Find jobs for Director

Opower Director Reviews

Updated May 2, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 186 reviews

3.3
46%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Opower Founder & CEO Daniel Yates
Daniel Yates
8 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Director, Product Management

    May 2, 2017 - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing team, product / company truly changing the world.

    Cons

    Growing pains of fast-growing company. Now has been acquired by Oracle

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Accoutnant

    Dec 14, 2016 - Staff Accountant in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Was a great experiences and I learned a lot. Great environment where they always have free food avilable and many events

    Cons

    Ability for growth is somewhat limited. Salary is not competitive and work from home should be more of an option

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Out of Control

    Apr 16, 2016 - Accountant in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I learned a lot while I was there and always felt comfortable to be myself.

    Cons

    Initial starting salaries are usually good, but raises are consistently well-below market value. The accounting department is expected to devote their lives to the company, working nights and weekends regularly. But none of this is taken into account when it comes to compensation or promotions. If you do decide to work here as an accountant, expect to be over-worked and under-paid. A few of the mid-level managers are great, but powerless to do anything to help as they are also being taken advantage of by the upper-level management. The company has major issues on a broader level as well. There is absolutely no transparency from upper management. Diversity here is a joke. Members of the executive board regularly make inappropriate comments to female employees. They try to cover up all of these issues with champagne celebrations and extravagant happy hours, but when the stock price has plummeted and they are still not profitable, it feels inappropriate.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful

    Opower Response

    Director, Talent Acquisition

    We’re glad to hear you had a good learning experience during your tenure, and want to offer some comments with regards to compensation. Opower’s HR team rigorously benchmarks compensation each year using two of the industry’s gold-standard surveys. We support a compensation model that rewards high performers and we are also pleased to report that our compensation practices have stood up to rigorous analysis and show no evidence of any gender bias. And we’re rolling out additional training for managers on communication around compensation. Our time to hire for open roles has dropped steadily over the past 4 quarters, further indication that we offer a competitive proposition to employees and a great working environment. We work hard, are proud of our work, are paid fairly to do it....plus we have fun!

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Company with great PR but....

    Oct 8, 2015 - Director in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free snacks Dog-friendly Great place for the young and single Sharp bunch Fraternity like place

    Cons

    Lack of diversity Inconsistent about work flexibility Not great place for people with kids No transparency on upward mobility No flex time No 401K match

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Opower Response

    People Team Representative

    We appreciate the feedback. Our People team is working on a few initiatives for 2016 that will address your concerns - stay tuned!

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    No good ! Think twice before joining this company...

    Mar 11, 2015 - Regional Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good story, seems like the perfect place when joining. Even though the company is now all about making money (perhaps not when the started?) with only ambition to sell the company to the highest bidder, they do as a side effect contribute to more efficient use of energy - which is a good thing.

    Cons

    Horrible way of treating employees. Thought I had seen a lot over the years, Opower is on a league of its own. First clue is the benefits they offer. Not sure about the emp in the US but I hear they also are not very impressed. For the international it is non existent. In the making they claim, growing very fast, drawing behind...but 12 month down the line still NO real benefits what so ever. An no plans for it either, until they are obligated by law ? What !? That is NOT a benefit. Crazy. But when you notice for real, is when you all of a sudden are made redundant. Out of nowhere together with a bunch of others. Then it become clear what the true objective is for the company, they are dressing up the monkey to be sold, and were hoping to do so shortly following the company went public. But that just did not happen, as Opower is struggling to prove they have a business outside of the US. Energy efficiency mandates is one thing, sending paper reports which are state funded. Proving actual value for utilities, is quite a different scope. Opowers "customers", or 12 month pilots are being canceled one after another, and with it goes the stock price for obvious reasons. And I do not blame them, natural order. If one does not add value, or too little, no reason for wasting time and funds.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Smoke and Mirrors Hide the Unpleasant Reality

    Jan 16, 2015 - Director, Client Solutions in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - There are some very bright people - EE and conservation are critical societal goals

    Cons

    - Arrogant, dismissive attitude towards market and utility clients...and some colleagues sadly - Limited opportunity for professional development - Corrosive internal politics - Many of the leaders are very reactionary, play obvious favorites - Work life balance is poor

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A company that ENGAGES.. Addictive!

    Jul 31, 2014 - Sales Director in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart people... I've been working in Intel and Oracle before and the professional level in Opower is even higher. In addition you really feel valued and the management is really helpful. By the way, it's the first time that I enjoy working for a company and I don't mind answering emails on the weekend... Dan and Alex got it! :) When you feel that you are working for a nice company with nice people around and you are decreasing the climate change... What else can you ask for??? :) I would like to add that even the brand is amazing. We have some goodies that are really nice and Opower is now a real brand with some marketing that is awesome!

    Cons

    There are two tiny issues I would complain for... First, there are a lot of internal reviews in a bad moment of the year. Second, the goodies that are sent to the offices out of the States are really poor... We don't get the good ones! ;)

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Opower Response

    Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for this review and such helpful feedback! We've grown so much and want to keep the O experience the same as much as possible across the globe. I'm passing your review feedback to HR today. I am also personally mailing some O swag goodies to London next week. I'll send it to the sales team with a note to ensure whoever you are, you get it! Thanks for being a part of Opower....cheeriO! - Chrissy

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Motivated team, fast-growing but tough business! Need a thick skin to weather the storm...

    May 14, 2014 - Director, Client Solutions 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learning opportunities are phenomenal; Being part of a fast-growing and visible company and doing well has its long-term advantages. This is no more a startup, but a young company. Expect long hours as there is a lot of whitespace and lack of structure (which is a good thing!); Expect to be dropped into the water and learn to swim yourself (also a good thing for the right person!)

    Cons

    Long recruiting process (but feels good to get thru at the end of it); Lot of travel (esp. for Sales roles)

    4 people found this review helpful

    Opower Response

    Employer Brand Manager

    We appreciate the review and will pass it along to recruiting and senior management.

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Watch your back

    Apr 21, 2014 - Director in Arlington, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission driven company (energy efficiency really matters). Most of the individual contributors are smart and hard working.

    Cons

    The management team is duplicitous at best. If you're Director level or higher, watch your back. The C-level team fired a ton of Directors in the 2 years prior to IPO. It didn't matter how much you'd contributed to the company's growth and success. If you were middle management, your head was on the chopping block. Maybe things are better now the IPO has happened, but who knows?

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

Work at Opower? Share Your Experiences

Opower logo
or