River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "40% staff discount after working a month(in 133 reviews)

  • "There is 40% discount off for employees and there is a uniform allowance every three months(in 125 reviews)

Cons
  • "Fast pace can mean long hours depending on team(in 53 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I've learnt a thing or two within their stock operations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocks Operations Assistant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have seen how flexible their overall operations can be, whether it is in front of customers or in the background scene.

    Cons

    I generally do not have any cons regarding this company, but if I were to mention one, it would be that the break times for employees aren't that good.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe management can do something about the regulating of break time for employees, as it can get pretty bad from what I have experienced and heard.

    River Island Clothing2012-10-02
  2. "Good shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Showroom Consultant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful clothes fabulous selection stunning

    Cons

    expensive poor quality not enough big sizes in store

    Advice to Management

    Make the clothing more cheaper

    River Island Clothing2019-12-05
  3. "Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    40% discount, uniform every 3 months, family feel

    Cons

    lack of equipment, lack of communication

    River Island Clothing2019-12-06
  4. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time

    Pros

    decent pay and discount for staff

    Cons

    staff make or break the job

    River Island Clothing2019-12-05
  5. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Quality clothes, good offers, wide range of clothes and sizes.

    Cons

    Not everyone can afford it

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    River Island Clothing2019-11-30
  6. "Don’t know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, fast paced, fun, energy, busy

    Cons

    Busy, stressful, not at all of breaks

    River Island Clothing2019-11-28
  7. "great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not too much responsibility, age of workers is relatively young

    Cons

    lot of standing on feet for long periods of time

    River Island Clothing2019-11-28
  8. "Alright but it could be way better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    40% discount Uniform allowance The other employees

    Cons

    Shockingly low paying for the work the staff do,

    River Island Clothing2019-11-26
  9. "Sales associate River Island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Good pay Nice environment Nice

    Cons

    None Very positive experience Nice

    River Island Clothing2019-11-26
  10. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    uniform allowance, room for progression, great clothes, very organised

    Cons

    communication not always great

    River Island Clothing2019-11-26
Found 999 reviews