RBC Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

RBC Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
RBC President/CEO David I. McKay
David I. McKay
1,507 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Managing Director Financial Institutions APAC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Regional Exposure to diverse client base and products

    Cons

    Limited depth of credit and risk appetite for Canadian Conservative Financial Institution

    RBC2018-09-03
  2. "WM Front Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at RBC full-time

    Pros

    Good work and life balance.

    Cons

    Lack of strategy for Asia.

    RBC2019-05-18
  3. "No progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RBC full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance Seldom work overtime

    Cons

    Poor management from head office

    RBC2019-05-03
  4. "Worst Strategy Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Jurong West New Town, West
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The location of the office is decent

    Cons

    - management has no clue about the strategy - front office does not have the needed connections to bring in assets - only focus on cost cutting - worst bank when it comes to playing politics

    Advice to Management

    - do your job and don't listen to all the people that are just spreading rumors around.

    RBC2019-04-07
  5. "Senior client representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time

    Pros

    Only Work life balance, other than that nothing to complement

    Cons

    Low budget, employee progression limited, no support and appreciation from associate director, not a place to stay for progression

    Advice to Management

    Review talent pool

    RBC2018-05-26
  6. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager Officer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a good work life balance

    Cons

    Difficulties in implementing process improvements

    RBC2017-07-29
  7. "RBC is a great place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance and competitive salary

    Cons

    Little emphasis on the local environment that the bank is operating in and too much emphasis on head office

    RBC2017-07-26
  8. "Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time

    Pros

    Works like a small family with fun friendly people. Good staff welfare esp company DnD.

    Cons

    Sadly jobs were made redundant.Management did their part in retrenchment package.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on staff retention

    RBC2016-10-25
  9. "mid level professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at RBC

    Pros

    - remuneration package is competitive

    Cons

    Outside Toronto office - No talent management - No strategy from management - Each department works in silos - Processes are seeming in place like most FIs but hand-offs are grey and hence often fall through the cracks - Disrespect behaviours are condoned depending who you know.

    RBC2016-09-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Comfortable pace for Assistant RMs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Relationship Manager in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance: plenty of team meals/gatherings esp during holiday seasons, 2hr lunch acceptable, not much OT needed HR does try to organize events or training seminars once in a while. nice colleagues in general but it really depends on the RM you are serving. Wonderful Singapore Branch CEO who is very on the ground and cares for the team's welfare, amazing lady.

    Cons

    Substantial politicking , just like every other bank. Banking system and processes can be considered sub-par compared to other private banks Rigid procedures at times and it hinders work a couple of nasty people but no one speaks up against them cos of their intangible power (e.g. a certain PA). work can get monotonous, but it's a stable job for the assistants. RMs however have a higher KPI sales target to meet. management/HR will try all means to cut cost due to the ever rising competition in the industry, rather petty in my opinion.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Too focused on driving revenue such that there's no distinct culture within the bank. but i guess it's common in the financial industry.

    RBC2015-05-23
Found 4278 reviews
</>Embed