Robert Walters Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Robert Walters Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 498 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters CEO Robert Walters
Robert Walters
305 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and a lovely working environment(in 32 reviews)

  • "Good training, great culture and opportunity to progress in your career in Australia or overseas(in 25 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As a former long term employee, having started at RW as a Consultant, I have seen the company more than double in size, to the current point in time where the company is the most successful it has ever been. A key element of that growth is the company policy to not make acquisitions in order to grow. The growth is organic, with Consultants being promoted internally and trusted to start new teams / offices /... countries which means you can have a fantastic, long-term career with RW, with international opportunities should you wish. It's a genuinely stable company with exceptional training and plenty of support for those new to the recruitment industry, including a large back office to allow you to get on with your job. Due to the organic growth model, there's a brilliant culture which is carefully nurtured - It's team based which means it's a nice place to work and it's highly likely you'll make life-long friends here, as the vast majority are like-minded positive, ambitious people which is infectious. The offices are stunning, there's lots of incentives and recognition for a job well-done and you can earn good money too, while being involved in Corporate Social Responsibility activities. Prior to leaving RW, there was a focus on mental health and flexible working practices which was most welcome.

    Show More

    Cons

    Robert Walters isn't perfect (I don't believe any company is), but it's run by good people so while there may be frustrations at times, it's important to trust that the company will have your best interests at heart and to go with the flow and stay positive. Those who have a negative attitude won't succeed at RW. In order to have a career at RW, you're going to need to work hard and long hours may be involved. This... isn't a 'con' specific to RW, it applies to the recruitment industry as a whole as it's highly competitive and it's an industry where whatever you put in, you get out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Robert Walters2019-09-07
  2. "Great progression & development opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really progressive culture, with a management team committed to finding the best ways for you to progress in the way that you want. I joined the business as a Consultant with 2 years experience & have been given the opportunity to grow & establish my own team in a new market - which you just wouldn't get in a lot of recruitment businesses. Fantastic brand that's instantly recognisable An adult... recruitment environment that isn't all about metrics & KPI's, but actually about output & billings A great marketing budget that gives you every tool to find common ground with clients & candidates & grow meaningful professional relationships Great overall salary package with lots of flexible benefits

    Show More

    Cons

    Some people in the past have struggled with the lack of structure around Business Development & the amount of freedom given to consultants to run their own desks. To be successful you need to be really committed to success & disciplined to follow up leads & opportunities on your own steam.

    Robert Walters2019-09-05
  3. "Great culture for a recruitment firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    Colleagues are very open in sharing & collaborative

    Cons

    Management still a bit old school

    Robert Walters2019-09-19
  4. "Genuine Career focused brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I genuinely believe there is no better Recruitment company based in the UK for career progression, organic growth and entrepreneurial support and encouragement. Our culture. Having worked for another international recruiter within a Senior Management capacity/number UK biller and having friends in other competitors, I am extremely confident that Robert Walters has one of the best team cultures possible, I believe... this is what gives us the edge with our staff retention but also creates a better and more efficient recruitment team. Its certainly been the USP from my offices which has helped us take market share and have zero turnover in over a year.

    Show More

    Cons

    Our bonus structure to the external market can get bad press but if you have worked here you'll know that actually our bonus's are good and our overall OTE vs billings are higher than the majority of our competition add to that our opportunities for organic growth, our marketing and events strategy/team, team culture, work hard/play hard attitude, flexible working and empowerment for those with entrepreneurial... drive....we are at the top of our game!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging the commercially focused and driven individuals who have a genuine passion for what they do. We are only as good as the people who work for us. Do not become too admin/BI focused as this can hold back the work force and give a genuine false view of what's happening on the ground. Lets learn from competitors constant mistakes and continue to push forward.

    Robert Walters2019-09-03
  5. "Excellent progression opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Working culture - Corporate Hospitality - Rewards

    Cons

    Not really any to report

    Robert Walters2019-09-03
  6. "Fantastic Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment Fantastic scope for progression and development No KPIs Exceptional client and candidate events Great earning potential and high basic salaries Easily one of the best benefit packages around

    Cons

    Bonus structure could be slightly more transparent

    Robert Walters2019-09-02
  7. "Good company culture and growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    RW is a global firm. With such a large presence internationally, we have the benefits of leveraging best practices from around the globe and apply them to our local businesses. The team in Toronto is professional and hard working, they strive for excellent customer service and building and maintaining strong relationships. The management is supportive of peoples goals (personally & professionally) working... together to help consultants achieve success. Everyone works towards a common initiative which helps drive strong business values and outcomes. As a newer business, there is plenty of opportunity for growth, both as a professional and as an organisation, this is an exciting aspect for those really looking to make an impact.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Older systems. As a larger company, it takes a bit longer to make changes to systems or certain processes. This is in the process of being changed - but will take some time. Brand Awareness - as a new provider in the recruitment space, we are working on establishing a name brand. This will take time and is part of the process. The nice thing, is that it is being done the right way.

    Advice to Management

    - Continue to provide opportunities for entrepreneurial spirit and thought to help drive business process & improvement.

    Robert Walters2019-09-16
  8. "Corporate and professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to progress within the company, good benefits.

    Cons

    Pooled bonuses can allow you receive a lower bonus if the team has not done well.

    Robert Walters2019-08-21
  9. "Good for training/starting out in recruitment but not for the long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Parramatta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good structured training schedule when you start out in recruitment - You will be introduced to a good client base and will learn the basics

    Cons

    - Very KPI driven environment - Phone times, number of calls and CV's sent will all be monitored and tracked - Catch-ups with management weekly (micro-management environment) to discuss KPI's (as above) - No flexibility or opportunity to work from home - Lunchtimes have to be split amongst the team so that there is phone cover - Commission structure is "team based" meaning you will never really earn more... than 10% - no flexibility around working hours you will have to be at your desk for 8am and you can't finish until 5:30pm - promotion is based on merit rather than merit and attitude/ ability to lead which means people end up in management roles who have little or no leadership skills - strict "uniform" like policy meaning suits are expected to be worn, not allowed to have facial hair and brown shoes are not allowed - No client negotiating power everything has to be signed off at Director level and they are not flexible on fee % meaning you will miss out on high volume SME clients - no independence or trust amongst Management and Employees

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need to get with the times in regards to working environment and flexibility. It feels like a school environment with set times for lunches and working hours as well as the micro-management environment. Management need to trust employees and should focus on outcomes rather than number of calls made. I remember wasting time on the phone just to have the phone times up for no other point than to hit a KPI - ridiculous!

    Robert Walters2019-09-03
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing culture - everyone who works at RW makes friends for life. - Training is great - Company takes feedback really well and always try to better things that are flagged - RW puts on lots of really fun social events -Facilitate international opportunities

    Cons

    - lack of transparency re bonuses - but it didnt really bother me that much to be honest. - Success of the business is in Finance and if you're in a non-finance part of the business, it is really hard work.

    Robert Walters2019-08-16
Found 498 reviews