Palo Alto Networks Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Palo Alto Networks Chief Executive Officer Nikesh Arora
Nikesh Arora
144 Ratings
  1. Helpful (20)

    "Think twice before leaping"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice campus centrally located in Silicon Valley Great technology stack One of the highest paid CEOs in the world - proud of that?

    Cons

    Too numerous to name. Read the reviews and decide for yourself: Retaliation, intimidation, abuse of power and endless harassment (your attorney will explain the difference in pervasive harassment and illegal harassment, which is almost impossible to prove) HR that is dead in the water Do not be surprised if your manager or director is inexperienced, uneducated, inept, unethical and arrogant - all at the same time Speak up and you will be destroyed - publicly, professionally and thoroughly Join at your own risk Most employees have left to join the competition or go to startups - a once great company now ruined Advice to job seekers? Maybe you should look at the competition or spin-offs from PAN - great people still want to do great work

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-04-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, products and place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks

    Pros

    We are the leader in the market, very forward thinking and disruptive. Great culture, products, people, diversity, inclusion, pay and benefits.... the list goes on and on.

    Cons

    Fast paced, which some may look at as a con. You have to be willing to work hard and learn on your own, but if you’re ok with that, you’ll love it like I do.

    Palo Alto Networks2020-03-09
  3. "Growing fast"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growing fast, successful and good salaries.

    Cons

    Because of the fast growth forgot valuable people.

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-03-08
  4. Helpful (21)

    "Class Action Lawsuit Bound....."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks

    Pros

    Pay, dismal bonuses and no more RSU’s

    Cons

    Retaliatory managers, harassment abounds, HR is garbage and do not listen to the workers that actually do the work. They’ve stacked upper mgmt with clueless and no -technical cronies. Work hours are insane, working late nights and weekends because they can no longer keep staff. Morale has tanked and people are here to survive and pay bills until the COVID-19 crisis subsides.

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-03-26
  5. Helpful (6)

    "New Building, New Culture, but ...."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart people, flexible, great campus

    Cons

    401K not great, cult of personality in many areas

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-03-04
  6. Helpful (12)

    "It was good to start but ...."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great technology, group of people in some areas

    Cons

    No collaboration across teams. Arrogance and condescending attitude from mid-level and upper management. Too many metrics, internal meetings, value proposition to customers not compelling.

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-02-28
  7. Helpful (22)

    "Excellent technology and market opportunity. Poor leadership and a failing culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not sure why I am writing this - I guess in the hope that management listen and make changes? But its clear from past reviews they either don't listen or just don't care. It's a shame, as I love this company. Pros - The technology is amazing and the market opportunity is second to none. The technical leadership from Nir and Lee continues to give us an 18-24 month head start on any other company in our space. It really is something special. Customers love it. M&A strategy hasn't missed a beat. The sales leadership at midlevel (managers, DSM's, VP's) are usually pretty good and do the best they can to keep morale up. The presales organisation is the best in the market. It's extremely well regarded in the market - your external career opportunities will look great when you leave. As soon as you join the quality of companies headhunting you goes way up

    Cons

    Exec leadership. A culture of cronyism, arrogance, politics and empire building which flows from the CEO. He hires his best friend from school into the most senior GTM role in the company who has been an absolute disaster. There is a huge disconnect between those at the top in the little clique, and pretty much everyone else. Not much communication from the top down explaining strategy and decisions. No transparency. We used to have a semi-regular "ask the CEO" call which people loved, I think Nikesh did one and then cancelled it. I guess they say its "not scalable" - Which is basically the blanket excuse for getting rid of anything that has any agility, flexibility or human touch. If you question changes, you are "the past" or "not evolving" or don't have a "growth mindset" - Yeah we get it....change can be good, it was arguably needed to take us to the next level, but that doesn't mean this is positive. Why don't you ask people what the mood of the company is beneath you. HR is broken, from an EMEA perspective anyway, but also seems to go higher. Self serving, self important and not helpful at all. The person they have brought in to lead it in EMEA is arrogant, political, and tries to tell sales leadership what to do and what is best, but with absolutely no clue of the market or even what we do as a company - spouts soundbytes without context, it's embarrassing. No-one in leadership trusts anyone in that team, which is just backwards. So much red tape being brought in. Rules for everything, not much autonomy within the business to actually make decisions. Endless process.

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-02-12
  8. "Cyber Security Company doing tranformation"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SE Director in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is good solution and direction

    Cons

    the culture are total change

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-02-26
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Good company bad management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities, fast paced and fun environment

    Cons

    Inexperienced management, rushing into decisions without much forethought. Pay rises are bad, promised but never delivered with increasing responsibility.

    Palo Alto Networks2020-02-24
  10. "Excelent product and strategy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great future for cybersecurity, incredible vision, and future proof technology.

    Cons

    Company in cultural transition, a lot of changes.

    Palo Alto Networks2020-02-20
Found 553 reviews