Santa Cruz Biotechnology Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Santa Cruz Biotechnology Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
22%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Santa Cruz Biotechnology President John Stephenson (no image)
John Stephenson
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "There was frequent free food in attempts to boost employee morale in lieu of raises(in 26 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, fast-paced, good work environment(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "no upward mobility and no raises(in 20 reviews)

  • "The so called "raise freeze" (that coincidentally happened as soon as Obama got elected) has done a number on employee morale at this company(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Don't ignore the flags"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Solutions Architect in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can only speak to the Dallas location. Great people in house. Lots of college kids. Lot's of opportunity to take charge if you're tenacious and entrepreneurial.

    Cons

    Owners are a bit eccentric, but friendly. I was originally hired to help take over some of their existing systems and improve them / develop new apps. I instead often found myself on many days driving hours to the owners private residences to do things like troubleshoot satellite TV and change batteries in remotes, replace broken iPads, etc, while they weren't there. I'm sorry, but being in your bosses house alone is just weird and opens the door for so many weird accusations and things to happen. I was expected to provide minor IT support to the Dallas location when . It eventually blew into full blown IT support, climbing around plugging things in, etc. On top of that, groups of people suddenly being fired without explanation, as well as overhearing sales people talking to their supervisor about how they've been stiffed hard earned bonuses and trying to work out strategies for getting them or else they'd quit. And the management just letting them quit instead of paying out. The whole place was a sea of red flags.

    Continue reading
    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2020-01-17
  2. "SCBT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Product Assistant 

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance and friendly co-workers

    Cons

    No room for growth within the company

    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-09-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time

    Pros

    Easy interview process and doable job training

    Cons

    Bad pay, horrible communication

    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-08-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Horrific Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vet Tech in Weatherford, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent living conditions and beautiful ranch, nice horses

    Cons

    The owners are as crooked and evil as they come. They have enough money to be above the law, and treat their employees awful. Look up their animal abuse case and the fines they had to pay. And the ranch manager is psychotic. She is a narcissist who manipulates others to do her job while she takes credit. Has no idea how to run a successful breeding program. Will fly off the handle and scream at you, belittle you and call you names. Run as far away as you possibly can from this place.

    Continue reading
    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-06-28
  5. "okay first job, not much room for growth or pay increase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Santa Cruz, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good industry experience for resume

    Cons

    Most people working here struggle to make ends meat

    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-04-30
  6. "Lack of Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology part-time

    Pros

    It's a job and has a paycheck.

    Cons

    No culture with this company, and departments are split with little to no communication.

    Continue reading
    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-04-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "I regret it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the fellow employees are decent, they usually didn't bother me.

    Cons

    Pay is horrible. Basically a dead end. Their idiot of a CEO and upper management don't give a care for their employees.

    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-03-25
  8. "Its OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Assistant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food, great schedule, cheap snacks

    Cons

    No management training. Takes forever to fire bad employees

    Continue reading
    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2019-02-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Everything you’ve read is true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time

    Pros

    They won’t let me post unless I write 5 words so here you go: not a damn thing bro.

    Cons

    No raises, customers are the worst, no room for growth, and terrible management and owners. If you like being yelled at for nothing and constantly being worried about being fired at any given moment for no reason, this is the place for you!

    Continue reading
    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2018-12-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Paso Robles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Santa Cruz Biotechnology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clear assignment of duties and an overall friendly work environment. A core group of really great peers to work with. Could look good on a resume for experience, though full range of experience and training is limited.

    Cons

    I was hired knowing the terrible reputation this company holds and it meets that standard. Pay is not only bad but it is a known thing among employees to keep close track of hours and vacation accrual since those are known to not add up correctly (it happened to me twice and in my last week a worker had to contact HR about it for her). Employees leave frequently for better paying jobs so the coworkers you work alongside are constantly changing. Many employees here have a side gig that earns them more money than working at this international scientific manufacturer. All word and evidence on the CEO of this company point to him being impossible to like, and the state of the company right now reveals that he probably isn't only a jerk but in over his head trying to run this company. On purification assignment I would work alone on a long bench with no one within 50 feet of me because so many other departments have been shut down/streamlined. Management seems to lack some basic scientific concepts like how concentration works, making it very difficult as a worker to know how to make proper dilutions. They also believe serial dilutions are more inaccurate than pipetting 1uL into 10mL. Local management is also all married into the same family so don't face any consequences when they do things wrong. Prevailing sense of being "stuck" with no opportunities here. Only work here with an escape plan.

    Continue reading
    Santa Cruz Biotechnology2018-11-01
Found 168 reviews