Stand for Children Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 of over 31 reviews

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Stand for Children CEO Jonah Edelman (no image)
Jonah Edelman
20 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A dynamic and supportive place to work!

    Jan 7, 2022 - Marketing and Communications Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stand for Children Tennessee is involved in tons of projects around Memphis and Shelby County, and every day brings something new. We work on youth justice, equity in education, disrupting the school to prison pipeline, improving justice/safety in the broader community, and graduation/literacy success. I love working for a company that's so dedicated to racial equity, and the staff has been very supportive and welcoming in my first weeks here.

    Cons

    I'm looking forward to returning to in-person activities in the coming months - this work involves a lot of time on the computer, and it's always nice to break up screen time by working on projects with different teams. I'm really happy with Stand's attention to safety during the pandemic though, so overall it's the best choice to be virtual while COVID cases are still rising.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Incredible Place to Work

    Oct 5, 2021 - Peer Success Coach 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Equity focus, Great people, collaboration

    Cons

    I have none at this time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Stand for Children is an excellent organization to work for!

    Aug 24, 2021 - Success Coach 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great medical HRA/HSA package Great PTO The HR dept is very organized and made on-boarding a breeze

    Cons

    I have not come across any downsides/cons as of yet

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Smart people doing important work

    Aug 24, 2021 - 9th Grade Success Coach 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stand for Children's Center for High School Success is dedicated to improving outcomes for kids. Specifically we want to increase the graduation rate by increasing the number of students who finish their 9th grade year passing all their classes. Stand and CHSS have a work culture that embraces each person's humanity, is friendly and yet relentlessly focused on our mission.

    Cons

    Haven't run into any cons yet.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Inspiring, Strategic, Smart, and Sustainable Educational Supports

    Aug 13, 2021 - 9th Grade Success Coach in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing to be a part of an organization focused on structural work and policy geared at educational equity, successful and strategic implementation and coaching of evidence-based practices, and continual improvement through thoughtful evaluation and improvement science.

    Cons

    Adapting to COVID is challenging for our partner schools, but we're adapting alongside them as partners.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good experience

    May 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Got good experience relatively early in my carer, met and worked with wonderful people

    Cons

    Micro-managing and misalignment at the highest levels of the org meant that highest performers were always going to hit a ceiling and then leave

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    few advancement opportunities

    Feb 22, 2021 - National Office 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great work/life balance, solid benefits package

    Cons

    organizational culture is sterile, senior management team is not terribly collaborative

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good job

    Dec 17, 2019 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people and good work that is done

    Cons

    long hours lack of communication

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Worked here for over 9 years

    Aug 10, 2019 - Finance Team Member in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hard working, creative, talented staff. Always looking for the best way to impact children's lives for the better. Great salary, benefits and team culture.

    Cons

    Have to be able to shift gears quickly. High turnover for some types of positions.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    More negatives than positives

    Sep 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunity to work from home, great staff, and great members.

    Cons

    National team is out of touch with reality and often leads campaigns.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

Popular Careers with Stand for Children Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Stand for Children? Share Your Experiences

Stand for Children logo
or