Rio Tinto Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Rio Tinto Engineer Reviews

Updated 13 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 83 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Rio Tinto CEO Jean-Sébastien Jacques
Jean-Sébastien Jacques
20 Ratings
  1. "Electrical Engineer Student Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Electrical Engineer Student 

    I have been working at Rio Tinto

    Pros

    Was hands on experience and was a good working experience

    Cons

    Lots of employees work over hours,

    Rio Tinto2019-09-14
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Graduate Mechanical Engineer in Ulaanbaatar
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full of challenges and learning about new technologies everyday.

    Cons

    Work hour is long for Oyu tolgoi in Mongolia. And roster is too long far from home.

    Rio Tinto2019-08-23
  3. "Great benefits, poor business architecture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer EIT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full benefits package available, very stable job

    Cons

    Mismanagement and politics plagues the company

    Rio Tinto2019-08-18
  4. "Global mining company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed office with diverse skills on offer

    Cons

    Lots of change and some politics

    Rio Tinto2019-08-05

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for being a part of Rio Tinto for several years. We are always looking to improve the way we do things and this does sometimes result in change. We appreciate your comments.

  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, schedule, benefits, bonuses, vacation

    Cons

    Travel time to work, weather

    Rio Tinto2019-06-28

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for being a part of Rio Tinto and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your contribution!

  6. "Good salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Environmental Engineer 

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well paid and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    The environment working in the field is not quite good

    Rio Tinto2019-06-18
  7. "No issues but just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Good safety culture below average pay

    Cons

    Just a number basically just be a good little worker bee if that's your thing.

    Rio Tinto2019-06-04
  8. "Vacation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Vacation Engineer in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto

    Pros

    Excellent company culture for vacation/graduate engineers Opportunities to work on impactful and complex projects Fantastic vac pay grade

    Cons

    Did not provide help with relocation/rent/transport Did not get as much site experience as I'd liked

    Advice to Management

    More support for vacation students would make the program much more competitive over other companies

    Rio Tinto2019-05-10
  9. "mining engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mine Engineer 

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Robust system, Safety critical,

    Cons

    Lots of Bureaucracy, Less pay

    Rio Tinto2019-05-10
  10. "Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reliability Engineer in South Jordan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Global company, so lot of opportunities to learn other business processes through global mobility

    Cons

    Not the best competitive salary compared to competitors. No effort from leaders to retain excellent latent

    Rio Tinto2019-01-12
Found 83 reviews