Unity Employee Reviews about "unity"

Updated Nov 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 of over 794 reviews

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Unity CEO John Riccitiello
John Riccitiello
505 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great for making games using Unity(in 119 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is a strength at Unity and teams(in 48 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing quickly which always comes with some growing pains(in 28 reviews)

  • "Company is growing fast but the right changes are being made(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "unity"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Awesome Place To Learn & Grow!

      Sep 24, 2021 - Anonymous Contractor in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people at Unity Technologies are extremely warm and kind, willing to help their fellow colleagues out whenever it was needed.

      Cons

      None at all, office location is great, coupled with an awesome working environment and the best colleagues one can ask for!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      In it together

      Jul 8, 2020 - Senior Manager in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Unity Singapore in 2018 and have been working in Unity for the past two years. Internally, everyone is generally competent and good at working together . There is a sense of comaraderie with people in all the different offices as all of us want the best outcome for the Company. The Singapore office is a close knit team of close to 60 people. who are always ready to extend a helping hand in work and even outside of work. This is in no small part due to the efforts put in hiring people that would have a good culture fit and mindset with the rest of the team. As Singapore serves as a hub for the region, the support functions are led by strong leaders who ultimately want the best for the region's growth. Across APAC, I have had the chance to meet and interact with business leaders and also employees. I have confidence that Unity will continue to grow under their leadership. Even at times, where I have conflicts of interest with management, it was always resolved amicably as we sought the best outcome for the Company. I have had the chance to work with two different managers during my time in Unity and they have been very supportive of my growth and development. The WE team in Singapore does deserve a shoutout as well for ensuring the wellbeing of all staff during the COVID-19 pandemic.

      Cons

      There are certain teams who travel en masse to events (for e.g. from Denmark to Korea/Singapore) that may not have a good ROI. Some large teams also spend unnecessarily on travel and we should have stronger cost controls to prevent this from happening if we were to ensure the longevity of the Company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such thorough feedback. It's great to see that your experience incorporates one of our core values of "In It Together"! The Unity Team

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      One of the best tech company to join!

      Jan 18, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company is very aggressive but in a good way. Dare to innovative and be different. A lot of focus in employees welfare and hires top talent from all around the world. If you are able to perform better in a empowered environment, this is the one! It's also covering more than just games but many other verticals. The CEO has plenty of experience managing large successful companies and is a great motivator today in Unity.

      Cons

      Sometimes time zone differences but flexi hours helps.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Unity

      Nov 19, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my time at Unity, I had a really understand manager and the team was really nice. Everyone was remote for the most and I enjoyed the work culture.

      Cons

      The pay on The Desk as AA was not comparable to the work being done. Enjoyed the company but a pay increase for those roles is needed

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best employer I've ever had. Period.

      Oct 10, 2021 - Senior Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From the moment I met my current boss in my interview process, I was sold on Unity. Since then, Unity is a company that challenges me in my day-to-day work, where I meet inspiring colleagues who are all helpful/friendly/supportive/very much like me, and passionate for Unity as an engine. The company has good and competitive salaries and does their best to be competitive - the benefits are fantastic and the RSUs are definitely competitive with the industry. I left a full-time, permanent, unionized public-sector job for Unity, and I am not looking back. I see colleagues getting promotions and mobility for their awesome achievements, and it's a very healthy sense of helping each other have success and continued growth. I think my outlook for my career at Unity is definitely long-term.

      Cons

      I can't think of any. Unity Connect days as a regular annual occurrence would be great though!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share such thorough feedback. We really appreciate it. The Unity Team.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Putting words into actions

      Aug 28, 2021 - IT Operations Specialist in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very organized, you feel supported. The process was great, I felt informed. My recruiter (shout out to Tristan) was awesome, his energy was amazing. Everyone I interviewed with felt genuine and you could tell they enjoyed working for Unity.

      Cons

      None, still on boarding at this time.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Unity Response

      We're so glad you enjoyed the recruiting process and will share this feedback with the Recruiting team! The Unity Team.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unity is one of a kind! Feel very blessed to be apart of such an awesome CommUnity

      Jul 23, 2021 - Senior Technical Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -There is a very diverse workforce which allows for true inclusive and collaborative environment -Not much of a hierarchy feel. NO matter your level you are treated with respect and will always be heard out -It is difficult to run across someone at Unity who does not live out our values of Empathy, Respect, and Opportunity

      Cons

      -Alcohol is one of the things our leaders promote to returning to the office with some of the most amazing "beer selections to choose from". Do you want us to drink and then drive home? And also what about those who do not drink due to religion, preference, past addiction

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Unity Response

      We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. The Unity Team.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Marketing

      Aug 8, 2021 - Marketing in Port Coquitlam, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -My team is great and we collaborate well -Managers have been great and seem to really care -The work we do is impactful -I love what unity is doing in general

      Cons

      -Remote work flexibility: Many have the preference to be fully remote. Not being allowed to do this in the future is essentially asking us to commute/pay for childcare/live in high cost areas, just to do video calls with our global teams in the office. For technical roles, coming in occasionally makes sense but for non-technical roles it’s unnecessary. We’ve proven we are more than effective while working remotely, we’ve adapted and this should be considered. -Salaries for some non tech employees need some work, especially if required to be in office. Vancouver has the highest cost of living in North America currently, higher than SF... I’d prefer to live somewhere a couple hours away and stop into the office for larger events if needed. -diversity seems to need some work in BC.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. The Unity Team.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best and worst

      Jul 30, 2021 - Data Scientist in Helsinki, Southern Finland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Sometimes the best place to work - Unity very respected in games industry - Some interesting products solving problems for game developers - Company is conscious of social issues - Total compensation pretty good - Average talent level very high - Opportunity to make huge revenue impact for company - Every year huge business growth - Very diverse, lots of interesting colleagues - Yearly hack weeks are very fun

      Cons

      - Sometimes the worst place to work - Overworked dev teams low morale - Always adding more layers of management solves no problems - Increasing US corporate culture - Management and product team mostly poor, add no value, priorities and projects changing frequently, arbitrary deadlines, always compromising quality - Too many meetings waste time, meetings outside work hours - No agency over work, someone else decides what you do - No time for tech debt or improving practices, codebase old and badly maintained - No time for career development and learning - Adtech is not interesting - Company wasting resources on vanity projects, not focused - Employee stocks process terribly managed outside US, company mistakes caused sudden large taxes deducted from payslips - Company losing touch with grassroots responsible for success

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Thank you for taking the time for sharing such in depth feedback with us. The Unity Team.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Culture is Everything

      Jul 21, 2021 - Software Engineering Manager in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unity cares about its people, diversity, and its cultural values. This is the most culturally rich company I have ever worked for.

      Cons

      It is very fast paced and growing. You must be comfortable with cutting edge work and ambiguity, or you will be very uncomfortable.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Unity Response

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The Unity Team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 119 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Unity Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Unity? Share Your Experiences

    Unity logo
    or