Unity Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Nov 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 794 reviews

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Unity CEO John Riccitiello
John Riccitiello
505 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great for making games using Unity(in 119 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is a strength at Unity and teams(in 48 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing quickly which always comes with some growing pains(in 28 reviews)

  • "Company is growing fast but the right changes are being made(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company!

      Aug 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with cool tech Get to know developers from all over the world

      Cons

      Company is going through growing pains, so some processes are a bit hazy

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A company that treats you well, incredibly grateful.

      Nov 27, 2021 - Software Engineer in Brighton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The mission of this company is noble. Empowering anyone around the world to become the creators of their dreams with RT3D tech. My local team and wider organisation are incredibly nice. The positive culture is unlike anything I've ever seen. I feel fortunate to have landed a role of this calibre early in my career. The benefits that employees get from the wellness benefits, commute benefits, to stock options are mind-boggling. The list goes on and on. You are treated like a professional, with no micromanagement from my experiences so far.

      Cons

      Lack of standardised training can leave you feeling a bit lost on prioritisation initially, but I know this is something that they are working on changing internally. Flip-flopping of decisions can lead to a slowdown in meaningful productivity. But I guess those are the growing pains of any large and innovative company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Unity Response

      We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for sharing this with us. The Unity Team.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Proud to be part of Unity

      Nov 10, 2021 - Program Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great leadership - Transparent culture - Plenty of growth opportunities - They really do live their values

      Cons

      - Quick growth has led to some growing pains

      1 person found this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. The Unity Team.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company, with a lot of potential!

      Sep 29, 2021 - Senior Technical Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - One of the best cultures in the tech industry - Massive growth potential, professionally and financially - Great benefits

      Cons

      - Currently growing 35% annually, which creates a lot of growing pains - Many are working 12+ hour days. Some managers keep adding more to your plate even though burnout is rampant (support is coming, we’re told) - Load balancing is rarely consistent across teams. Some managers don’t factor in level or role difficulty and then expect you to hire at the same velocity as a University Recruiter

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Unity Response

      We value your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share this. The Unity Team.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Unity

      Sep 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good communication with my manager and team. Inclusive environment.

      Cons

      Growing quickly which always comes with some growing pains

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Unity Response

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. The Unity Team.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great benefits, some valid points from other reviews

      Aug 24, 2021 - Junior Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tech Great coworkers Benefits Pay - This seems to vary, but I feel my pay is very good, above industry standard BUT that is because of stock. Base salary and raises to that are about standard. So you just have to be okay with a significant portion of pay coming in as stock. Culture - A fun environment overall. I am not in the bay area or bigger offices, and this seems to vary across teams and offices/orgs, but for myself I don't feel I have experienced any sexism or bias as a woman, but like most tech companies there aren't as many women around. And there is definitely room for improvement with respect to diversity overall Career growth mentorship - at least within my org, there has been a push to have those conversations and try to help people get where they want to be

      Cons

      Objectively there is a lot of reorg, changing managers, changing umbrella team falls under, some chaos around defining product futures Growing pains overall Career growth is still murky, internal transfer is hard without having the Senior Dev designation as most positions are higher grade level

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share such considered feedback with us! The Unity Team.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Exciting place to be!

      Mar 3, 2021 - Corporate Account Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exciting tech, inspirational leadership, clear and cohesive culture

      Cons

      Normal growing pains, but being confident in leadership and the long term vision goes a long way

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Feedback is so important to us, so thank you for taking the time to share this. The Unity Team.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome culture

      Feb 2, 2021 - Product Specialist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      focuses on inclusion and diversity, good work live balance, respectful culture

      Cons

      Growing fast with the usual growing pains

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Feedback is hugely important to us, so thank you for sharing your review! The Unity Team.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work at , colleagues that are inspiring/like to go bold

      Jan 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Unity Technologies has a pretty open dialogue culture , which favor exchanges of ideas - Work/life balance is a strength at Unity and teams. Teams are generally well staffed/planned to support recent growth - Having a driven personality and being autonomous in our work are both qualities that can be quite often encouraged at Unity

      Cons

      - Career progression plans could be a little bit more defined over time - It's a company that is growing quite a lot, so a little bit of growing pains is to be expected sometimes (changes) in teams.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Hearing from our employees is really important to us so thank you for taking the time to share this. The Unity Team.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic People

      Sep 23, 2020 - Senior Developer Relations Manager in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone at Unity is amazing, hardworking, caring The work is exciting as we talk to people from all type of industries Great benefits and perks

      Cons

      Growing pains which result in many changes within the organisation Things change so quickly, it's difficult to document/keep track of

      1 person found this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your review. The Unity Team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Unity Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Unity? Share Your Experiences

    Unity logo
    or