Schneider Employee Reviews about "dispatch"

Updated 17 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 1K reviews

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Schneider CEO Mark Rourke
Mark Rourke
181 Ratings
Pros
  • "If you have a great dispatcher or driver business leader, you will love your job(in 58 reviews)

  • "Awesome place to work, great people(in 43 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "low pay per mile, freight going to north east(in 40 reviews)

  • "Dispatch is illogical and sporadic(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "dispatch"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Invasive policies and lack of integrity

      8 Jul 2020 - OTR Team Driver in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have a very thorough training program. Might be a good fit for a nervous new driver that wants CONSTANT feedback and doesn't mind micromanagement.

      Cons

      This is the most invasive trucking company I've encountered. They call you constantly about safety issues as minor as 1mph over recommended speed on a slight curve or freeway interchange. Dispatch is illogical and sporadic. Lot of waiting around. Last straw was that they refused to pay a promised referral bonus.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst job I've ever had in my life.

      14 Feb 2020 - OTR Team Driver in West Memphis, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Literally none not a one

      Cons

      I could sit here all day listing cons. How about crappy equipment? That they refuse to service. Whenever they do finally service yet. They will not pay for your hotel room. You have to pay for it on your own. No reimbursement. Or anything I have had 2 dispatchers so far and they were both horrible. Purposely making our lives as hard as possible and giving us some no runs whatsoever. And blaming the economy They have literally been trying to make us quit. It's been confirmed by another dispatcher Never been treated so bad by a company in my life. Our average load is 4 to 500 miles live load and live unload with several day delivery schedule and where a team

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Beginner job

      17 Jul 2020 - Truck Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good place to start at

      Cons

      central dispatch is bad. Little time off.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Run away!

      10 Sep 2019 - Class A Truck Driver in Glendale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not having to work there ever again

      Cons

      Their drivers are a number, they expect you to sweat instead of sleep (No APU's, Idling is governed to shut off after a couple minutes), dispatch pressures you to run while fatigued, they run dangerous equipment, they have zero tolerance for newbie mistakes and will fire you leaving you stranded, because they have lines out the door of other inexperienced government-funded CDL graduates that they can replace you with. They short-change you on your final check knowing you don't have the time and resources to battle with their legal team. Wages are pretty close to minimum wage, except you get no overtime like you would in a traditional workplace. They give less than 72 hour notice of any layoffs happening and make no effort to reassign dislocated workers.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Schneider Response

      Corporate Recruiter

      Thanks for the review and feedback. This type of behavior does not reflect who we are and we have a dedicated support team to help with concerns like this. We can assure you one of our core values is Respect for All.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Too much hassle

      8 Jul 2019 - Truck Driver in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The consistent pay and benefits helped while working

      Cons

      Pushy dispatchers would make you take runs you didnt want.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Schneider Response

      Digital Media Representative

      We care for each and every one of our drivers and work hard to make the driver experience better so we appreciate your feedback. And we are sorry you had a bad experience with your dispatcher. Truck driving can be hard and it isn't for everyone. Take care.

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Intermodal Driver

      8 Aug 2017 - Local Truck Driver in San Bernardino, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You go home every night. That's it.

      Cons

      The hours are long and they pay is insulting. I work in San Bernardino, CA and we're paid $10.50 an hour plus load pay and miles. Management wants the drivers to work a minimum of 10 hours a day even when freight is slow. They've crafted a method of dispatching to ensure that they get 10 hours of work out of you. Load pay ranges anywhere from $20.50-$30.50 based on how long you've been there. They also have a performance system in play that adds up to $6 in addition to your load pay if you can manage to hit a targeted number combined of several categories such as your, (days work, MPG, over speed, and preventable accidents). The mileage pays $0.10 a mile so racking up on miles is a no go here, which sucks because we frequent San Diego. The office personnel doesn't care about any of your grievances, they'll tell you anything to get you out of their face. The office personnel dislikes the fact that you make more money than they do and their not afraid to let you know either. The dispatchers dish out loads at random so don't be surprised if they want you to go from Moreno Valley, CA all the way to Compton, CA (about 80 miles) to pick up a load. This place sucks.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Misleading recruitment and support for major on the road maintenance

      7 Oct 2018 - Professional Truck Driver in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice trucks, if everything works.

      Cons

      Bad trailer maintenance, no support from DBLs/dispatch and/or after- hours support personnel. They do not support or trust their drivers who have to make key decisions on the ground to support the customer and the company mission.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Schneider Response

      Social Media Coordinator

      Thank you for the review. We have a top-notch maintenance program and do our best to keep our trucks and trailers moving but like anything mechanical, equipment does break down. We're sorry you had that experience and feel that we don't support you. We absolutely support our drivers and expect them to make the right decisions regarding what's best for themselves, the company and our customers. Take care and drive safe.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Driver Manager

      15 Dec 2015 - Driver Manager in Green Bay, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, 401K match, good amount of vacation and most co-workers are easy to get along with.

      Cons

      Does not value education and it is difficult to move up. This is the perfect place to work if you want to make a lot of money without going to college. They do promote a lot from with in but it is a lot more about who you know than who is the best for the job. They claim that there isnt really hierarchy, "you should think of it as a jungle gym instead of a ladder". Typical large company that talk about its "values" all the time but doesn't follow them. I have seen driver reviews on here about their DBLs and dispatch. They are absolutely right, I was forced into the position with no ops experience. I had 4 days of training, which consisted of me sitting there watching someone answer the phone. Then, on my 5th day I was given 40 drivers. I consistently said I wasn't comfortable, but no one seemed to care. Even though I now know what I am doing, 40 drivers is way too much for one person. And a lot of people in the office absolutely treat the drivers like crap. I would love to quit but I can't affor to.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It's all about the almighty dollar with them

      11 Sep 2012 - Driver in Columbia, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Schneider will hire anyone with any or no experience.

      Cons

      They first tell you that you can make up to $60000 a year. You start out at 28 cents a mile. You average about 2000 miles a week. At 52 weeks a year...you figure it out. To make that kind of money you would have to work for Schneider for 20 years and I've spoken to drivers that have and they don't make anywhere near that much ($20000 less a year). After you get raises your miles go down. They lose so many drivers before a year is up because they get no miles. They constantly hire new (inexperienced) drivers because they don't want to pay the extra money for experienced drivers. New drivers get a lot of miles at first because they're cheaper to pay than old ones. The dispatchers (DBL's) do not care about your problems or miles. They are taught the things to say to you to keep you quiet. It's really bad. I've almost completed my 1st year with them and I'm looking for another company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Much improved experience this time around

      23 Oct 2014 - Truck Driver in Green Bay, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Always pay on time, good benefits, good training, consistent work. Hard work is rewarded and recognized, and my leadership team knows me by my first name.

      Cons

      Support shift (second and third shifts), have very little decision making power, or will to make decisions. Keep your dispatchers cell number handy. Maintenance is slow pretty much everywhere. Be prepared to sit/layover if you have anything remotely serious wrong with your truck.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

    Work at Schneider? Share Your Experiences

    Schneider logo
    or