ThoughtWorks Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
ThoughtWorks President and CEO Guo Xiao
Guo Xiao
451 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Travel can be taxing to work life balance over time(in 43 reviews)

  • "Nowadays I'm observing that many old thoughtworkers are leaving company which is not good sign(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "A company with great culture and plenty of opportunities for everyone to grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time

    Pros

    - I have been with ThoughtWorks Singapore for a few years and what I enjoy the most is the great culture and working environment that the company brings. At ThoughtWorks, we are working at client side most of the time and that's when we are bonded together the most, worked closely together to overcome challenges at client side, deliver projects with quality. ThoughtWorks is a place where people with different background but same passion for technology gather so it's easy to see why most people can get along well with each other. - Have exposure to different technologies and best practices in software development - Generally transparent about most of the operations in the office - Generous budget for communication, book, training, transportation

    Cons

    - Limited training/onboarding for lateral hire, causing misalignment/disagreement in some of the practices - Might be disorganized in some areas at time, e.g. staffing. Assignment of consultants to projects sometimes is known only on the 1st day of the project

    ThoughtWorks2019-06-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to learn and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Various domains and techs * Social Impact activities * Knowledge sharing workshops even with non Thoughtworkers(Geeknight) * Comfortable environment and collegues who help you to learn and grow

    Cons

    Can't think of anything at the moment.

    ThoughtWorks2020-02-28
  3. "All that glitters is not gold"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A few old TWers are good and you can get inspiration from them.

    Cons

    To much fake and pretentious. It seems company is only running on marketing. Too much noise makers. Less quality in delivery.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2020-04-23

    ThoughtWorks Response

    May 1, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We believe our community is our strongest asset: the passionate teammates we have working in both professional services and operations bring a variety of backgrounds, views, and ideas to ThoughtWorks. It's disappointing to read that you've encountered teammates who seem fake or pretentious, as those are qualities that aren't aligned with our values. We do, however, encourage everyone to feel empowered to provide feedback, so we appreciate you taking the time to share this with us.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Consultant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time

    Pros

    Good company to have on CV Interesting people

    Cons

    Salary is low. Career progression pathway and criteria not clear

    ThoughtWorks2019-10-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Technical Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time

    Pros

    Working in different domains and tech stacks

    Cons

    Project contexts differ quite big

    ThoughtWorks2019-07-20
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time

    Pros

    The culture here is so great that you'll simply get attached to it because of that.

    Cons

    Projects are generally at a small scale for clients here in Singapore.

    ThoughtWorks2019-05-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Software"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, flat, good technology

    Cons

    Management needs to be improved

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2019-05-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture for growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Conducive environment for learning and growth, with lots of support from colleagues. 2. Opportunity to learn various technologies and software design techniques in various domains. 3. Continuous improvement and feedback. The culture of being able to ask for and give feedback with the goal of helping each other become better versions of ourselves. 4. Technical leaders lead by doing, not by telling. The senior developers that I work with are also really humble and helpful. They take time to answer people's questions, no matter how "basic" the question might seem 5. Personal development and training budget is quite generous 6. Vibrant community. There's always some interesting discussion (technical or otherwise) and interesting team activities/meetups

    Cons

    You might get spoiled by the above-mentioned pros.

    ThoughtWorks2019-04-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "A good place for a developer to grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very supportive colleagues and working environment. (aka no "jerks" policy) - Work in a team with knowledgable and inspiring technical people, which you can learn new things from - Project teams always carefully crafted to have a higher percentage of seniors and mid level developers as compared to juniors (aka your project will probably go smoothly and no death march) - Deployment of software is always through the automated Continuous Integration/ Deployment pipeline (aka no fear to release new version software, and no staying back late after working hours to fix deployment issue) - Get to be assigned to different projects, which means you get experience in many different languages and technologies to beef up your resume - This is a consulting job, so we have the chance to improve your tech communication skills, as you get to interact with clients (not a job where you just code), which will definitely be valuable in your future career. - There are often office events, and get togethers where we can interact with other teams, (aka: no silos) - Generous salary, and other benefits where the company foots your mobile and internet bill

    Cons

    - Not really a con, but due to the supportive environment, you will not get direct pressure from the higher ups to improve yourself. So over here it is important to plan your career aims and have the self motivation to stick to it. - As your fellow colleagues are always pushing the limit, this is not a place for someone who does not like change or getting out of their comfort zone.

    Continue reading
    ThoughtWorks2019-03-15

    ThoughtWorks Response

    April 1, 2019ThoughtWorker

    Thank you for taking the time to craft such a thoughtful review. We will be sure to share your feedback. - Nicole

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Senior consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Very care about personal development 2. Has lots of flexibility to do what you want. and company will support you to do that 3. International ear sight. very good to graduate. 4. People around you are smart and nice. Very very good culture. every body is flat.

    Cons

    1. Youngers are a little bit Impetuous. and sometimes the things they said and thing they do is different. Maybe because they think they are smart, so they want more. 2. Salary is little bit lower than market price.

    ThoughtWorks2018-11-17
Found 1060 reviews