MediaMath Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

MediaMath Reviews

Updated 2 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
MediaMath CEO Joe Zawadzki
Joe Zawadzki
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is also a major draw card; the work environment is very flexible(in 59 reviews)

  • "Amazing collection of smart people, focused on a common goal(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "All good problems - the company is growing so quickly that the dynamic environment can be hard to manage(in 14 reviews)

  • "Growing pains, recent re-organization led to more politics in inter-group relations;(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment Good work life balance Good office

    Cons

    Not public yet Only on demand side

    MediaMath2017-03-15
  2. Helpful (19)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Director in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    Mediamath epitomises the kind of company you would never want to join and empower you with better decision for your future roles- the grandiose of looking great is just a facade. Unprofessional colleagues within the workforce who dont value punctuality and proper language behaviour do brush up the colloquialism of one.

    Cons

    The hiring process is in a mess and the HR in both SG and UK are equally inefficient not only during the interview process, but also during my tenure with the company. It is akin to a bunch of school kids running around inside a walled garden. People within the company possess sky high ego with the mentality that they are talents too hard to miss. Do be reminded that coming from Google does not make you any special unless you contribute positively to the organisational goals and growth. And if you are that good, why did not you extend your tenure with Google? Just one example from the myriad.

    Continue reading
    MediaMath2016-02-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "First experience in a tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MediaMath

    Pros

    Nice open door/barrier-less work environment, great colleagues, no outright office politics, great pantry!

    Cons

    Quiet office for a US-based tech company

    Continue reading
    MediaMath2016-01-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company! Great hiring processes and good exposure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmatic 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    The hiring process was one of the best that I have encountered. HR was very responsive to all the questions that I had. The company really emphasizes on learning and growth and it feels like you are working in the company of some of the brightest minds in the ad tech industry. My interview process was pretty rigorous and that shows how invested the company is in hiring future employees. I had applied online and received an interview call from HR. Once the phone conversation was over I was sent a data set to analyze and present my thoughts on. The next round was a 3-hour interview process that included a ppt presentation to a panel followed by 4 one-on-ones. Enjoyed talking to everyone as it helped me understand more about Mediamath and its company culture. Love the company and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the ad tech industry.

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Continue reading
    MediaMath2019-09-25
  5. "Learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Associate in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience, smart employees

    Cons

    Weak upper management, long hours, slow promotion process

    MediaMath2019-10-02
  6. "Downward trend in employee growth and retention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership is not decentralised and so are the growth opportunities in regions outside the US.

    Cons

    Heavy Top Management and very US-oriented

    MediaMath2019-09-23
  7. Helpful (5)

    "HR and Sales leads a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and learning opportunities

    Cons

    HR is not well prepared, there are kids leading the processes and conversations very unprofessional. Not a real global company, they only care about NY office.

    Continue reading
    MediaMath2019-08-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    - Extremely intelligent group of people who are always happy to help each other - Great culture with regular team outings and and impromptu events - There are many departments in the company so there is always something new to learn - Flexible working arrangements - Highly respected company - Strong relationship with all clients and industry peers

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    MediaMath2019-05-13
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Never ending growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    For the most part, the people at MediaMath are great. Hard-working, courteous, avid learners, etc. There are always a few bad apples that can spoil the bunch. The offices are well-maintained and beautiful, the snacks are good, and the flexibility to WFH or run errands, basically live life when it happens, is amazing.

    Cons

    MediaMath is literally constantly changing something. There is a re-org at least 2 times a year; directives on projects that take a long time to plan and execute are constantly changing. The values are constantly changing. The executive team and other leaders are constantly changing. It makes feeling motivated to do anything difficult and worse, it makes you feel like the work you have put in has been for naught. There are a ton of great ideas at this company, but not enough people to execute, not enough resources dedicated to executing, and too much emphasis on collaborating. It can literally take over a month to get a simple ask approved because about 16 different people need to weigh in. It's a wonder the company has survived this long.

    Continue reading
    MediaMath2019-05-09

    MediaMath Response

    June 4, 2019Manager, HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. While we’re in an industry that’s constantly evolving and rapidly changing, what does not waver is our commitment to delighting our clients and putting the consumer first. In fact, management regularly evaluates how we’re structured, how we’re working to deliver industry leading products and services, and where we can improve. One area we’re focused on is delivering an excellent experience to all employees and it’s feedback like yours that keeps us honest. We recently implemented a new operating model to create more stability and less change throughout the company. We’ve also put a focus on more consistent goals and metrics. As a longtime MediaMath employee, we hope you’re beginning to feel the effects of these changes. Please do continue to provide us with your feedback and reach out to your HRBP or your manager if you have any questions. Thank you again.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Think about your other options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    MediaMath is a 10+ year old startup that still requires investment capital. Why? If you look at ad tech's growth and MediaMath's competitors set, they should be profitable and in a growth trajectory. What will you learn joining this company? You might get the opportunity to fix internal processes, save an account, fill in tech gaps with human power, try different roles, and meet smart people. If you like working for an underdog company, this could be a good fit. You will always be up against Google or other companies that have stronger engineering talent. If you like having constant change, this might also be a good fit. There are reorgs almost every year or reorgs still carrying on from the last reorg. Adtech is always changing and companies like MediaMath need to adapt to both trends and changing political climates.

    Cons

    If you are coming from a more established technology company and you are not looking for an aging startup environment, this will likely disappoint you. You are used to larger organizations with smart people who make logical decisions. There are checks and balances that keep large orgs with good products and market viability in a positive trajectory. This is not that. Instead of making decisions on behalf of future success, many people in power like to go on power trips and set up the company to fail. Read other reviews here. Do your research in the ad tech space. Look at the companies that grow year over year. Dollars are flowing to the companies that have viable solutions for advertisers. Also look into what type of investments ad tech companies take. Some go public (IPO), some get venture capital, some take private equity. Those investments are not all equal. This information is available with a quick Google search. Do you want to work long hours, make meaningful changes in your small sector of responsibility, and be a positive change agent but never receive any praise or reward? You might enjoy it here. MediaMath is medium sized business. That gives senior leadership an unhealthy amount of power. They are a group of like minded individuals that like each other and their own ideas. They do not like outsiders. They do not like to hear constructive criticism. They are quick to adopt a trend or mindset without deep thinking. The middle manager sector of the company is large and unwieldy. Do talk to current or ex employees. Do the same for other ad tech companies. Ad tech firms are struggling as most marketing dollars go to the top three companies. Be aware of double-speak in your interviews. Are they just talking to talk? Are they saying anything of value in succinct sentences?

    MediaMath2019-04-19
Found 302 reviews