J D Wetherspoon "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1233 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
504 Ratings
Pros
  • "salary very competitive for the pub trade(in 100 reviews)

  • "Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity(in 68 reviews)

Cons
  • "Much busier than your average Pub/Restaurant(in 147 reviews)

  • "Long hours with not enough breaks(in 142 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Ok if you have a good boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts Bonus scheme Great training Diverse Employees Fast progress through to management

    Cons

    Long hours Very late nights Pressure to have everything perfect despite circumstances Poor colleagues who don't get punish for slacking off Favoritism comes from the top to the bottom

    Advice to Management

    People first attitude should be applied when it comes to your staff and customers. Keep politics out of the business

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-28
  2. "The working experience at Wetherspoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Crowborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Develop great customer facing skills Work in a hardworking team Develop problem solving skills and ability to think on feet Staff discount

    Cons

    The clientele can be very challenging to deal with Very long hours Low pay Understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Rotate staff better on shift times Employ more staff to deal with footfall

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-20
  3. "Good but hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good bonus if your pub has high standards extra £1 per hour between midnight and 6am

    Cons

    long hours job satisfaction varies from pub to pub.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-25
  4. "Shift Manager/Duty Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Mold, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management feeding on shifts The Management Academy training is great Good/ fast career progression Met some great friends over the years Feel like the company is starting to improve with regards to work/life balance but still a long way to go!

    Cons

    As mentioned above, I do feel like the work/life balance is, albeit, slowly improving however we are still a long way off. Long hours, no management breaks and increasing administration is a problem in a lot of pubs especially Suburb pubs where hours do not permit. Increasing work load from Head Office/Area Management/Regional Management is a problem whilst saving hours...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I understand that we have an associate promise and many pubs have nailed this now. But we need to start looking at a “Manager/Management promise”. Regular audits needs to be carried out to see if the management team are actually getting 1 weekend off a month or two consecutive days off together. This is becoming a tick box exercise and Auditors and area management are not checking this properly and there’s little implication...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-21
  5. "Fun as a part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Waitress 

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Half price food friendly staff always busy

      Cons

      Long hours unfriendly bossy management did not book holiday off asked for

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-11
    • "over worked"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Floor Staff in Ramsgate, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      good pay 12 minimum hours good discount and rewards schemes

      Cons

      long hours bad shift times

      Advice to Management

      .

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-11
    • "associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar/Foh/Kitchen Associate in Cardiff, Wales
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      can meet lots of people due to high turnover

      Cons

      extremely bad management, long hours, bad pay, extremely stressful, bad hours and alot of overtime. Holidays not taken seriously and put off by managers for weeks or even months in my case, instead of properly being filed straight away.

      Advice to Management

      Treat workers right and maybe the turnover won't be so high.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-22
    • "good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      friendly people and management is good

      Cons

      low pay and long hours

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-27

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Thank you for your feedback. Best wishes for the future

    • "Good so far"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      Good pay Large Team Discount food & drink

      Cons

      Long Hours Unsociable Not good training on bar

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-03

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      It’s great to know that the things we have invested in such as rates of pay and employee discount are valued. Thanks for your hard work.

    • "Fast paced and hard work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

        Pros

        Always have something to do. Keeps you fit with all the walking around taking food if you're in a bigger pub

        Cons

        Long hours and late closes can be a drag

        J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

        J D Wetherspoon Response

        May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

        Many thanks for your feedback and hard work.

      Found 1233 reviews