Lidl Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 17 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Ignazio Paterno (no image)
Ignazio Paterno
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and good training given(in 240 reviews)

  • "Good salary and progression opportunity(in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours for each shift, some customers are just a NO(in 169 reviews)

  • "Hard work but still well rewarded(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good training and pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance and good pay and benefits. Received £150 vouchers for working hard through this COVID19 pandemic

    Cons

    Can be very pressured work

    Continue reading
    Lidl2020-04-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nice colleagues"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time

    Pros

    Nice colleagues And good work life balance

    Cons

    Management clueless about direction of company

    Lidl2019-11-20
  3. "purchasing manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purchasing Manager in Galway
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great conditions and work life balance

    Cons

    long hours and nights away

    Lidl2019-10-30
  4. "Progressive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance with a clear expectation from day go.

    Cons

    Relentlessness and goal driven environment.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-11-03

    Lidl Response

    January 14, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for all your hard work over the last decade! It's great to hear that you're happy working at Lidl. Thanks again and keep up the good work. - Corina, Lidl GB

  5. "An ok first job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Attleborough, East of England, England

    I worked at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organized shifts, breaks, work/life balance

    Cons

    vague contract type, no full time, low pay

    Lidl2019-10-30

    Lidl Response

    January 14, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for your review and all your hard work. It's great to hear that you were happy working at Lidl. We wish you all the best for the future. - Corina, Lidl GB

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Pay I ok for job responsibilities. Extremely good benefits package

    Cons

    Poor front line management. Management, front line, has little to no practical experience running grocery stores.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-09-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Its better than What you read here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome work life balance Good pay to start Endless potential for growth

    Cons

    Bad communication between team and senior leadership Not enough developmental time with your leadership Company isnt very transparent everything is a secret

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-07-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northfleet, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some amazing people across the business. Some amazing regions that really seem to care about their people. Some of my biggest support networks were from either head office or other regions. Fairly good work life balance if you work in the regional head offices. Amazing head office l&d team. Great graduate programmes.

    Cons

    Toxic culture. Everyone looks to blame others for their own ineptitude Northfleet specific: Poisonous leadership (1 person in particular). I’ve never worked in an organisation where 1 person has had such a dramatic impact on fluctuation levels and despite it being common knowledge has been consistently allowed to get away with such unprofessional behaviour. Horrendous attitude towards personnel. In 3 years I saw 29 Area managers come and go. Only 8 were on temporary international rotations the rest left because of 1 particular senior manager or because they were managed out of the business with an offer stuffed in a brown envelope and a letter to be signed by a solicitor. I also saw 7 heads of sales come and go and 3 regional directors. regularly had development opportunities either ignored or turned down. UK wide: All CAT 4 manager roles (except area managers) were given a 12% pay cut in 2018.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-07-26

    Lidl Response

    July 31, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and leaving such in depth feedback on your experience. We can see that there were some very positive aspects of your time with us, so would like to discuss the points you've raised that made your experience a negative one overall. If you have the time, please do contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk. Thank you for all of your hard work in Northfleet and best of luck for the future! - Andy, Lidl Gb

  9. Helpful (2)

    "If you don't have anyone at home this is the job for you"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Supervisor in Fredericksburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pays well Lower management cares about work/life balance

    Cons

    No employee discount For management they expect you to give everything you have. I regularly worked 85+ hours weeks and on many occasions I left the store after 3am. They claim to support a work/life balance. It's best if you don't have a family if you're in management at this company. They don't adequately deal with issues that arise in the workplace. IE a manager showing off his bits to temp employees and then firing them.

    Lidl2019-06-18
  10. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Internship in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life Balance Great Work environment Big company

    Cons

    German seems to be required to get promoted

    Lidl2019-04-09
Found 29 reviews
</>Embed