Swiss Chalet Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Swiss Chalet Reviews

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
37%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Swiss Chalet CEO Chester Hryniewicz (no image)
Chester Hryniewicz
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours and the benefits were not so good(in 6 reviews)

  • "They give little too no training then laugh at you when you fail(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Got a really good work ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cook in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swiss Chalet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can handle rushes and stay calm without getting overwhelmed, one ticket st a time slow and easy wins the race

    Cons

    Is it bad if I’m not sure of any?

    Advice to Management

    You would be making a really good choice adding me to the team :)

    Swiss Chalet2019-12-02
  2. "SERVER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at Swiss Chalet part-time

    Pros

    Easy work and nice people

    Cons

    Wish there was auto grat

    Swiss Chalet2019-11-23
  3. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time

    Pros

    Good tips Flexible hours Opens later

    Cons

    Owners could care a bit more about their employees. Mean coworkers

    Swiss Chalet2019-12-03
  4. "Good people and a dependable company for a minimum wage job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in St. Catharines, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was very reasonable for the job that I was doing and considering I was a new hire with no experience. Management was very reliable and understanding, and my coworkers were dedicated people. The owner of the restaurant I worked in was clearly determined to meet the standards set by the company for quality control and customer service. The kitchen was very clean and well equipped, and ingredients were always... fresh and well stocked. As a beginner line cook, I found learning the techniques of a fast-paced kitchen job pretty easy to pick up, as the work flow was well organized.

    Show More

    Cons

    Personally, I didn't like working for a large chain restaurant that seemed to prioritize profit and getting customers in and out, over making particularly good food and making the most of their resources. The amount of food waste from the rotisserie chickens was disappointing. Also, there weren't any benefits offered that I knew of, only a pithy employee discount on foods from Swiss Chalet or any sister restaurants... under the corporation umbrella. Furthermore, I don't see many opportunities for advancement or even creativity/individuality in this position.

    Show More
    Swiss Chalet2019-11-07
  5. "Front line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Line 

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, decent hours, good management

    Cons

    Overly hot in the back

    Swiss Chalet2019-11-20
  6. "no salary increase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Prep in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nice co-worker...atleast for starting job only for job experience.

    Cons

    no salary increase. not for life time work.

    Swiss Chalet2019-11-11
  7. "Part time employee at SportChek"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My former employees, they were very outgoing, great customer service representation and just an amazing environment overall

    Cons

    Rude customers, extended hours

    Swiss Chalet2019-10-28
  8. "Well..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scarborough, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Swiss Chalet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice kitchen and serving staff. 50% off food when on duty for most food. Free beverages. The owner was nice too.

    Cons

    Extremely terrible management. Yelled at to the point of crying. Being blamed for things that are not your fault at all. Contradicting the work you should be doing, i.e.: Do a dining room sweep. Don't sweep right now! You're not keeping the dining room clean. There will always be crumbs don't worry if there are crumbs . Expecting you to multi-task things you can't do, i.e.: Do your side work, clean the washrooms.... DON'T LEAVE THE PODIUM! Bus the tables! You're not supposed to be cleaning right now! Give you condescending remarks: What the hell man?! Stop sleeping, wake up! You guys can't do anything right! Hello?! My manager would always roll her eyes when speaking to me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop yelling at employees. Teach them how to properly do the job described by job title and not focus on side tasks. When someone is new, if they make a mistake be calm and tell them how to fix their mistake and what to do instead in the future. If you can't handle pressure of high volume of customers, quit your job. Stop rolling your eyes. Stop giving condescending remarks to any employees. Have some respect for... god's sake. Grow up.

    Show More
    Swiss Chalet2019-10-28
  9. "good if student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Mississauga, ON

    I have been working at Swiss Chalet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time, nice wokers, close to transit

    Cons

    Low pay, mismanagement, stress, grease hands

    Swiss Chalet2019-10-22
  10. "Fun workplace and good skills to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server in Brampton, ON

    I worked at Swiss Chalet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management was chill, work was fun

    Cons

    Hours got long some times

    Swiss Chalet2019-10-03
Found 180 reviews