J D Wetherspoon "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1317 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
542 Ratings
Pros
  • "salary very competitive for the pub trade(in 100 reviews)

  • "Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity(in 68 reviews)

Cons
  • "Much busier than your average Pub/Restaurant(in 147 reviews)

  • "Long hours with not enough breaks(in 142 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Better pay than most bars

    Cons

    bad work/life balance but comes with this work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-30
  2. "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Huntingdon and Peterborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus each month

    Cons

    No consistency with shifts, no work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff like they are people not just numbers , take better care of people’s data

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-25
  3. "Okay in-between job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can usually get the time wanted off

    Cons

    Work life balance is hard

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-24
  4. "Shift Manager/Duty Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Mold, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management feeding on shifts The Management Academy training is great Good/ fast career progression Met some great friends over the years Feel like the company is starting to improve with regards to work/life balance but still a long way to go!

    Cons

    As mentioned above, I do feel like the work/life balance is, albeit, slowly improving however we are still a long way off. Long hours, no management breaks and increasing administration is a problem in a lot of pubs especially Suburb pubs where hours do not permit. Increasing work load from Head Office/Area Management/Regional Management is a problem whilst saving hours and cutting costs. No additional... pay or benefits for managers working very early mornings (some 4/5/6am starts) or past midnight. Very hard to get into Retail Auditing/Regional Training/Area Management. There is no clear training development scheme to get into this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I understand that we have an associate promise and many pubs have nailed this now. But we need to start looking at a “Manager/Management promise”. Regular audits needs to be carried out to see if the management team are actually getting 1 weekend off a month or two consecutive days off together. This is becoming a tick box exercise and Auditors and area management are not checking this properly and there’s little... implication for not adhering to this. It is very much money comes before people. Stop worrying so much about hours. Managers and associates are run ragged. The team are going home exhausted because cost savings mean less and less staff. Management do not take food breaks because they have so much pressure on them to be on the floor - whilst completing inductions, reviews, admin, sorting deliveries, orders etc etc, only for upper management to complain that service is slow?? some Area management are completely unreasonable, unprofessional and rude. Wouldn’t it be good to have an Audit process to assess their behaviour towards lower staff in the company?? I wonder how many would still have a job afterwards. They might make use of the people management courses maybe?

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-21
  5. "not the worst, not the best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits, not a bad job at all for young people wanting to start a career

    Cons

    very hard work. work/life balance isn't the best.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-14
  6. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make decent friends, have a good laugh

    Cons

    Pay is awful, there is no work life balance. Expecting to drop everything for them. 90+ hours a week, no progression no matter how long or hard you work,

    Advice to Management

    Respect staff’s need to have a life and give full time staff the correct hours not to all the parttime.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. There are some points you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  7. "Spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free food Busy Fun Good for meeting people Discount Shares

    Cons

    Hours Late finishes Poor upper management Abuse by customers Work life balance

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It’s great to know that the things we have invested in such as shares and employee discount are valued. However, there are some points you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  8. "A good starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Learnt a lot about customer service, gained a lot of confidence

    Cons

    Work life balance was non existent

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-09
  9. "Unfairness throughout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job stability Well paid Good friends to be made

    Cons

    Never stick to their policies Unloyal Poor breaks No well being No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you prwCh

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-27
  10. "Signing Your Soul Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Bletchley, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    The pay is quite decent 50% off on breaks 20% off out of work hours Supportive co-workers

    Cons

    Wetherspoons have a HIGH rating of start and leave and this is very understandable to me after working there. I had one manager who was extremely caring towards me and someone who wasn’t a manager, just a shift leader who thought she was better than Just the general kitchen staff even though we all were doing the same job. I asked for full time and I’m thankful that I didn’t get full time because what I did get... ended up being way too much for me to take. Singing that contract is like signing your life away, they don’t care about a work-life balance. They want your whole life to be about accommodating them. Back to the shift leaders - They are really rude and patronising. I hated the way one of them treated me talking to me like I’m dumb and less than her. You also get in trouble for wanting to change your hours, they will put you on the same job for hours which could be potwash and don’t let you do other things. They will then tell you if you complain that everyone has to do it and it’s not just you but you will notice a pattern of the Jobs they give you. Management also talk about the other employees. You are only allowed a 30 minute break and if you smoke that includes getting out of your kitchen uniform for health and safety purposes but other management will go about three cigarettes within a 2 hour period and wear their uniform. There has to be rules that everyone follows otherwise it defeats its purpose and it’s unfair. Another thing is health and safety - They use the same tongs and oil for the vegan chicken as they do with normal chicken which is disrespectful towards vegans. You are overworked and sometimes are not allowed your break and you have to ask which sometimes they will tell you no and then 30 minutes later take an extra break. Themselves. I would say do not work here. you will become depressed

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let shift leaders know that they aren’t superior to the general kitchen staff who are trying their best. People work at different paces and learn in different ways. Do not tolerate any patronising behaviour and let your employees have their breaks. Do not over work them and actually pay them what they’ve actually earned: do not just randomly choose the pay check. Give the employees CONSTRUCTIVE FEEDBACK, “You are... terrible at this.” “Have you never done A-Z?!’ is not constructive feedback. That will make people leave. This is why you’re always advertising

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-24
Found 1317 reviews