Western Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor.sg

Western Financial Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 119 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Western Financial Group CEO Kenny Nicholls
Kenny Nicholls
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "We have really good benefits, 3 weeks of vacation days/year to start along with flex days and sick days(in 8 reviews)

  • "They realize there has to be a fair work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not a lot of contact with head office(in 8 reviews)

  • "The micro management and cancerous environment brought about at the mid management level made the environment extremely toxic(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers found within the service department.

    Cons

    You'll earn a crippling workload if you're a productive employee. Far too many managers/executives, not nearly enough invested in support positions or retaining good staff.

    Advice to Management

    "Restructuring" is required far beyond where desks and cubicles are situated.

    Western Financial Group2019-05-16
  2. "Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great people and supportive Manager.

    Cons

    Low wage and benefit premiums are not paid fully by Western

    Western Financial Group2019-04-29

    Western Financial Group Response

    April 29, 2019Marketing Coordinator

    Western embarked on a new three-year strategy. We recognized that your experience as a Western employee is a key component to our success, so we established People as a strategic pillar. A significant project under the People pillar is a review of our benefits current program.

  3. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Great holidays, decent benefits

    Cons

    Consistently under staffed Lower pay than other offices

    Advice to Management

    Train, attract and hire a higher caliber of staff

    Western Financial Group2019-04-25
  4. "Watch out for the new digital era!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Solid company that is willing to grow and aware of the points to improve!

    Cons

    The company needs to get adapted to the new digital era as fast as possible!

    Advice to Management

    A mix of old and new generations would help a lot!

    Western Financial Group2019-04-05

    Western Financial Group Response

    April 5, 2019Marketing Coordinator

    Western has developed a digital plan and has been focused on enhancing the customer experience across digital paths. Please reach out to the digital leader, or have a discussion with your leader and arrange a meeting with the digital team. They will be open to sharing the plan. ...

    Show More
  5. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Vegreville, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Vacation, Career Advancement, Benefit Packages, Inclusion of everyone

    Cons

    Caring too much for Clients, take things personally when we cant help them

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work with your people on a daily basis, it helps keep them engaged

    Western Financial Group2019-02-20

    Western Financial Group Response

    February 26, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Congratulations on being with Western for over 5 years! We're glad your caring nature is within Western and are happy you are here to provide value to your staff and customers.

  6. "Work life balance is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Not sure there is any at this point

    Cons

    Pay, as minimum wage has increased our wages have not, work load has increased. Goals have become unobtainable, bonuses will be cut. Insurance for the most part has increased across the board. So it really doesn’t make sense I make as much as a kid that works at McDonald’s

    Advice to Management

    Push for a proper market evaluation. Insurance used to be a great career, seems now you are replaceable by the day

    Western Financial Group2019-03-05
  7. "Don’t believe everything you read"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    They put on a great mask.

    Cons

    Don’t get older than 50. You will soon see them show you the door.

    Advice to Management

    Walk the Talk

    Western Financial Group2019-02-28
  8. "Head Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Lots of great talented people

    Cons

    Low pay especially for female counterparts

    Western Financial Group2019-02-09
  9. "Just do the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    If you want a no frills, just show up and do a job then this is the place for you.

    Cons

    This company is filled with people from small towns who just want to show up and not really rock the boat. Zero big thinkers here.

    Advice to Management

    The upper management is about themselves and their status. They pretend to say the right things but only really care about maintaining their small market share.

    Western Financial Group2019-02-04
  10. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Financial Group full-time

    Pros

    Management cares, amazing holidays, recognition!

    Cons

    Wages are not great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Western Financial Group2019-01-15
Found 119 reviews