Cover image for My English School Italia
Logo

My English School Italia

Engaged Employer

My English School Italia

Add a Review

My English School Italia Reviews

Updated 31 Oct 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 68 of over 78 reviews
3.6
64% Recommend to a Friend
91% Approve of CEO

Found 56 of over 78 reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
My English School Italia CEO Luigi Sguerri (no image)
Luigi Sguerri
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "fun environment(in 3 reviews)

  • "The MyES method is very communicative(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The timetabled hours changed almost everyday so it was difficult to plan my free-time around a change work schedule(in 4 reviews)

  • "Very very low pay considering the majority of teachers are experienced with teaching certificates and Bachelor's degrees(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      No complaints.

      31 Oct 2022 - English Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Seems to be about standard for a private English school. Actual working atmosphere was very pleasant and colleagues nice and helpful. Great first ESL job kind of place.

      Cons

      Pay is average/low, but seems pretty standard among private ESL schools. Hours could be a bit all over the place with long unpaid breaks between lessons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to start teaching

      22 Aug 2022 - Online English Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to learn on the job, the lessons are all done for you so no preparation, the groups are small and you can get to know your students and colleagues well because each school is quite small/intimate.

      Cons

      The management is manipulative and doesn't know how to run a school or treat employees, they cut corners on your salary which is pretty low to begin with. Lot's of pointless meetings and buzzwords and bad communication with the staff.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. Join the My English School Italia team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work overall

      20 Jul 2022 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great teachers, nice staff, compensated pretty well overall.

      Cons

      Expectations on the sales/support staff are very high.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      My English School Italia Response

      Chief Didactic Officer

      Thank you for your review and thoughts on working with My English School. We appreciate your comments on our staff, teachers and pay. While some roles in MyES can bring more pressure at certain times of year, we aim to look after all of our staff, including sales and support staff and would love to know more in order to help. Feel free to contact me if you'd like to let me know any further details Simon Criswick Chief Didactic Officer My English School simon.criswick@myes.school

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun place to work

      13 Jul 2022 - English Teacher in Parma
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun, great for meeting people, and starting your teaching career.

      Cons

      Afternoon lessons were sometimes tiring.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      My English School Italia Response

      Chief Didactic Officer

      Dear Teacher, Thank you for your comments on teaching with My English School. We're glad we were able to provide a supportive and engaging environment for the start of your teaching career. We wish you all the best in future, Simon Criswick Chief Didactic Officer My English School simon.criswick@myes.school

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      DoS

      10 Jul 2022 - DOS 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CPD, relaxed work environment, quality control

      Cons

      tasks and responsibilities are not commensurate with pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      My English School Italia Response

      Chief Didactic Officer

      Dear Director of Studies, Thank you for this comment. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you think about your role in My English School and I'm glad it has been a positive experience. For us having Professional Development for all figures, providing high quality teaching and learning and ensuring staff and students share a relaxed environment are central to what we do. We are constantly reviewing our management roles, including tasks and time management, as well as remuneration and incentives. We will certainly take on your feedback. Thanks again for taking the time to do this, Simon Criswick Chief Didactic Officer My English School simon.criswick@myes.school

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      great place to work

      26 Apr 2022 - Director of Studies in Milan
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun and stimulating environment for all staff

      Cons

      long hours and stress sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      My English School Italia Response

      Chief Didactic Officer

      Dear Director of Studies, Thank you for your review. While management roles can be stressful and have long-hours at some times of year, it is rewarding and stimulating - as you mention - and it's great to see the results of your hard work: happy, well-trained teachers and students who are getting the best possible quality of teaching and learning. Although any new management figures need to know that a DoS or Center Director role will be hard work, we are constantly making changes to the DoS and Center Director role to ease workload and improve the quality of MyES working life. Thanks again for your feedback and feel free to write to me to tell me more about your experience directly, Simon Criswick Chief Didactic Officer My English School simon.criswick@myes.school

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice company

      28 Mar 2022 - English Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun work enviroment, great support

      Cons

      Not the best compensation here

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      My English School Italia Response

      Chief Didactic Officer

      Dear Teacher, Thank you for leaving this useful summary of your experience teaching with us. I'm glad you enjoyed working here and found the training and support to be of a high level. Our pay is in line with national contracts and allows teachers to live comfortably teaching around 22-25 hours per week - which allows for a higher quality of life and the opportunity to be involved in other projects around teaching. Simon Criswick Chief Didactic Officer My English School simon.criswick@myes.school

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      High turn Over

      9 Apr 2022 - English Teacher in Florence
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The method is great, very interactive and - as a place to LEARN English, I highly recommend it.

      Cons

      High turn over, lack of organization (sometimes did not receive schedule until day before work week), many lacked the education and/or training required to do their jobs.

      1 person found this review helpful

      My English School Italia Response

      Chief Didactic Officer

      Dear Teacher, Thank you for your precious feedback, and thank you for your kind comments about our method and approach. I'm surprised about your comment about high turnover, because we have in general managed to keep our teams together during (and despite) the pandemic and in our Florence schools there have been very few new faces in the last 2 years. Our teacher schedule is released on a Thursday before the week as a rule, but respects the contract hours and availability given by the teacher. We do what we can to help teachers and ensure they have regularity in their schedule, with hours always grouped together in blocks (so it's rare to have a big gap between lessons). I'm concerned about your comments on training. We are a school that prides ourselves on training for teaching staff and professional development. If you would like to let me know more about what you mean, I would love to know more, so we can improve or intervene where needed. Thanks again for your helpful comments, Simon Criswick Chief Didactic Officer My English School simon.criswick@myes.school

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Really Nice place to work

      24 Feb 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good support and great place to work

      Cons

      Not enough schools in Europe

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      My English School Italia Response

      Chief Didactic Officer

      Thank you for this positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed the support and environment during your 4 years with us. We are a school that was born in Italy, and has recently grown into Spain and France too. We're growing all the time, especially in Spain and France, as well as Italy, so we really hope to soon say we have plenty more schools in Europe! Simon Criswick Chief Didactic Officer My English School simon.criswick@myes.school Simon

    11. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      okay

      12 Feb 2022 - English Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very nice to with with.

      Cons

      I have no cons. Everything was great

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      My English School Italia Response

      Chief Didactic Officer

      Your review is a little confusing, as the rating doesn't match the comment. Feel free to contact me, if you have made an error or if you would like to make specific comments about your time with us, Simon Criswick Chief Didactic Officer My English School simon.criswick@myes.school

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews
    </>Embed

    My English School Italia Reviews FAQs

    My English School Italia has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 78 reviews left anonymously by employees. 64% of employees would recommend working at My English School Italia to a friend and 54% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, My English School Italia employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at My English School Italia. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

    64% of My English School Italia employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated My English School Italia 2.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with My English School Italia Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at My English School Italia? Share Your Experiences

    My English School Italia logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    My English School Italia Photos

    + Add Photo
    My English School Italia photo of: Myes
    My English School Italia photo of: Lesson Blackboard
    My English School Italia photo of: Lesson area
    My English School Italia photo of: Teacher in class
    My English School Italia photo of: Waiting room
    My English School Italia photo of: Lesson time
    My English School Italia photo of: Myes Dijon
    See All Photos

    Glassdoor has 78 My English School Italia reviews submitted anonymously by My English School Italia employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if My English School Italia is right for you.