Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,637 of over 3,024 reviews

4.4
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines Chairman, President & CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1,788 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits and competitive pay(in 258 reviews)

  • "Perks- 401k match, Employee Stock Purchase Plan, Flight benefits(in 191 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Mandatory overtime, working in inclement weather(in 97 reviews)

  • "you start at low pay but with time you can make some bank(in 59 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      Southwest Airlines, Unparalleled Opportunities

      Jun 23, 2021 - Senior Avionics Engineer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros of working at Southwest Airlines (SWA) were too numerous to count. We worked hard, but had fun & there was always a true family atmosphere. There were also unlimited possibilities for learning & growing in your career & at all levels I always felt I had just as much authority & autonomy as I was willing to work for & take on. I was with SWA for 24 1/2 years & worked in a wide range of maintenance related jobs & environments, starting as an A&P Mechanic & ending as an Avionics Engineer. I never would have left if SWA hadn't offered a stellar early-out package in response to the COVID crisis which enabled a long dreamed of move to Ireland.

      Cons

      I can honestly only think of one minor downside to working for SWA. When I started we had a fleet of about 200 aircraft. When I left it was a fleet of about 700. There was a very, very tight family atmosphere when I started & some of that was lost with the growth. Note that I said some, it was still very much present, just diminished, an unavoidable side effect of growth. The bottom line is that SWA always was & remains an exceptional work place. I never would have left if they hadn't offered a stellar early-out package in response to the COVID crisis which enabled a long dreamed of move to Ireland.

      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Loving it

      Sep 19, 2021 - Regional Sales Director in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free travel and great benefits

      Cons

      Workhorse life, but you are well compensated

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company

      Sep 20, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Work/Life Balance, Ability to work from home, Great Work culture

      Cons

      Below average compensation and 401K benefits

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Fun

      Sep 19, 2021 - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Flushing, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for could not ask for a better job

      Cons

      Non! It’s only bad if you want it to be

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing company, great work experience

      Sep 18, 2021 - Associate Data Scientist in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of data to analyze, love my job, decent management that wants to see you grow, salary, 401k match, decent PTO accrual, flight benefits, alteryx & tableau

      Cons

      Can be a little fast paced with deadlines, handling multiple projects at once can be a challenge. Complications that come with not the cleanest data sources

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Best Job I ever had

      Sep 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No glass ceiling Great community spirit

      Cons

      Sometimes pay is based on how long you’ve been with company as opposed to talent driven.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Life as a FA

      Sep 16, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work and life balance Pay is great and so are the benefits

      Cons

      If you have a family it can be hard being away sometime

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company, Good Culture

      Sep 16, 2021 - Ground Operations Agent in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great 401K match and profit-sharing. Free/deeply discounted travel.

      Cons

      The busier stations are more metric-driven. The passengers can be very abusive and leadership isn't responsive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Room for growth

      Sep 15, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      employees are treated well union great benefits

      Cons

      company morale has gone downhill with covid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best job

      Sep 15, 2021 - Ramp Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free flights great benefits work with planes

      Cons

      Scheduled is bad for new hire

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,637 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Southwest Airlines Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Southwest Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    Southwest Airlines logo
    or