly a unique place. Bonus being mission driven. Not to mention (both) office locations & fun company culture.

      Cons

      Obviously going through a major shift at the moment with the change in executive leadership. The transition will take time, but it’s headed in the right direction.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      HealthTap Response

      Thanks for your review. We hope you continue to enjoy working at HealthTap.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Some of the nicest and smartest employees I have worked with

      May 1, 2018 - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Mission driven and strong culture and values. 2. Open communications to/from management. 3. Exceptionally strong engineering team. But these are also some of the nicest people to work with. Company values teamwork over brilliant jerks.

      Cons

      1. Artificial deadlines 2. Compensation and benefits are probably below average for Silicon Valley. 3. Above average employee turnover.

      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      One of a kind

      Dec 26, 2017 - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone in the company is mission driven. It is truly amazing to see how everyone cares about the mission and how committed they are. If you are interviewing for the company, please talk to several people so you can see how aligned everyone is on the mission. People make this place a fun and inspiring place to work at. I enjoy every day of my work here.

      Cons

      Parking is getting increasingly difficult in Palo Alto downtown. I move my car twice very day which is a headache.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The best company I've worked for

      Feb 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've recently had to leave HealthTap for personal family reasons and I wish I could stay. It was by far the best place I've ever works for and the best team I've worked with. The CEO and his executive team are very talented and mission driven and working incredibly hard. It's inspiring to the entire team that's creating high quality products at a rate that is completely unprecedented. I loved working on the product - it's super smart and serves a huge amount of people all over the world. And with some current partnerships, some of the best medical institutions in the world too. I highly recommend the company to anyone who's looking for a great place to work, get compensated well, and do good in the world at scale.

      Cons

      I love yoga and would have loved more people in the company to be into it and join me to do it

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Supreme Silicon Valley adventure

      Oct 21, 2016 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HealthTap is a great example of the classic fast-paced, mission driven team of super smart people who believe in a bigger cause and are hustling to make their vision a reality, enjoy nice perks with a dog-friendly office and a lot of sunshine, but are super intense about winning and their technology. Whatever you imagine the epitome of being in a Silicon Valley startup, HealthTap is a perfect manifestation of that dream. Being here is FUN. But you have to be made of the right stuff to love it, like the people thriving here.

      Cons

      The company is evolving quickly. And I have to give it to the leadership team here that it's a lot of juggle and solve for. I think the company can benefit from a few more skilled leaders who can manage and grow teams, especially so there are fewer bottlenecks and constraints.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Dream Job

      Sep 12, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wow. Folks in my team told me that some trolls (probably competitors) are trying to tell false stories about what's really going on at HealthTap- so let me share with you the reality - HealthTap is the real dream job for everyone who's looking for a real Silicon Valley success story of a company that's building value rather than hype. Where else can you find a combination of creating software that impacts hundreds of millions globally, and at the same time work on great products and the latest technology and also have a ton of company sponsored events and outings and lunches and dinners and full health benefits and most importantly, an amazing team, including execs, who are mission driven, always supportive, smart, collaborative and nice. I'm having so much fun every day and that eclipses any hard work that's going into making all of us so successful. It's the real dream job!

      Cons

      HealthTap doesn't have an office in San Fran. I'd love to move to the city and would love to work from there. I've heard from people around that there are plans to open a satellite office in SF (just like HealthTap did in London recently). It would be a great perk to work from London for a bit too :)

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Saving lives every day

      Sep 9, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is the best company in Silicon Valley if you're looking to do something very meaningful and grow personally and professionally. The values of the company that you can easily find by just googling "vision and credo" are upheld closely, and the team member are awesome and very collaborative and nice. The leadership team has been around in the industry for a long time and his highly respected everywhere. The company is constantly growing and moving fast forward, but also takes care of employees on all fronts. There are mentors in all levels, the compensation is fair, the value of the company is increasing all the time, and they give us all the perks that the best startups in Silicon Valley give. But most importantly, it's really mission driven and helps millions all over the world in a very significant way - which is truly inspiring and motivating. Knowing that the work I'm doing is saving lives every day is the very very motivating and cool.

      Cons

      We do work longer hours, but this is typical of a Silicon Valley company, and everyone knows about it when they join. Also, the longer hours are not mandatory - it's more about delivering great results with whatever it takes to accomplish it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Changing the world

      Aug 20, 2014 - Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My first ever truly mission driven company. Everyone is so excited about doing good and helping others (both users and other team members). The team is the best I've ever worked with. People are so smart and nice. Ron Gutman the CEO is a real leader. He will take the company public, and make it a huge global force. He spent 2 hours with me past midnight to talk about things that I wanted to share with him, and then went and improved things given the feedback I gave him. The new product is game changing and the new office is world class.

      Cons

      Working longer hours than in your typical 9-6 job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      True startup, true challenge, true reward!

      Apr 30, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've lived in Silicon Valley for several years and had always wanted to work at a startup. I get a thrill off of new challenges and opportunities for growth, and I believe startups can offer that, and then some. So far, my experience has been what I was looking for. Not only do I get to learn something new everyday, I am getting opportunities to work on projects that are expanding my knowledge base and providing me with a new set of skills. The best part? I work for an organization that is mission driven and is full of people that are working hard to change the word. REALLY CHANGE THE WORLD. It is not an east task and it’s amazing to see how committed and passionate everyone is around here. Some people want to change the world, some of us actually get to do it!

      Cons

      Long hours, if you consider that a con. I knew coming in that the opportunity would entail long hours to get the job done, and I was comfortable with that. Though, I’ve found the company to be flexible enough that I’ve been able to work around the long hours and still have a life outside of work, spend time with my loved ones and even go to the gym 4-5 times a week. We are also moving fast and our lines of communication could be improved. Though, I’ve worked full-time for over a decade and I’ve seen communication needing improvement everywhere, from big to small companies, fortune 500s to family owned. To turn a con to a pro, I also want to tackle improving that! In summary, the GLASS will only be empty if you choose to see it that way. It is up to each individual to make the most of what they have. Startup life is NOT for everyone so if you rather stick to standard work hours, be provided with all the information you need to get the job done, and have the type of structured job that doesn’t stretch you, then this may not be right for you at this time. Startups can’t be startups for life and processes and improvements come from time, experience and a better understanding of what’s in front of you.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with HealthTap Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at HealthTap? Share Your Experiences

    HealthTap logo
    or