Tesco Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Tesco Reviews

Updated 29 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Tesco Group Chief Executive Dave Lewis
Dave Lewis
2,471 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible and good pay for the work you do(in 786 reviews)

  • "Decent pay for a part time student and relatively flexible working hours(in 321 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tesco full-time

    Pros

    Good for first job - spend a lot of time teaching you the ropes

    Cons

    Back when I was there, salary wasn't as competitive

    Tesco2018-12-17
  2. "Good work culture with focus on latest technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tesco full-time

    Pros

    Good work culture with focus on latest technologies Onsite opportunities

    Cons

    Not in particular as Cons.

    Tesco2019-10-30
  3. "Interior Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interior Design Professional in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tesco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenge Interior Design and gave new career.

    Cons

    As a interior Designer must do the best for all about design detail.

    Continue reading
    Tesco2018-03-17
  4. "Marketing senior specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tesco full-time

    Pros

    good team members, good working hours

    Cons

    bad benefits and work structure

    Tesco2015-04-13
  5. "Great service, efficient and quality food for the price."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Tesco

    Pros

    Clean, quality food, value and efficient staff.

    Cons

    Organisation, time management, punctuality friendly

    Continue reading
    Tesco2020-03-29
  6. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tesco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time and a half on weekends and bank holidays

    Cons

    Getting moved about department alot

    Tesco2020-03-29
  7. "Flexible for education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managers always respected that my education was priority and ensured I wasn’t allocated too many hours. Tesco pays all employees the same wage regardless of age, so I recommend this employer to 16-20 year olds.

    Cons

    Wage is not competitive enough with other supermarkets.

    Tesco2020-03-29
  8. "Mr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tesco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lots discount and Tesco club card

    Cons

    Competitive, good communication with the costumer

    Tesco2020-03-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Delivering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Goole, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Tesco is one of the biggest companies and is currently under a lot of strain under the circumstances. I feel I will be kept very busy working with Tesco and I am looking forward to working with customers. I am wanting to support the community at this time by delivering food to their door to prevent the spread of Coronavirus! The pros to working for Tescos are massive!

    Cons

    The downside to working at Tesco at this current time is that it will be very busy and stressful especially with everything that's happening at the moment, however I work well under pressure and as I normally work as a contractor I am used to travelling all over the country.

    Continue reading
    Tesco2020-03-21
  10. "Good supportive place but poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Stafford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tesco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team Leaders are friendly, you get to know them personally and made great friends with the staff Hourly pay is above average compared to other companies Opportunities to progress up to management and train in different departments Regular, generous breaks Generous sick policy and got a bonus for hard work with coronavirus Very fair discipline policy

    Cons

    Genuine improvements are often shunted because 'expensive' but managers and CEO gets bonuses and raises, and the shop floor staff are ignored Sometimes hard work is unnoticed and we get a generic written letter in the staff hallway from store manager Store/ senior manager don't help on the checkouts but make decisions about what we need to do more of/ different when they don't understand the pressure we are already under. Older technology isn't upgraded so slow/ frustrating experience

    Continue reading
    Tesco2020-03-28
Found 6758 reviews