Netflix Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Netflix Reviews

Updated 16 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Netflix Founder, Chairman and CEO Reed Hastings
Reed Hastings
615 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Most of the management team has been let go meaning they're extremely understaffed(in 54 reviews)

  • "The SLC call center is not like the Netflix you see on TV or in the media(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture and fantastic Co workers

    Cons

    Culture is not for everyone

    Netflix2019-09-07
  2. "No one replies to you and very selfish mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix

    Pros

    Nice brand name and good product

    Cons

    Employees in SG office are very narrow minded Talent Acquisition team believes that the brand should sell itself and no efforts are made to find the best talent Hire and fire culture

    Continue reading
    Netflix2020-02-16
  3. "Project Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time

    Pros

    Great flexibility and autonomy Good benefits so you are properly rewarded

    Cons

    Make sure you are prepared to produce exceptional work, or else do not join.

    Netflix2020-01-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Netflix full-time

    Pros

    The culture is real.

    Cons

    As the company grows bigger, there are times where the information from leadership does not get cascaded in time.

    Netflix2019-11-08
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Be prepared for abusive directors and young untrained individuals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, stock options, ownership.

    Cons

    Netflix as a company constantly says it is a strong advocate for diversity and inclusion, and do not tolerate “brilliant jerks”, or bullies. Unfortunately this is something that they talk about very often but when situations arises, they would often side with the individual of higher rank. In my 2 years at Netflix, I’ve noticed that you don’t have to be the brightest and smartest person in the room to excel in this company, you just have to be the loudest, and made your presence known in meetings especially the high visibility ones. Directors are often bullies and brilliant jerks, somethings sans brilliant - they are great at politicking and making themselves sound and look good. The director I am working for for example, often makes me solve director level problems. When guidance is needed the answer we get very often is “not my problem”. However if the problem was successfully solved, they would be quick to claim the credit for it as the inspiration that lead the team to the breakthrough. Netflix encourages weekly 1:1s with your cross functional partners and direct managers/directors, and encourages free sharing of ideas and respectful feedback during these sessions. My director however for example would use these sessions to threaten the staff, if too many questions were asked, they would be threatened with termination. Another issue is Netflix loves hiring very young professionals either fresh out of school or individuals on the second job. Hiring of dynamic individuals is great, however it is essential to provide young individuals with the necessary coaching to set them up for success especially when working in a high performance environment where once needs to excel and be able to separate professional and personal feelings. No coaching is provided for these young professionally immature individuals, on top of that they pay them a lot of money that probably warrants more than 10 years of experience. What happens is that these young individuals develop an inflated ego, play politics, gossip, and take everything too personally. The lack of coaching and allowing them to run amok, results in a very apparent bullying millennial mean girls/boys culture. HR is very aware of these problems but employees are often told that they are working on it, but nothing ever gets done. In fact, employees have stopped going to HR for any work issues, because more than often HR would side with the upper management, brand the victimized employee a “trouble employee” and eventually they will be let go. And the reason given to the entire office for their dismissal is that they are no longer excelling in their work, which most of the time is completely false. It’s almost always politics and power play involved. I have witness this happen to many times to so many of my brilliant, hardworking and true stunning colleagues. A few of these unfortunate colleagues were also told by HR upon being let go that even though they are aware of what is happening, their hands are tied and they should just treat it as they are collateral damage. How much you get paid also depends on who you know, and how much you know how to “charm” your bosses and the leadership team. I know of managers who are getting paid 3 x more than directors, because they are great with charming their bosses. How they determine how much each person gets paid, does not depend on experience, skill. It depends on friendships, and how well you sell yourself. The money and benefits are great, but they also come at a very high cost. If you feel you are able to tolerate such an abusive environment, then this is the company for you.

    Continue reading
    Netflix2019-09-20
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Financial Planning & Analysis in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture deck (google it) is real. Dream team, no dead weight, no bureaucracy etc. Plus working in entertainment is fun.

    Cons

    Title deflation + manage less people that you would elsewhere because of the lean org.

    Continue reading
    Netflix2019-03-16
  7. "Not for everyone, but great when it fits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of employee benefits and freedom, and working with some of the brightest minds.

    Cons

    High pressure environment, and can be a culture shock.

    Netflix2018-08-16
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Best job on the planet for work-loving, smart, competitive people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stunning colleague. Freedom and responsibility. Competitive compensation. Travel a lot- if you consider this as pros. Entrepreneurship is indeed appreciated.

    Cons

    Work and life balance; Feels like we always short in people. Getting better but still quite calif-centric. Challenge to maintain the business stability for the transitional period of hires.

    Continue reading
    Netflix2017-09-30
  9. "Great culture, great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open culture, encourage open conversation, transparency, people over rules

    Cons

    open knowledge that the company isn't responsible for your career progressions

    Netflix2017-09-28
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and management team. Gives exposure to its junior staff. Great office culture as well. Much focus on employee's career development

    Cons

    Little flexibility or autonomy to make decisions. Slightly high in micro managing its employees. Highly competitive culture. Watch out for office politics.

    Netflix2016-05-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 912 reviews