The Mark Travel Corporation Employee Reviews about "travel benefits"

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 160 reviews

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
The Mark Travel Corporation Chairman, President, CEO, and COO William E. La Macchia (no image)
William E. La Macchia
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "Even though I have only been working here for a month, Mark Travel is turning out to be the great company I always thought it was(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great travel benefits/opportunities(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The Mark Travel Corporation is always growing and is sometimes difficult to keep the appropriate amount of staff needed(in 10 reviews)

  • "Not necessarily a con but people should be prepared for how big the travel industry is and understand that they'll have to learn a lot(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "travel benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      The company that was.....

      May 29, 2020 - Customer Service Supervisor in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I started with the company Bil Sr was in charge. It was a good company and it just got better over time. Travel benefits were outstanding! Medical and vacation benefits were superior. I was there nearly 20 years and I saw things change dramatically. Note my reviews are of the time I was there, before the down hill slide

      Cons

      HR personnel were all replaced (or quit) . They were caring people then they put in short sighted idiots. By looking at the review responses I can see Jennifer is one of them. And Bill Jr couldn't ever run a company the way his father did. I have heard they sold out. Probably the best move that could have been done. It seems like they went down the same road that many do into corporate crapsville. Appears that maybe the kids took after their mother and became self serving minions Too bad they took that road. though I am sure they lives of luxury.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Engagement Specialist

      Dec 5, 2017 - Engagement Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Wellness program, good travel benefits

      Cons

      No growth opportunities on engagement teams, the only way to move up or earn more is to change teams or leave, the engagement teams are seen as the 'dumping grounds' for creative requests when in all reality there is a lot of strategy behind everything that gets put into the market place.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      Manager Corporate Communications

      Hello! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback, truly. I agree that we have a great wellness program & travel benefits– definitely a perk to working at LME! Regarding the comment on not having growth opportunity at the company, we are always looking at ways to help our teams grow and challenge the status quo. Currently, we are working on ways to create more flexibility within roles, and are seeing if there are unique ways to create more opportunities for growth. As a Travel Agency Engagement Specialist, you make impactful decisions about our B2B engagement day in & day out, and your leaders know this. You role extremely important, not just to the Travel Agency Engagement team, but to the organization as a whole. I would also question – how long have you been with the company or in your current role? I think it’s important to put in the work and build a strong portfolio for yourself prior to advancing, and that typically takes a few years to establish. Thanks again for your review! – Sara, VP – Travel Agency Strategy

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Group Sales Representative

      Sep 4, 2017 - Group Sales Representative in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome team members and managers. Organization of the department is decent. Great travel benefits/opportunities. Managers usually always have their employees backs. Only on the incoming line for a couple of hours a day, allowing you to get quotes out and work done by the end of the day.

      Cons

      Old office, pay is very low for how much work and stress involved in planning the group vacations with travel agents. Software is older, because they have their own technology company, sometimes it takes forever to get quoting done and out to agents in a timely manner.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      Manager Corporate Communications

      I greatly appreciate you taking time to provide feedback on your experience working in groups at Mark Travel. We use all feedback as a great opportunity to learn from our team member’s experiences to help continue to grow and evolve the department. Thank you for the kind words on the leadership team. As an organization, we are lucky to have a fine team of leaders that aren’t afraid to get their hands dirty and do what is necessary to support the team. The comment I enjoyed most was on your experience with the other team members. I consider myself very lucky to be able to work with such an outstanding and hardworking team each and every day. As a department we have grown a lot over the past few years and it is the energy and passion of the team that has been the biggest driver of that growth. In terms of the items you have listed as cons, again I appreciate you being honest with your feedback because this is how we are going to continue to grow. The technology piece is something we have and continue to invest heavily in and have made some tremendous strides over the past couple of years. We have many team members within groups that have commented on how much better the technology has gotten which in turn has allowed them to be much more efficient with their daily tasks. While a lot of progress has been made, there is still more to come and what gives me great confidence is the organization’s commitment to groups and their willingness to continue to invest in the team and technology we are using. In addition, we have received a lot of feedback recently from travel agents that are using our new group booking platform and they have been commenting about the ease of use and ability to be much more productive in booking groups. Travel agents have stated we are far and away ahead of our competition when it comes to group technology. With all that being said, this is something we will continue to invest in and I am really excited about what the future holds for our technology both for our team and for the marketplace. Your comments about pay is something we look at closely as an organization and are often evaluating and adjusting pay scales to ensure we are compensating team members appropriately for the tasks they are performing. Discussion of pay can be a difficult one, but I can say that I wouldn’t have just celebrated my 15th anniversary with the company if I felt the organization wasn’t fair with my compensation or more importantly my team’s compensation. My greatest priority as a leader in groups is centered around the team and their wellness. Ensuring the team is being compensated fairly is certainly an important aspect of that. One other point to make in regards to pay is centered around something I am very passionate about and that is the opportunity for continued advancement within the organization. There certainly is great opportunity to grow within the group team to achieve a higher level role and subsequently higher pay. In addition to this, with Mark Travel being such a large organization, there is also great opportunity to continue to grow your career in other departments as well. Over the years, we have had numerous team members be promoted from within groups and also have had team members take roles outside of the group team to further advance their career. Our leadership team is always very supportive in discussing with the team on the different opportunities both within and outside of the team in regards to future professional growth. As I started out, the only way we are going to continue to grow is to listen to those that are most important, our great team of people. I do hope your new endeavors are going well and appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. All the best, Mike E – Director of Groups

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      ITS OKAY

      Aug 4, 2017 - Customer Care Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ONLY PRO IS WORKING FROM HOME AND TRAVEL BENEFITS .......................... THERE IS NO OTHER BENEFITS OR PROS THEN THE ONES I JUST USED

      Cons

      No help and a high turn over rate . ITS A LOT OF FAVORITISM WITHING THE COMPANY IT WAS A GIRL COMING INTO WORK WITH NAME BRAND CLOTHES HAT AND SHE NEVER GOT SPOKEN TO ABOUT IT . They Schedule mandatory overtime so you have to work that then in addition to the mandatory overtime it really does not count as overtime if there's a schedule holiday so you just pretty much working extra hours for the company before letting you work from home they would rather hire a new training class then sending the people whose been working there for years home. There is one particular person who has been working there for over 20 years and she still is a customer care specialist she has said numerous of times that she's tried to move up in the company and they have kept her at her desk which is sad . The people in accounting is very rude and the people in the air department is beyond rude you would literally call them be on hold for 30 minutes and they will turn around and ask you well did you try to do it yourself. I kid you not other than that the company is OK but my words my advice to management would be to hire a new air team and hire a new accounting team .

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      ccs

      May 20, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      met great people that have turned into life long friend ships, good training program and a lot support to new employees

      Cons

      mandatory over time, extra work, no wage increase or very little 1-3% after a yearly review declining travel benefits.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      SVP and Corporate Counsel

      Hello and thank you for providing your feedback. It's nice to hear that your experience was positive for building relationships and for development. I'm surprised to read no wage increase because we've done regular compensation reviews for our positions and we ensure we are industry/market competitive. Additionally, annual increases average nationally around 2.3-2.5%. We do look at compensation for our team members based upon performance. It's not automatic that a team member will get an increase. As for your comment of declining travel benefits, that simply is not true. You may be referring that in the past we had more options for team members to travel on charter seats. However, we do not operate as many charters as years past. But other than that we still retain a robust offering of Friends and Family Travel Specials. I don't know what your cryptic statement means it would be great if everyone would be on the same page..." but I would really appreciate hearing more about this. Communication is always the key. That's also why our first core value is ASK. I appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback and would love to hear more about your experience at TMTC. Should you ever wish to talk, let me know. Kind regards, Jennifer La Macchia

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Customer Service Rep

      Sep 9, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice co workers and trainer, ability to work at home, travel benefits

      Cons

      Mandatory Overtime, extremely long hold times to get thru to internal depts, and computer issues.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      SVP-Human Resources and Corporate Counsel

      Hello and thank you for your feedback. I am very glad that you enjoy your co-workers and other staff. Work at home agents provide us great flexibility for our customers and agents and is our largest group of customer care agents. Mandatory overtime is something that is a reality here. It's the nature of a 24 x 7 x 365 world that travel is. On the plus side, it's job security, but we do understand it can take a toll. That is why we stress in our hiring stages that this is a requirement. I regret that you found this work experience to be one that did not suit you and you feel we are a company not to be recommended. We do value all constructive feedback and we do hope our prospective, current and former team members keep asking great questions and sharing their very valuable perspectives. All my best to you, Jennifer La Macchia

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      So far so good!

      Aug 23, 2016 - Post Travel Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was really excited to start working for TMTC. It's been a great place so far. They really take care of their employees. I also love that they have so many wellness activities around the campus. Employees are encouraged to participate during the work hours too. Travel benefits are great too and paid time off is very generous. Lindsey from the HR department was amazing during the hiring process. My case tool a little longer since I worked in a different country, but she kept me up to date during the process.

      Cons

      I haven't been here long enough to find any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I've never been so inspired!

      Jan 10, 2016 - Director in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great travel benefits; amazing coworkers; a lot of awesome structure and process in place to build growth; terrific wellness programming and resources; fun

      Cons

      There is a lot of work to do and it often never ends (because people plan travel outside of work hours as well).

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      VP-Human Resources and Corporate Counsel

      Hi and thank you for providing your valuable feedback! Welcome to the team! We hope that you will find that as the years go by in your tenure that you continue to grow and succeed here. I know you know that we can't say the workload will ever slow down since it's only been growing and growing for 42 years. But we are about balance and we certainly encourage lots and lots of vacations. Thank you for such kind words, we are so proud of our team and dedicated individuals like you. All my best, Jennifer La Macchia

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Group Sales

      Nov 30, 2015 - Group Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone has been great and willing to help. I have learned a lot and feel I'm getting the hang of things after 2 months of working here and not ever working in travel before! The travel benefits and opportunities are second to none. Lindsay was great when I got hired and within the hiring process. She is very honest and kind, and will find a good place for whoever she brings in. I felt I was prepared before my first day with her advice and help!

      Cons

      The only Con I would have to say is it took a little bit longer for the background check to process, I was just anxious to hear back though! :)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Awesome vacation benefits, not so great pay.

      Jun 10, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel benefits, fun product to work on, laid back atmosphere, great vacation benefits.

      Cons

      Low pay, not the greatest benefits, small company mentality.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the benefits at TMTC. We're glad to hear you thought the product was fun to work on and that the travel perks were great; however, we have reviewed our compensation to be competitive in the market, and are proud to say that team member health insurance premiums have not increased in seven years. Our benefits team is always available to answer questions about our benefit offerings and is open to hearing feedback on our various options. We're not sure what cons specifically you found in the "small company mentality" so are unsure how to address it, but appreciate you taking the time to review.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Mark Travel Corporation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Mark Travel Corporation? Share Your Experiences

    The Mark Travel Corporation logo
    or