United Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

United Airlines Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
United Airlines CEO Oscar Munoz
Oscar Munoz
1,125 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "New flight attendants will most likely start as a reserve but it was no problem for me to be on reserve for a few years since I enjoyed the job(in 66 reviews)

  • "Upper Management are not willing to compromise or hear opinions of the people who actually work on the tools(in 61 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company with Wonderful Colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Management; willing to listen and work towards making sure that employees are able to meet the company's goals Great Colleagues Low Turnover Good benefits for travel

    Cons

    Slow career advancement due to low turnover Difficult to ask for salary increment No significant bonus except for 13th Month

    United Airlines2019-12-02
  2. Helpful (159)

    "Friendly skies really are friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working for UA since February 2017 and I am absolutely loving it. This is my 4th airline to work for as a flight attendant and the people here are the biggest reason I chose UA to work at until I retire! I am overwhelmed by the welcoming atmosphere and all the fun we have on flights and layovers.

    Cons

    Depending on your base you might have to be on straight reserve for a while.

    United Airlines2018-08-21
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Writer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flight perks, insurance, awesome team environment, transparency

    Cons

    None at this time, experience so far has been positive

    Advice to Management

    Don’t be too nice or I’ll never leave!

    United Airlines2020-01-23
  4. "Come Fly the Friendly skies with United"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for

    Cons

    Just the parking situation. Buses don't always run on schedule

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good customer and employee relations

    United Airlines2020-01-21
  5. "Pricing Revenue Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young culture with many business resource groups to grow throughout the entire company

    Cons

    Some organizational issues with developing analysts

    United Airlines2020-01-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very flexible working hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As aviation industry, the world is smaller than other people who stay in same city all the time, the working schedule is very flexible since we don't work by 9-5 but we working when airplane flies.

    Cons

    Sine travel is strong part of the life, international flights means jetleg, day and night switch, summer and winter can be happening one day ( because at winter can be snow in the north and Hawaii still nice like summer right?) That means: not everyone can be flight attendant, if travel is something you don't like.

    United Airlines2020-01-13
  7. "Great job for people who love travel but hate 9-5 jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. travel benefits 2. flexible schedule 3. benefits (medical, 401k)

    Cons

    1. relocation 2. seniority-based scheduling

    United Airlines2020-01-10
  8. "Overall great job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really flexible schedule, especially for new hires if you know how to work the system. I’ve been employed for over a year and have had off every major holiday that I’ve wanted off. Pay is also great for what the job is and you have the ability to make extra money if you want to. It is what you make of it!

    Cons

    Some issues with scheduling very long duty days and other things. Hopefully they are sorted out when the company gets a new contract. Management also has a high turnover, but I have no input on why.

    United Airlines2020-01-04
  9. "Good interview, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Analyst 

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    people are smart and nice, very cool industry to be in and learn

    Cons

    is a big company so there are some downsides expected due to it's size. however, you have a lot of autonomy and ability to make your own path

    United Airlines2019-12-31
  10. "Great people/ no work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Newark, NJ

    I worked at United Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great travel, great people

    Cons

    Standby tickets, on call forever (reserve), low pay

    United Airlines2020-01-15
Found 2883 reviews