Vanguard Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Vanguard CEO Tim Buckley
Tim Buckley
339 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "call center, hard to find time for self development(in 212 reviews)

  • "I think part of the problem is they simply do not care because they see it as entry level anwyay(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Stable company with good benefits"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Portfolio Manager in Malvern, PA

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    Company continues to grow, even during difficult times. Very stable and never a concern of job security.

    Cons

    Large compensation disparity between job levels while the work completed across those levels is fairly similar.

    Vanguard2020-06-04
  2. "Communications Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Financial Services Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Vanguard full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    excellent training and ongoing employee development

    Cons

    annual raise percentage brackets are low

    Vanguard2020-06-03
  3. "One of the American Greats"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Manager in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Truly ethical company at its core, the culture difference is very real.. you will work with some amazing people, stable in times of market downturn, less politics than typical of an organisation of its size, great benefits package

    Cons

    Salaries aren't as high as you may get in other firms (but offset by the fact that you won't be cut as soon as the market goes down), performance management process is still old school

    Vanguard2020-06-01
  4. "Great Start-out-of-College"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Scottsdale, AZ

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    Great place to kickstart your professional experience

    Cons

    Recent consistent changes with no leadership support make it very difficult to succeed.

    Vanguard2020-06-01
  5. "It was solid"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brokerage Associate 

    I worked at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    the company had a strong culture

    Cons

    (Could be a positive or negative) the company had a strong culture

    Vanguard2020-05-28
  6. "Awesome company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology 

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time

    Pros

    The mission and the people

    Cons

    Location of offices are in suburbs

    Vanguard2020-05-27
  7. Helpful (18)

    "Less than half of my hire class stayed a year"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Professional in Malvern, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great name, great benefits, great bonuses, they take care of you.

    Cons

    There's a development shift going on so no one knows exactly what their job is and people who don't deserve it are now managers. There is gossip between managers about the leads of departments. It's not good when an entry level can hear that on the directors got their job from favoritism. If you don't drink the koolaid, you're out one way or another so just act like they want.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-05-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Solid company, has its quirks"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Analyst in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits (from what I'm told) - plus on-site urgent care and gym facilities - The people are very nice and from what I've experienced, good people - Great work/life balance and flexibility - Internship opportunities in sometimes very different roles for self-development - Don't try to silo you too much, unless it's highly technical (understandably) - this is what I'm told from external hires and I've experienced

    Cons

    - It's getting better since I've joined and depends on the group you're in but this 'we are good, for public companies are evil' mentality - I think the corporate structure (we're owned by our investors) creates a create incentive structure but also an economic moat that allows for bloat and creates a bubble - People need to learn how to be candid and direct instead of beating around the bush or staying silent - Not a meritocracy, from what I've been told from external hires - It's in the burbs of PA, an hour from Philadelphia (very isolated) - Very consensus driven culture - It's getting better, especially given the big push for 'diversity' but it's very homogenous - many people were born and raised in the area and have never been at a company other than Vanguard for their entire careers

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-05-24
  9. "Making great progress as a team"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Strategy Analyst in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’m here to offer an alternative perspective versus the review left by “Strategist” on April 21st, 2020 with the title “Organization undergoing a lot of change”, as I also work in one of our “newer businesses focused on tech products”, with one of our announced international partnerships. Since there are only a few of us that fit into this very narrow criteria published by that reviewer (strategists who joined this role in this department within the last year), I believe it’s only fair to point out that not all of us want to be represented by this one negative narrative from the April 21st review. My own experience has been nothing but positive. In fact, it is precisely because leadership is actively driving the exciting transformation of financial products to tech, and the expansion into different markets and business models, that I have been given many great opportunities to lead, manage and present on crucial projects, since I joined Vanguard with this fast growing department. I can’t speak for all others, but the people I know in this role are having similar or more success. We are making great progress as a team, and also really enjoy working with each other.

    Cons

    No organization is perfect, but if I think there is something we can all improve on, my preferred approach is to take matters into my own hands and fix it myself first; if it’s out of my control, then I would take it directly to my manager and trust the chain of command. While I respect the rights of others to voice their opinions on an open 3rd party forum like this, I don’t see the benefit of posting unconstructive negative feedback – much less so in a way that could implicate a very specific cohort of fellow crew members, in the middle of review season.

    Continue reading
    Vanguard2020-05-25
  10. "Great Company and Great Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Priority Operations Specialist in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Vanguard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture and provides a good work life balance.

    Cons

    Career mobility and slow to change and adapt

    Vanguard2020-05-24
Found 2461 reviews