Cover image for Virgin Active
Logo

Virgin Active

Part of Virgin Group
Engaged Employer

Virgin Active

Add a Review

Virgin Active Fitness Coach Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 23 of over 932 reviews
3.5
0% Recommend to a Friend
0% Approve of CEO

Found 23 of over 932 reviews

3.5
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Active Founder and President Matthew Bucknall (no image)
Matthew Bucknall
1 Rating
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good place

    21 Nov 2022 - Fitness Coach 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People and flexibility and facility clean

    Cons

    Too many members and too busy gym

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great for new starters

    10 Oct 2022 - Fitness Coach in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place for new graduates to get exposure to the fitness industry, provides shift hours to start your journey without pressure of rent

    Cons

    The better you get the more you get handicapped by limitations in the system, progression after 2-3 years is pretty stale unless you pursue management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Virgin Active team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Needs base pay included

    26 Oct 2022 - Fitness Coach in Durban
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Set your own working hours

    Cons

    Heavy rental without any guarantees Limited marketing and opportunities from the company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Poor pay

    21 Feb 2022 - Fitness Coach 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people who are friendly.

    Cons

    Low pay, long shift hour's.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Bad workplace. Awful micro managers. Couldnt organise an egg and spoon race.

    31 Dec 2019 - Fitness Coach and Personal Trainer in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love my job

    Cons

    You can promo but only on their terms. You will have to make everything virgin branded. You can group train but you wont see any extra cash. Virgin do though. GM's had a high turn around and only 2 treated the FOH witn decency. You will be treated like a school child from most senior members of staff They say they send you on courses to better your edication. I got to go on one course that i had to pay travel and lose a day of wages. The course was then cancelled two weeks later.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Virgin Active Response

    People Advisor

    Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am glad that you loved your job but very concerned about your welfare. If you would like to discuss your concerns with me please contact me at peoplehub@virginactive.co.uk Radha

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fitness Coach

    21 Nov 2019 - Fitness Coach in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people, good facilities, good potential

    Cons

    Hours, pay, benefits, senior management

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Virgin Active Response

    People Advisor

    Hi there, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your role for 4 years. Thank you so much for all of your hard work over the years. Within this timeframe I do hope that you discussed your development? We have lots of in house development/career development in place to assist all employees. Thank you, Radha

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    great

    23 Sep 2019 - Fitness Coach in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good fun and challenging environment

    Cons

    sometimes very mundane tasks to do

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Virgin Active Response

    People Advisor

    Hi there, 5 stars! That's awesome :) thanks for leaving your review. We aim to be a fun, challenging and rewarding environment for everyone to work in. Looks like you did just that. Radha

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Possibility the most boring job I have ever done in my life.

    21 Jun 2018 - Fitness Coach in Northampton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free gym membership at your club only. Some other ethical beings there also Work load was easy.

    Cons

    Time moved at snails pace Narcissistic management Huge company so you’re just a number Staff turnover is really high

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Virgin Active Response

    Thank you for leaving your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your free membership while being employed with us. The free membership does allow you access to other clubs amongst many other great benefits we have to offer. I am saddened that you felt that you were just a number. This is certainly not how we want our staff to feel. I hope that got to speak to your line manager about any issues you had? Please contact me at peoplehub@virginactive.co.uk to discuss this in more detail. Thank you, Radha.

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Abysmal company, avoid like the Plague

    4 Apr 2017 - Fitness Coach in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free membership Good for kids who live with mum and dad and no bills to pay

    Cons

    Rubbish pay Rubbish GMs Staff knocking shop Made to do tasks outside of job role Under appreciate staff who work hard

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Virgin Active Response

    Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Although it’s disappointing to hear how you feel, it is important for us to know so we can make positive improvements for the future. 10 years’ service is an amazing achievement and I really hope you enjoyed the majority of those years and that’s what kept you with us for so long. I’m sorry you feel you haven’t had a good GM and have done things outside of your job role. I’m keen to discuss in more detail the points you’ve mentioned in your review, so that we can address them appropriately. If you could be happy to do this, please email me FAO Jeanette at peoplehub@virginactive.co.uk All the best, Jeanette

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome company to work for

    12 Oct 2016 - Fitness Coach in Chelmsford, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are absolutely brilliant - both members and staff. The facilities are great, clean and well kept. It's great to train in the gym as there are loads of the latest innovations. We have monthyl education workshops which we gain in-house certificates for and also have the opportunity to go through the Virgin academy to further our education and make us better trainers. There are also great career progression options, whether this is into management, personal training or regional roles.

    Cons

    The pay is very low for the qualifications we have. A Level 2 fitness qualification costs around £1000 and quite a lot of knowledge and this isn't reflected in the pay. We, as fitness coaches, are only payed slightly more per hour than the membercare team and receptionists who do not need to hold any qualifications to do their job.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Virgin Active Response

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! It's great to hear all the brilliant things you enjoy about working at Virgin Active. Everyone's hard work is really paying off! It sounds like you get great value out of the in-house Fitness Academy. I'll certainly pass your comments regarding pay on to the Leadership team. Thanks for your continued efforts in making Virgin Active Chelmsford a great plan to train & work. All the best.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Virgin Active Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Virgin Active? Share Your Experiences

Virgin Active logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Virgin Active Photos

+ Add Photo
Virgin Active photo of: Mansion House
Virgin Active photo of: Cycle
Virgin Active photo of: Reformer Pilates
Virgin Active photo of: Personal Training
Virgin Active photo of: Personal Training
Virgin Active photo of: Personal Training
Virgin Active photo of: Walbrook Salt Room
See All Photos

Virgin Active Job Seekers Also Viewed

Virgin Media Logo
Virgin Media

3.6

1,818 reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 932 Virgin Active reviews submitted anonymously by Virgin Active employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Virgin Active is right for you.