Schneider Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated 13 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Schneider CEO Mark Rourke
Mark Rourke
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Schneider has many really great people(in 37 reviews)

  • "Good home time for dedicated, get paid well if you run(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay for positions compared to similar roles at other companies(in 40 reviews)

  • "Dispatch is not very knowledgeable(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good for beginners"

    4.0
    Former Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Houston, TX

    I worked at Schneider full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, good miles, terminals in almost every state

    Cons

    low pay per mile, freight going to north east

  2. "Good for initial experience, but not to stay"

    3.0
     

    I have been working at Schneider

    Pros

    Training, experience, nice helpful people

    Cons

    Low pay, micromanagement, too big

    Continue reading
  3. "Rn"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Schneider part-time

    Pros

    Coworkers were always so helpful.

    Cons

    Low pay So turn over rate high

    Schneider Response

    March 23, 2020Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your honesty and work hard to ensure we are competitive with pay in today's market. We also work hard to make our associates feel appreciated and enjoy coming to work every day. We wish you all the best.

  4. "They are all the same, low pay and they don’t care about you. Want you to run otr or pay you $900 gross weekly"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Truck Driver in Charlotte, NC
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schneider

    Pros

    Benefits and a $500 weekly paycheck

    Cons

    Revolving Door You are shipped in and out like cattle You are just a warm body They honestly DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU Very low pay Very low pay Pay The pay

    Continue reading

    Schneider Response

    May 6, 2020Corporate Communications

    Thanks for the review and feedback. This type of behavior does not reflect who we are and we have a large driver support team to help with concerns like this. We can assure you one of our core values is Respect for All.

  5. "Terrible to drive for, low miles, never received hiring bonus"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Company Driver in Gary, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schneider full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Safety and training program

    Cons

    Low miles and low pay

    Continue reading
  6. "Room for growth/promotion"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schneider full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Typically start in an entry level position with lots of opportunity for promotion and growth. The company really invests in you and your growth and development.

    Cons

    Low pay for positions compared to similar roles at other companies.

    Schneider Response

    October 25, 2019Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback and review. We review pay weekly to make sure it's competitive in the marketplace. We have an open door policy and always want to hear concerns like this from our associates. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback.

  7. "Long hours expected for low pay"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schneider full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constant work that’s about it

    Cons

    Expect too much for low pay

    Schneider Response

    September 25, 2019Digital Media Representative

    We are so glad you were always rolling while you were a driver here but we are sorry you feel our pay was low. We are constantly evaluating pay and ensuring that we are competitive within the industry. Pay is based on driver experience and the account. Best of luck and drive safe.

  8. "Entry-Level"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Fontana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Schneider full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work if you shuttle trailers back and forth. As workload increases, SLIGHTLY higher pay. Management ok.

    Cons

    Easy work=very low pay. They get away with paying drivers such a small wage because they take drivers straight out of driving school. Turnover rate is extremely high. Supposed to be "slip-seat" and no seniority, but of course that's not the case.

    Schneider Response

    August 8, 2019Digital Media Representative

    Thank you for the candidate feedback and review. We know we're not perfect in everything we do but we are listening to drivers to make Schneider better. We have a hire-to-retire philosophy and many drivers that have over 10 or 20 plus years with us. Thank you and drive safe!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "It was okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Newton, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schneider full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed dedicated routes. The training was very good.

    Cons

    Low pay. Six day work week. Forced into seeking other employment after refusing sleep apnea sleep study from a survey. Was retaliated against after declining an unsafe assignment. Waited on loads for a week twice before i returned the tractor and trailer.

    Continue reading

    Schneider Response

    June 11, 2019Digital Media Representative

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry you felt this way. Safety First is our number one core value that includes our drivers and others on the road.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not A Good Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schneider full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stable Company, Respected, Better than normal safety, Ok Trucks but only the newest trucks have refrigerator or inverters. Has many terminals.

    Cons

    Low Pay, Poor Management, No Longer a Blue Collar Company, Too Many Graduates who think they are smarter than you, Abandoned while Traveling for Schneider Business, Support Services from Green Bay is Terrible, Unrealistic expectations, basically a very cheap company, No Consequences for Lying Leadership, 110% Turn Over Rate, Onguard Braking Malfunctions alot - no remedy - The basically have failed to properly implement a true LEAN environment and now have a defective trucking culture that is in digress. No money to be made here. no longer an industry leader. Went from Great to just Ok. Many terminals are just nasty and unhelpful.

    Continue reading

    Schneider Response

    May 21, 2019Digital Media Representative

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry you felt this way. Drivers are the lifeblood of our company. We know trucking can be tough and that's why we have a huge initiative to make the driver experience even better at Schneider. And our driver leaders and all associates work for our drivers. Best of luck to you and stay safe.

Found 40 reviews