UnitedHealth Group Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
1,029 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance skewed to favor UHG, under-appreciative leaders exist in various parts of the business(in 363 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance is abysmal for a(in 352 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Featured Divisions of UnitedHealth Group

See all divisions
  1. Optum | Division of UnitedHealth Group
    Helpful (1)

    "Bachelor doctor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Doctor in Singapore
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I want to help and learn more.

    Cons

    It’s stressful in every moment you must be really much focused.

    UnitedHealth Group2018-11-23
  2. "Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Coordinator 

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and telecommuting

    Cons

    Employee welfare can be improved

    UnitedHealth Group2018-10-10
  3. "Consultant"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    No manager intervention and no micro management

    Cons

    No salary hikes No career growth

    UnitedHealth Group2018-05-26
  4. "Great Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    WFH facility 100% Variable bonus Great place to work

    Cons

    Parking facility is very pathetic

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2017-12-15
  5. Helpful (710)

    "Very heads-down"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group for less than a year

    Pros

    I will preface this review with a statement you need to heed when reading this review as well as any reviews for this company -- "It depends on your area." This is a GIGANTIC company and YMMV depending on your group. Keep that in mind when reading. Anyway, I've been here only 6 months, but I think I have enough of a feel for Optum to write a review. The positives: Great work/life balance: I never have to stay late, work on weekends, etc. I get 23 vacation days and my manager encourages me to use them AND completely unplug while away. Beautiful office: I work at the new Optum office in Eden Prairie. Building is modern and comfortable. Full size gym and locker room, and workout classes. Great parking ramp with a skyway so you never need to go outside in the rain or snow! Work from home: VERY progressive with WFH! I can work from wherever I want. if I want to WFH one day, I can. If I want to WFH the whole week, I can do that, too. No one questions you. Total autonomy No drama: This is a very heads down place! I can't stress that enough. No one socializes with each other -- most of the time, you never even talk to your cube neighbors (because they're probably working from home). This is a positive for me though -- after working in some high drama offices, this is a refreshing change. All meetings are over webex: Great news if you hate in-person meetings like I do -- because there are very few! In the 6 months I've been here, I've had 4 in person meetings. This is also a con because you never meet your coworkers - read the con list for more info. 30 minute "best practice" meeting times: You will not get invited to 2+ hour meetings, ever. Nearly all meetings are only 30 minutes. You might have the one-off meeting that's an hour, but it's rare. Good, standardized PM practices. But some of the documentation requirements are too rigid and can slow progress down. Our group is trying to move to 100% agile. Slowly.... All of my projects so far have been waterfall SDLC. Although as a new person, it would help to have a PM to shadow on some of these documentation/audit practices. I've had to learn as I go. - Great cafeteria with cheap prices. I can get a lunch here cheaper than I can bring it from home. -Very engaging training classes!!! All training classes are over LearnSource (i.e. your computer) but the videos are well done and entertaining.

    Cons

    -Building seems empty because so many people WFH. It's almost kind of...sad. Such a nice building but no one is there. -Internet explorer is the browser of choice. Yuck. You have to have special permissions to download Google Chrome or Firefox on your computer. -If you like socializing with your coworkers, this is NOT a place for you! I can't stress that enough!! You will NOT meet your new BFF here. Everyone is very heads-down and focused on work -- no one chit chats about football or True Detective! You will not have coworkers stopping by your desk (to chat about a TV show OR to even chat about work). Most of my days, I don't talk to anyone in person. It's kind of depressing -- and I'm an introvert! There are no happy hours, social events outside of work, etc (this is a positive for me because I hate that stuff). -Lots of contractors. Not that it's a bad thing - I've had great experiences with the PM contractors. They obviously don't last as long as the employees, and there's more contractor PMs than employee PMs. -Difficult, as a new person, to know "who's who." There is no face-to-face meetings, so as a PM, it's tough to know who does what, since there's no face to put with the name. I struggle with this a lot, as I'm not used to this extreme of a "remote" workforce! -No wifi for your phone. Wifi is only available for visitors and you must have a user name and password. -Nearly all social media websites are blocked. Not really a con, but something you might want to know. You won't be browsing facebook at work! -LOTS of meetings. Sure, the meetings aren't in person, they're over Webex, but you will have a LOT of them. -Some "know-it-all" ego-driven coworkers, especially on the tech side. But this is typical of IT in general. I've witnessed this at every org in which I've worked.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2015-08-13

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    September 12, 2016Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your thorough review! Yes, UnitedHealth Group is a hard-working company, but we also strive for work-life flexibility by having telecommute positions and work from home options. I'm happy to hear you enjoy working at the company. Judy Cater, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

  6. "One of the best company to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Noida
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    No work pressure. Time to time appraisal Great environment to work Work place is Asthatic

    Cons

    Some politics and no transparency.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2020-05-30

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    May 31, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    I recommend having an open discussion with your manager on what is and isn't working. There are also employee resources internally that are available to you online and over the phone that I also recommend that you take advantage of. - Tori

  7. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay package.work life balance , trainings learning growth

    Cons

    Bad management, politics , no steady promotion cycles

    UnitedHealth Group2020-05-28

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    May 29, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Best of luck on your continued career. -Kayla

  8. "this is a great job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Attorney in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    i really liked working for them

    Cons

    they are very large and you feel small

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2020-05-28

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    May 29, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your years of service and wish you the best in your continued career. -Kayla

  9. "good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    good good good good good good

    Cons

    nothing i can think of to be honest

    UnitedHealth Group2020-05-29
  10. "Very good place to work at"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist in Noida
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great office atmosphere no politics

    Cons

    Compensation not competitive enough with industry

    UnitedHealth Group2020-05-27
Found 10117 reviews